We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Was upgraded to the executive floor- stayed for 7 days and had a fantastic time. The room was a great size for Tokyo, even had a view! The breakfast wasnt the worlds best, but was absolutely fine. The staff were incredibly efficient, the rooms clean, lots of helpful tourist info and free internet.
This is also a fun location- 5 mns walk from Shinjuku and 2 other subway stops, and next to the red light district without being in it.

Room Tip: Try for business or executive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorchbearerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Mr TorchbearerSydney,

Thank you for such wonderful comments on your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.
I will show this to my colleagues in order for them to keep up the effort.

I believe you enjoyed the view from the higher floors. For business and executive floors, if you make the reservation for those rooms, you will also enjoy a free newspaper everyday and a late check-out till 12pm.

Thank you for choosing Best Western Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Tokyo,
and we look forward for your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

BW Astina is not your usual Japanese hotel where rooms are tiny. Here the rooms are reasonably sized with very decent sized toilet to boot. Ours was a twin bed with enough space for a small writing table and sofa. Just nice for two persons. The location is great too within a 500 m walk from the New South Exit ofthe JR Shinjuku Station and much closer to the many subway stations at Shinjuku San Chome and also Shinjuku vicitinity. Very convenient to the huge variety of restaurants in Shinjuku and also department stores galore. If eating and shopping is your main objective this is it for a convenient hotel. If you wish to travel within metropolitan Tokyo, or nearby Kamakura or Yokohama, again no problem with transport connections. The hotel staff is friendly and so is the wait staff at the breakfast buffet. The food suits both western and asian taste and is continuously replenished. Even at peak times one need not wait too long to be seated. Finally welove the presence of a 24 hr convenience store at the gound floor location of the hotel. Will be a top choice for the next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of Shinjuku skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel is located 5-10 minutes walk from Shinjuku station, so it's ideal for travelling around Tokyo. It is hard to find, as others have said, as the sign is high up and the reception is on the first floor, reached by elevator, but as we knew that, we were able to look out for it. The hotel was right in the centre of the red light area, but this being Tokyo, it was fairly tame and unthreatening. There is a quieter local street behind the hotel which also leads to Shinjuku station and you don't get hassled there. There isn't any noise from the streets below once you're in your room, which is very smart and clean. The staff were polite, helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was excellent-a really nice way to start the day-and it meant the price of the hotel was consequently very reasonable as you can eat at the buffet early in the morning and feel really full until later.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is right in the middle of one of Tokyo's most infamous red-light districts. Not nearby. Smack-dab-in-the-middle. But with a few small reservations, it's good and good value. The lobby is an elevator ride up from street level, next to a convenience store (which is also weird, although it's a great benefit to have the well-stocked convenience store downstairs.) The hotel is even closer than it looks on the map to the east exit of the Shinjuku train station, and has good access to area department and discount stores (Isetan, Odakyu, Don Quijote, etc.) in addition to the aforementioned strip clubs and brothels...

My rooms was clean. Big for a single room in a Japanese hotel. Booking in advance on a discount site paid around US$100/night...it didn't include breakfast (as most of the packages do,) but still a really good value at that price. Interesting view from the room of the historical 'Golden Gai'...a strip of teeny tiny bars (many with only 3 or 4 seats,) where photography (on ground level) is strictly forbidden and strictly enforced...definitely worth wandering through at night though if you're staying here.

My biggest problem was although each room had Internet cable, wireless Internet was only available in the lobby. It was almost a farce: the lobby--at all hours--was chock-a-block with fellow guests logging into their laptops and mobile devices...often taking up all the lobby space.

Room Tip: Get a room AWAY from the elevator...the elevator "talks", rather loudly, every time the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel is located in Shinjuku. This is a vibrant part of the city to stay in and very busy at night, however the noise in the room is kept to a minimum. The hotel is quite easy to find from Shinjuku station. A small shop is located just outside the hotel. Hotel rooms are small in Tokyo, so are they in this hotel. We stayed in a business room in the 12th floor offering a great view of Tokyo. Very recommendable.

The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated with a functional bathroom. Breakfast is normal, but good. A small selection of western things like croissants, marmelade, honey, scrambled eggs and cereals. There is no wireless wifi in the room, however free wired internet is provided (there is wireless in the lobby and breakfast room, but this was very, very slow).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Mr JacobOslo,

Thank you very much for choosing Best Western ASTINA Hotel Tokyo.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and the view from your room. Our room type Executive Twin C, is located on the highest floor and has a view bath. If you would like to enjoy our view again, please also consider this room as well.

All rooms have wired internet access and we also have rental personal computers. (chargeable)

Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

First of all, the location is great which is around a 5-10 min walk from the East exit of the Shinjuku train station. If anyone needs clear direction to the station, drop me a mail and will give them to you. Its near to the train station and the night life in Shinjuku and also near to two big departmental stores: Takashimaya and Isetan so there is something for everyone.

Great rooms, though small, is totally adequate for a short stay ( I stayed for 8 nights). Stayed in two different type of rooms: business double that faced the street and an economy double that faced the back street. The business double had a smaller room with a separate shower and bath area and the economy double had a bigger room but a smaller bath room without a separate shower area. So check with the hotel to see what you need. The air conditioning and heating can be separately controlled and its whisper quiet which aids in a peaceful night. The walls are pretty thick and I didnt hear from my neighbors or people walking outside the room.

I slept very well and the pillows and mattress was firm and suitable for me. However, my room mate didn't like it so I guess its really up to your personal taste. The rooms were spotless and were properly cleaned everyday. Free high speed internet was also available but take note its only a wired connection so if you plan to travel with your tablet and smart phones, you might wanna bring a small router along as well. Free wifi is also available in the lobby.

The free breakfast is totally adequate and you do get a western selection of cereal, juice, bread, eggs etc and Japanese selection like Japanese curry, rice, miso soup etc. Some of the guests may not know this but you can use the coupon as a 500 yen credit in Lawsons (kind of like 7-11) which is on the ground floor of the property or pay an additional 500 yen with the coupon to get the lunch buffet which has more substantial food selection.

The common disadvantage that people would say about this property is that it is in Kabukicho and they would be accosted by African pimps at night. At the back of the property , there is actually a back alley walkway which is brightly lit and pretty crowded with people going through the side streets at all hours so if you want to avoid the touts, just take this way and you would avoid all of it! Problem solved!

All in all, a great value and a comfortable room especially if you can find deals online from expedia, hotels.com etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back and a bigger room without a separate shower and bath (if you dont req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kylie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Mr. Kylie79,

Thank you very much for all the warm comments you have made.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed staying with us!

The two pillows in the room are different in the stiffness. The smaller one is feather and the larger is feather on one side and pile on the other. It may be a tip to try all three to find which fits best.

Also, the side streets you have mentioned is known as the "Golden Streets" in Japan. There are varieties of retaurant bars along the street. Some shops are new and some have even 50 years of history so it will be enjoyable to walk along the street feeling the old and new days of Japan.

We hope you enjoyed your overall stay in Japan
And we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Best Western hotels do not have a very good image in the UK, old worn etc so was hesitant when booking this one but the rate was superb GBP 80 including breakfast which is vastly cheaper then other Tokyo places.
This was a great hotel and fantastic value for money. Rooms are small but that's Japan for you but were modern, clean, bright and safe. Although the hotel is situated within the fringes of the red light area, at no time was this intimidating and added to the experience of being in such a vibrant city. For the price paid, superb value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starman1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011
Google Translation

Dear Starman1405,

Thank you very much for staying with Best Western Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Shinjuku.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. As we are located in one of the most bussiest areas in Tokyo, we aim to be a peaceful and safe place where our guest can rest.

We hope you also enjoyed your trip in Tokyo and we look forward for your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $122 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing