We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great capsule hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

So long as you know what to expect, this is a great capsule hotel. Perfectly located, clean, renovated in parts, nice large onsen-style bathroom, English speaking staff. Downside is 10am checkout (quite normal). Price when booked online is hard to beat anywhere in metro Tokyo.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 430 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and was fairly impressed for this type of accomidations. You must check in each night you stay there and check in starts at 4pm. You must check out by 10am. Finding this place was not too dificult, just head north east from the Shinjuku JR station and go left after the mister donut. Things to note about the area: it is near the red light district. So if that bothers you, you may want to reconsider. Second floor of the building (the hotel starts on 3rd floor) is a shemale pub. At night time, severl black guys start roaming the streets to set up prostitute with tourists-and they can be bit aggressive but stil nothing to worry about.

Anyway, so you get to the third floor. You must first take off your shoes and put them in a shoe locker. Then check in with the front desk. Surprisingly, their English was fantatstic! Able to have full conversations with them with no problems. When you check in, they will take your shoe locker key and give you a main locker key with your capsule number. You can then decide to put your belongings in the locker or keep them with you in the pod. However they will hold on to large pieces of luggage in the front. They will NOT hold or allow you to store your belongings with them during the day if you are staying for multiple days. However there is a coin locker on the first floor so carry on bags are no problems (luggage will be an issue).

When you get to your pod, you will either have a top or bottom "bunk." I am 5'11" and was able to fit pretty comfortably by sleeping at an angle. If you are any bigger though you may have some size problems (i.e. your feet may stick out). Every pod has a sash to cover the entrance and everyone there was pretty nice about giving each other their privacy. Every floor has a restroom with many sinks and several toilets. The bath room is a public japanese style bath.

This hotel is mainly men only however women can now stay there as well but they will be isolated on the 8th floor.

Inside the pod, there is a light, an alarm, a single power outlet, and a TV control (though its all Japanese). There is also a porn button. Also FREE WIFI everywhere!

Its not the cleanest place in the Tokyo but its not too bad.

Though remember, this is not a hotel you can come back to during the day. This is a place to sleep at night only.

We even got a discount for staying multiple nights so that was cool.

Would i sleep at a capsule again? Most likely not but I do recommend trying this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank templar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Two nights in Tokyo and my first night was at Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel; my second night was at Green Plaza Capsule. The Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel was a great experience; much better than Green Plaza Capsule Hotel. Like many, I saw tv programs and told myself that I wanted to stay there one time...well I did it twice.

Good (compared to Green Plaza):
Check in was much better (not as congested, courteous and youthful staff)
Lockers were much bigger
Elevators (you have to take the stairs at Green Plaza)
internet is included (extra charge at GP)
Cafe
Lounge area with big screen
Smoking room
Bathrooms were very clean as compared with GP


Bad:
only Japanese television in capsule; no cable inside capsule
The surrounding area isn't the best for either hotel; it's in/near the red light district

Not that it's bad, but I enjoyed the capsule at GP better. GP has mirrors and a small shelf in theirs. GP also has a full functioning remote (albeit instructions are in Japanese).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpmaster1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The capsule hotel is always on my to-do list in my life. I visited shinjuku in the very late night. The hotel was about 5 minutes walk if u know the direction. The clerk staff can speak english with strong japanese accent. This hotel was beyond my expectation. They provide 24-hour sauna and environment room with TV and sofa. The room is bigger than i imagined, the bed is cozy and soft. U can put ur luggage in the private box. The only troublesome for me was the snore at night. Otherwise i recommend this hotel as one way to experience japanese culture, and i will visit this place again when coming to tokyo.

膠囊旅館是人生必做的事情之一,我抵達新宿車站時已經是晚上十一點多,大部分店面都已關閉,到飯店的距離步行約五分鐘,中間必須擺脫許多糾纏人的雞頭。櫃台人員會說英語可惜口音太重,旅館供應的東西一應俱全,三溫暖是24小時非常舒適,休閒室也非常舒適,房間比我預期的大,床很舒服很乾淨,唯一可以抱怨的是晚上的打呼聲,除此之外非常推薦,可以來此體驗日本文化!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Museeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The location is simply the best for single male traveler n extremely tight budget. Other than its almost zero sound proof n not for people above 1.8m, I cant find our other fault with them. I did enjoy the stay with them.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staying at a capsule hotel was on my to-do-list and for me (a Swede) it was an unique experience. The experience is rated 100% but I can't really rate the hotel that high.

Capsules were comfortable and spacious. Good restaurant/bar/lounge on 4th floor. Big onsenlike common bathroom (men only). The tiny locker was a joke. No place to dry wet towel. Capsules were not lockable.

Hotel is located in an Entertainment district with lots of nightlife. However it's also a kinda red light district. Even in the hotel there is a "Shemale Bar" (2 nd floor). I didnb't go there though.

Staff were not so keen or helpful and there were all sorts of silly rules and procedures involving shoes, keys and you name it. Even if you stay several nights you can't access your capsule betwixt 10-16 which is stupid.

Would I stay there again: Probably not.
Can I recommend a foreign visitor to stay there: Hell yes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It takes a few days to get to know all the rules and circumstances of this hotel. E.g. you have to learn quickly how to organize yourself as there is limited space in your locker and you cannot leave stuff in your capsule because it cannot be locked. Also you have to leave the hotel for cleaning purposes from 10am to 4pm, which can be a bit unhandy if you have been out for partying until the morning. But overall this is also, why it is such a special Japanese experience.
You get to know how things work in this country. It has been a very special experience - so if you are traveling solo or as a group without chicks this hotel is highly recommended as it is a lot of fun, cheap and in a great location!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank MunichCrashkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Nine Hours Shinjuku-North
#3 of 38 in Shinjuku
62 reviews
Shinjuku
Super Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Nihombashi Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
ENAKA Asakusa Central Hostel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Ginza Bay Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakhostel Cabin
Oakhostel Cabin
#10 of 27 in Chuo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range: $26 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing