We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Kabukicho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice hotel located in the Kabukicho area of Shinjuku.

Room was very nice and clean, staff were very friendly and courteous.

We got a very cheap rate which included Wi-Fi and breakfast.

Some people may be put off by the location, Kabukicho is the centre of Shinjuku's red light district but that didn't put us off! In fact, I would note it as a positive. Every night the streets were filled with people, many restaurants and bars are open 24 hours (great after a long day out and about).

There are several other useful local places within a 5 minute walk including many 7/11s, banks, cinemas, parks, restaurants and ofcourse the busy Shinjuku JR station.

Breakfast was good, the usual selection of continental breakfast, Japanese breakfast and and other unusual bits (fried chicken & onion rings?).

Overall I would recommend it and would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was located in a prime location in Shinjuku. It may be a little challenging finding it if you are not familiar with the area as it is a couple minutes walk from the underground station. The hotel is modern & clean, the room is adequately sized (despite the complaints about it being small), and the space is well utilized and even comes with a mini fridge, coffee machine, blow dryer, and welcome bottles of water for your first night. The semi double beds were very comfortable for 2 smaller sized adults, so no complaints there. The breakfast buffet, which was included in our reservation, had a great variety of Japanese & Western items, including miso soup, natto (yum!), sweet potato salad (my favorite!), seaweed salad, yogurts (asian yogurts are very watery), cereals, juices, etc. Considering how expensive the cost of living in Tokyo is, this hotel proves to be great value! Don't forget to visit the nearby Kabuki-cho to observe some interesting characters walking around at night...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oogachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed there for 8 nights this month.Overall a good hotel, with clean rooms and professional, helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located in Shinjuku, but at night the area livens up and there are too many recruiters for strip or gentlemen clubs roaming around, the hotel street. I wish the hotel were situated on a quieter street still in Shinjuku.
I found the breakfast buffet to be of low quality especially the almost soup like scrambled eggs, so don't waste your time there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us.

I'm glad to hear that you have found the hotel a "good value".
Regarding the recruiters, I hope they weren't harrassing you up and down the streets. Recently there has been a restriction made to the appealing of their shops. As a hotel, we are hoping it will make the situation better for our guests too.

I appreciate once more for your review, and hope you will be staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a good hotel in a great location in Shinjuku. The room is small (as it seems to be the rule in Tokyo), but it is very comfortable and clean. It is next to the biggest train and subway station in great Tokyo. So, it is pretty convenient. Just be careful to take the right exit. The station is HUGE, so taking the wrong exit might make the walk to the hotel pretty long. They have a self-service laundry, which is a must for long term travelers. The breakfast is not a big deal, so if you find a good rate without breakfast, go for it. There are lots of shops, groceries and restaurants around the hotel, opened from very early until late at night. Shinjuku is a good location for a first time visitor. It is a busy commercial area with everything you might need for your convenience. As the city is immense, it takes about 40 to 60 min by train or subway to the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

By far, the best thing about this hotel is its location. It is located right near Shinjuku station in Kabukicho, and it is on the more 'exciting' side of Shinjuku. As in, there are lots of shops, restaurants, bars, etc that is open all hours, as opposed to the more 'business' side of Shinjuku.

My husband and I stayed in their semi-double room on one of the 'business floors' - it just means there is extra privacy - you need to swipe your room key at the elevator to get to our floor. We were there for 8 nights. My main concern when booking hotel rooms in Japan is the size of the room - my husband is over 6ft, so I didn't want him to feel too squished. The semi-double room is - as most Japan hotel rooms are - on the small side but was a comfortable size for the hubby.

Room is clean, beds are very comfy, bathroom is also nice and to me, these are the main important points, alongside location. There is a Lawson's convenience store downstairs in the building, and there are vending machines on each floor so it's very handy. We also opted to get a room with breakfast included. Breakfast buffet is pretty good - and great for fuelling up for a full-day ahead.

Walking to Shinjuku is easy once you get your bearings a bit, as Shinjuku station is huge and there are so many entrances. On the first day, lugging our bags around was a bit tricky looking for the hotel. We followed the advice to go to the East exit of Shinjuku station but ended up walking the streets looking for the hotel. My advice is to head towards the East exit at Shinjuku, go towards Shinjuku 3 Chome metro station, and exit when you see the Subnade shopping area (underpass). Head to exit 13 or 15, and once you're up the stairs, you will see a Mister Donut on the corner. Turn left down that street and before you know it, you will be at the Best Western Astina.

My only criticism of the hotel: perhaps the staff should know the area and give better instructions for tourist services. In particular, we found out there was a bus to Tokyo Disneyland and Disney Sea from Shinjuku. Long story short, we had gone to Disney Sea by train (which I don't really recommend), but then took the bus back. Bus stop at Shinjuku is at the 'New South entrance,' which is a bit of a random place compared to the rest of the station if you haven't had a chance to really walk around Shinjuku yet. As it was late and we ended up walking along the platform back to the main part of Shinjuku station, we needed a more direct way to walk to the bus station the next day from the hotel. Asked the hotel for guidance, and guess what - they gave us the wrong directions to a completely different bus terminal - did a huge loop around Shinjuku station (whilst walking outdoors on a hot Summers day). The only few reasons we were able to find the bus terminal in the end, is that thankfully, we had been there the night before so remembered buildings around it, we had to re-read the map a few times and from having some conversational Japanese skills. On the way back, we walked a different way back to the hotel and it took less than 10 minutes - pretty much straight up the road on the other side of the station (and not the loop the front desk had directed us towards that morning). The most helpful thing we had was in fact, a map to the bus station that they had printed off for us!

Despite that little hiccup (I just wanted to share for any others who plan to visit Disney), we definitely won't hesitate to stay there again the next time we're in Tokyo. We really loved the Shinjuku location and it was so easy to start so many great journeys/ adventures from Shinjuku station (Hakone via Romancecar, Studio Ghibli tour, Harajuku is a couple of stops away, metro to Asakusa and Tokyo Sky Tree, etc)

Room Tip: We chose to pay a bit more for a business floor room. Very quiet and private-ish access to the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BakedTamago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Ms. BakedTamago,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that your husband had found the room as a comfortable size.
We appreciate your detailed instructions between the station and the hotel. I believe it will become handy for other guests considering to stay with us as in the future.

I apologise on behalf of our staff that we had given you the wrong direction to the bus. As the busses are only available in the morning and evening, I hope that you didn't miss it. The Disney resort is one of the popular spots for our guests, and I will extend this to our staff to aqcuire more knowledge about transportation for major touring spots.

Overall, I am glad to hear that you and your husband have had an enjoyable stay.
We hope you will be back with us on your future visits to Tokyo too.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is great. Near lots of nightlife and shopping especially Shinjuku 3 Chome for the bars and restaurants and the busiest station in the world which is ideal for getting out of town and to the airport. The staff were very helpful. Restaurant got busy for breakfast but we never had much of a wait for a table at the weekend.

Other comments are right about being hassled on the main street (not by the locals but by Jamaicans) in the evening especially as we were two men together. So we used the well-lit back pathway from the main road to get into the hotel which was never a problem.

This was our final stop in Japan and knowing that we had a lot of packing to do we booked a larger room on the 11th Executive floor. Well worth the money as it gave us a separate small lounge, access to the executive meeting room with free drinks and security pass at the elevator. We think - but I can't confirm this - it gave us easier free access to wifi in our room (just ask at reception).

Room Tip: Go for the executive and business floors, there are often deals on these at weekend and we got 35% o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Mr. AFTLondon,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.
The room you stayed in, was the only room with the separated area within the room. I beleive it was a good choice as the small room may be difficult to move around when you have a lot of luggage to pack.

For the first access to wi-fi, our receptionists will be happy to assist. But for connection conditions, it may turn slow when some people are downloading large contents.

Once more I thank you for your review, and look forward to having you again when you are cisiting Tokyo again.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights while on vacation with my wife and child. Location is perfect, max 5 minute walk from Shinjuku station, in a very lively area. Rooms are very nice and extremely clean and full of amenities (pj's, slippers, razors, toothbrush, safe,...) but obviously on the small side (normal for Tokyo). WiFi was provided in thr room but the signal can be improved. Breakfast is average, nothing special but they do provide good coffee. Staff is nice and very polite. I would add at least one tv channel in English for news. Air con worked fine and it was much needed as heat/humidity outside were umbearable. Would definitely go back if in Tokyo again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psarcinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Mr. psarcinell,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

II agree that the location of the hotel is once of our strongest points. The amenities, expecially the bathroom amenities, are popular to our guests.

I hope you didn't become ill of because of the hotness. Begining of August was especially hot compared to other years too.

I hope you have had a safe trip back, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo.

Sincerrely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $122 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing