We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great travel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great travel experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A recommended travel experience. If you're considering staying here, you already know about capsule hotels (and if you don't, you should google them before continuing). The facilities were very clean, the staff helpful (although you only interact upon checking in). The location is very central for Shinjuku Sanchome station and nightlife either in NiChome or Golden Gai. The communal bathing facilities are clean and well equipped with everything you need. You don't need a toothbrush, razor, soap, shampoo, cotton buds, hair dryer — everything is supplied. If it's your first time in a Japanese style bath, just follow the example of your neighboring bathers as you must thoroughly scrub and shower yourself before entering the bath/hot tub area. The capsules themselves are very clean and comfortable. They are tall enough for a 6' tall man to sit-up inside and lay down fully extended. If you are taller than 6' you may feel cramped. Width is enough to be comfortable. You'll have a TV, radio, alarm, light with dimmer and mirror. The end (door) of the capsule is a simple bamboo shade which allows air to circulate but also allows noise to filter in. I found the fellow capsule guests (mostly Japanese) to be very respectful so noise is not really an issue. Light sleepers should bring earplugs to avoid hearing the inevitable snorers. The mat that you sleep on is thin by western standards, but completely adequate. Note that everyone must check out at 10am and it doesn't reopen until 4pm. This makes a multiple night stay inconvenient, but if you need to stay more than one night there are coin-op lockers at the street level. I recommend the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    198
    90
    18
    16
See reviews for
9
29
233
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff were very helpful. The location was excellent so that getting around the city was easy. The capsules were obviously compact but they felt spacious and I slept well every night I stayed there which was 5 nights. The toilets and showers were very clean. You got free disposable toothbrush, shower gel and shampoo. The capsules included a TV and alarm clock.

Some people might not like the showers, I thought it was weird that the showers were communal (No divide & door between each shower) but it didn't bother me, I just got on with it. You got a pair of pyjamas to wear every night.

The only drawback that some people might not like is that they have a policy where you check out every morning at 10am then check back in at 4pm which at first I was skeptical about but they kept all my valuables (e.g. laptop) behind the desk, there was somewhere to store your luggage during and it meant that I got up early and saw more things so if you are generally a little bit lazy like me then this is a great place to stay to motivate you to get up and see more of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is awesome as long as you know what to expect in a Capsule Hotel. Recommend reading this to understand: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capsule_hotel.

Staff spoke English and were very friendly. Capsule not recommended for anyone 6' or taller, but I am 5'10 and was comfortable inside one. Recommend bringing earplugs - while other occupants are not overtly loud, there is a little bit of background noise from them climbing into and out of their capsules.

Room Tip: Room away from Windows are quieter. I think top row capsules are probably quieter too since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevintrotter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

1. The situation :
Find "mister donut"
Go strait to north, the fifth building it is.
(The north side of this building, a small street, it's really nice place to drink.
The 3rd floor is lobby.

2. Really really really necessary articles :
Ear plug & slippers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf2ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

So long as you know what to expect, this is a great capsule hotel. Perfectly located, clean, renovated in parts, nice large onsen-style bathroom, English speaking staff. Downside is 10am checkout (quite normal). Price when booked online is hard to beat anywhere in metro Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and was fairly impressed for this type of accomidations. You must check in each night you stay there and check in starts at 4pm. You must check out by 10am. Finding this place was not too dificult, just head north east from the Shinjuku JR station and go left after the mister donut. Things to note about the area: it is near the red light district. So if that bothers you, you may want to reconsider. Second floor of the building (the hotel starts on 3rd floor) is a shemale pub. At night time, severl black guys start roaming the streets to set up prostitute with tourists-and they can be bit aggressive but stil nothing to worry about.

Anyway, so you get to the third floor. You must first take off your shoes and put them in a shoe locker. Then check in with the front desk. Surprisingly, their English was fantatstic! Able to have full conversations with them with no problems. When you check in, they will take your shoe locker key and give you a main locker key with your capsule number. You can then decide to put your belongings in the locker or keep them with you in the pod. However they will hold on to large pieces of luggage in the front. They will NOT hold or allow you to store your belongings with them during the day if you are staying for multiple days. However there is a coin locker on the first floor so carry on bags are no problems (luggage will be an issue).

When you get to your pod, you will either have a top or bottom "bunk." I am 5'11" and was able to fit pretty comfortably by sleeping at an angle. If you are any bigger though you may have some size problems (i.e. your feet may stick out). Every pod has a sash to cover the entrance and everyone there was pretty nice about giving each other their privacy. Every floor has a restroom with many sinks and several toilets. The bath room is a public japanese style bath.

This hotel is mainly men only however women can now stay there as well but they will be isolated on the 8th floor.

Inside the pod, there is a light, an alarm, a single power outlet, and a TV control (though its all Japanese). There is also a porn button. Also FREE WIFI everywhere!

Its not the cleanest place in the Tokyo but its not too bad.

Though remember, this is not a hotel you can come back to during the day. This is a place to sleep at night only.

We even got a discount for staying multiple nights so that was cool.

Would i sleep at a capsule again? Most likely not but I do recommend trying this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank templar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Two nights in Tokyo and my first night was at Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel; my second night was at Green Plaza Capsule. The Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel was a great experience; much better than Green Plaza Capsule Hotel. Like many, I saw tv programs and told myself that I wanted to stay there one time...well I did it twice.

Good (compared to Green Plaza):
Check in was much better (not as congested, courteous and youthful staff)
Lockers were much bigger
Elevators (you have to take the stairs at Green Plaza)
internet is included (extra charge at GP)
Cafe
Lounge area with big screen
Smoking room
Bathrooms were very clean as compared with GP


Bad:
only Japanese television in capsule; no cable inside capsule
The surrounding area isn't the best for either hotel; it's in/near the red light district

Not that it's bad, but I enjoyed the capsule at GP better. GP has mirrors and a small shelf in theirs. GP also has a full functioning remote (albeit instructions are in Japanese).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpmaster1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,157 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
918 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing