We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is the 2nd hotel that we have stayed in Tokyo (after staying in a hotel in Shiodome). The atmosphere is completely different as Shiodome is more business-like and fairly quiet at night while Shinjuku is full of neon lights and life goes on even after 3am. As I have done a fair amount of research on the website, I knew very well the way leading from the Shinjuku Sanchome station to the hotel. The location is quite good and is close to the shopping area and there are many restaurants closed by. The hotel looks fairly new and the room is nice and just big enough to fit my family of 4. Bathroom is considered big (Japanese standard) as it includes a bathtub and shower area. The service at the front desk is ok but I would not consider it to be very friendly or too welcoming - I stayed from 21 Dec to 24 Dec and left for a 1-night trip to Hakone before checking into the hotel again on the 25th. The staff that served me the first time are professional but they are not very friendly. The male staff that served me the 2nd time speaks perfect english but he seems a bit cold (and he only gave me 1 access card as oppose to 3 cards given to me at the first check-in). In fact, it was not mentioned that I could utilize the breakfast voucher at the convenience store on the ground floor (at a value of JPY500) if I chose not to have breakfast. The best part of the stay has to be the breakfast as my boys enjoyed the meal every morning (even though food doesn't change much) and I must mention the welcoming waitresses at the cafe. Their bright smiles really brighten our day!
I am not sure if I will stay in the hotel again considering that there are other good hotels in the area - sunroute shinjuku, century southern tower, Keio plaza hotel. The rates of these hotels could be attractive at times.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    972
    182
    28
    8
See reviews for
263
991
200
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Comfortable stay. Good location- plenty of food outlets and main Shinjuku shopping area.
Convenient store just at entrance to hotel.
Friendly service and helpful front desk staff. Breakfast choices and spread is good.

Negatives: small room, even for the "executive rooms"..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdobbiadene, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed by this hotel! Great location in Shinjuku, just one minute walk from the main shopping street and 5 minutes from the subway station.
Hotel is brand new and looks very modern. Rooms are the biggest I've ever found (at a decent price) in central Tokyo area!! ... Which means a decent size of about 10 square meters.
Very comfortable and modern!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family decided to go to Tokyo for 8 days and stayed at this hotel based on reviews. Here's the scoop:

PROS:
- Very close to central Shinjuku Subway station* allowing you to inexpensively explore all of Tokyo and the surrounding areas where Mt.Fuji, Hakone, etc are located.
- Very Clean, average Tokyo sized rooms w/the usual North American amenities.
- Located slightly off the central area, but close enough that there are a bunch of English speaking restaurants and North American franchise chains such as: Subway, Burgerking, a couple of McDonalds, KFC, Shakey's Pizza, Baskin Robbins, etc.
- Very friendly staff and complimentary breakfast buffet.

CONS:
- Very close to central Shinjuku Subway station* which is also a con because even though its not far (5 minute walk) it can get pretty confusing to get from the station to the hotel.
- In the heart of the Shinjuku nightclub district, which can be sometimes loud at night.

TIP #1 At the Airport, get the "Suica & N'EX" combo deal: the train takes you right to Shinjuku station quickly, gives you a starter train pass for exploring & is excellent value. Once you are at Shinjuku station, You could find your way to the hotel on foot (its only 5 mins away), but there's a lot going on and can get confusing. In hindsight, we should have taken a taxi as its only $3 -$5 US and takes the driver 2 minutes.

TIP #2: Avoid taking the subway during rush hour! I've been on Subways from New York to Paris and nothing was more uncomfortable than this. Sardines have more space in a tin than I did!

TIP#3: If you know Japanese, Great! if not, most restaurants in this area have English or picture menus to point at. Just be polite.

All and all, we really liked the hotel. It was close to everything and made it very easy to eat, sleep and see all the tourist attractions. I'd absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Laundry machines and the higher level up, the better as there is some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GeraldT100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2013

i like its location: very close to shinjuku station. we took the taxi to the limosine bus stop and it cost us the base charge only!
i like its modern style: you don't have to pay too much and still get the quality. the convenience store downstair is a plus!
i like its breakfast. both japanese and western style! nice environment, too!
i like its price. the early bird promotion is very attractive!
i'd like to check this hotel first if i am going to tokyo again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is 5-10mins away from JR Shinjuku station if you know how to orientate yourself. The staff were all very welcoming even a trainee staff at their reception desk was impressive enough with his professionalism. Room was a wee bit small but we still managed to fit 3 big luggages inside. The breakfast was decent and the smiles from the breakfast crew was very welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieOng1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is very good with convenience stores right next downstairs of the hotel. Restaurants and bars are available until 4-5am in the morning but only open 11am.

Red light district is opposite the street but is child safe if you walk towards the train station.

It is 7 minutes walk from the jr station and subway station.

Rooms are small as expected but worth for the location. It is 4 minutes walk to the shopping area of shinjuku with lots of restaurant too.

The hotel is more like a business hotel but is family friendly too.

Breakfast is not bad and I would stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3lvinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing