We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night at the Astina” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
hk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Night at the Astina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

As others have written, the hotel interior and rooms are kept spotless. From the moment you step into the hotel you can tell it's a newer property compared to some of the other chain hotels in the area (e.g. Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Prince, Keio, etc). I'd booked a "Business Plus" room. If the lounge chair wasn't in the room, it would have been a little more spaceous, but overall it was a very small room that couldn't have been larger than 100 Sq feet. No wardrobe but a wall-rack near the door that allows you to hang coats over the small fridge. Since it's december, most of the bigger chain hotels would have heating on, and some of the older hotels would have it on too high without allowing you to adjust for your room. Rooms at the Astina, however, allows you to switch from heat to cool. Only drawback is that the controls are only in Japanese with no english. The bedding is nice and pajamas a nice touch. The best part of the room is the bathroom and it surprised me that it was ample sized with a glass-enclosured tub and separate shower that helped to keep water out of the toilet and sink area while not making things looking crowded and cramped-in.

Since the hotel is located in Kabuki-cho, albeit only near the entrance to the area, late at night you can still hear people yelling and drunks making noise on the street. I stayed on the 12th floor and it wasn't too bad, but I could imagine the lower floors having problems with noise if their room faced the West side of Shinjuku (which are the better rooms with a view). Late at night there is a lot of seediness going on the streets right near the hotel, especially since a lot of people hang around the Lawsons convenience store that's situated on street-level of the hotel building. There's a bar/club at the basement but I didin't go in. If you're just here for work, I would suggest you stay away from the streets at night as you could get bothered by people offering you dates or other risque business. Breakfast isn't bad but yet no big lost. If you skip breakfast you can use the breakfast coupon to apply to a meal (on the same day) at the in-house restaurant STELLA (which is also the same place where breakfast is served).

I would recommend this hotel to business travellers, or groups of friends. I don't recommend families with children or for romantic getaways given the neighborhood's seedy nature, which doesn't interfere with the quiet and serenity within the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daijobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    923
    172
    25
    8
See reviews for
244
943
197
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

This hotel is not too far from the subway station but about a good 10 minute walk from the airport bus drop off location. There are no big signs for the hotel but there is a mister donut on the corner of the street the hotel is located on. To get to the lobby you have to take an elevator from street level to the third floor. The staff there were friendly and spoke some english and checked me in quickly. I was surprised that I didn't have to leave a credit card deposit. I was given tickets to the breakfast which is nothing to write home about. The buffet is small and gets very busy early in the morning when it opens. The room I had was pretty small. There wasn't much space to move around but I guess that is common in Tokyo. There was probably a 20 inch tv on the desk. It was confusing to use in the beginning because most of the instructins were in Japanese. Also the thermostat was in Japanese and it was confusing on how to operate. The bathroom was clean and was not too small. One interesting thing was that pajamas were provided every day. Overall this property was clean and quiet inside. I'm not sure if I would stay here again for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarnyinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed at the Best Western ASTINA for 5 nights in early December. This is a business hotel that is smartly decorated with smallish rooms that are probably on par for what you will find in a city like Tokyo. The location is hard to beat and the service was very accommodating. Breakfast (included in rate plan) was good with a decent selection of Western and Asian foods.

A few tips: If you are taking the Narita Express to Shinjuku station make sure that you go out the East exit clearly marked Kabukicho in yellow signs. Also, print out the map on the hotel website as it will give you some landmarks (Mr. Doughnut) to look out for since finding street signs is not always easy.

Also, avoid the touts that can be found on the street leading up to the hotel at night. They will block your path, walk with you and grab on to your arm to try to get you into their bar. An easy way around this is to use the tree lined walk path behind the hotel that leads into the Goldnen Gai.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allwet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Awesome stay. Service was really good. Our toilet got clogged within 5 mins of us getting into the room. Got clogged again. And they switched us to an upgraded room within 5 mins of the second call.

The cleanliness of the hotel is a major plus. The cleaning person even arranged our stuff that was on our counter. Clean towels and sheets every single day. All of the carpets are really clean. Tub and shower area super clean.

The proximity to shinjuku station was good as well. About 3 blocks away. There is a lot to do even around the hotel area on the main street. Tons of shopping and restaurants to choose from.

The free breakfast was ok. No American bacon :( It was free so I can't really complain. Behind the hotel there is the Golden gai area where there are tons of really small bars. Old school stuff check it out.

Also free hi speed internet!

I would definitely stay at this place again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunimkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

The Best Western Shinjuku Astina is a good hotel in a good location. The street itself is not necessarily the best but it is very close to Shinjuku station.
The room is modern, very clean with a nice bathroom. The bed is comfortable (the pillow ... well it is Japanese style so a little on hard side!).
The room was also very quiet despite such a central location. No wireless internet but wired internet. TV ....not so many english channels - I could only find 2.

I booked it in advance and it was great value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

This hotel is nestled in Kabuchi-ko and offers walking distance through Shinjuku. It is a bit hard to find, but luckily we found some other Trip Advisor posts offering detailed instructions.

The hotel itself was recently renovated and looks amazing, the rooms are fairly small and offer the basics of what you will need - not that you'll stay in your hotel room the whole time right? It is clean and just big enough for two people. The staff are friendly and can speak English - this is a bonus.

The only let down was the buffet breakfast, it's average and offer a simple selection of Western and Japanese cuisine - Don't expect an egg chef!

Overall, I would recommend staying in this hotel. It's convenient and offers wlaking distance to Shinjuku locales and the main train station to travel around Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We are two big guys from the US but we did OK in this room. When they say Double" they mean double bed, not a queen size. You can barely put two bags down but there is a little closet and a small desk. The bed area is about 10x10 feet, 7x7 feet for the bathroom and a hallway 3x7 feet. The bathroom is great with a walk in shower with glass surround and sink with areas for your bath items. The breakfast buffet is pretty bad and not wort the upcharge ($25) on your bill or combined. Runny eggs, fried chicken nuggets, cold cereal, etc. But there really is no other option for an American or Continental breakfast in Tokyo. I ate my oatmeal and coffee in the room and snacked on a few other things at the buffet. There is a donut shop up the street. The location is 5 blocks or 10 minutes from Shinjuku. We ran around the neighborhood and further in the weekend morning which was amazing. Super fast wired internet.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing