We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not the 'capsule' i expected...”
Review of Ace Inn Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ace Inn Shinjuku
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent but not the 'capsule' i expected...”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Overall, Ace Inn was a decent but very quiet hotel. They were quite strict and rigid in their rule setting which kind of killed the mood. I found a lot of older people would stay at this kind of hotel and you could tell by the atmosphere in the top floor common room. It was a really big common area with a massive TV but felt empty and had a lack of atmosphere about the place. Had a few good nights out with the fellow travellers i met at Ace Inn but would only recommend it for a few nights stay at most but it all depends on what you are looking for. The laundry facilities were good as there was always washers and dryers spare and the showers (if you stayed in the dorm room) were located on the bottom floor. This proved to be a bit annoying as you had to travel down in a lift and then down more stairs to have a shower and then back up again to your dorm. The 'capsules' were different to all other capsules i stayed in throughout my time in Japan as they were more like coffins than capsules. They were fairly spacious but felt very much like lying in a coffin with only a tiny reading light at the end where your head lays. There was no free breakfast offered at this hotel which is strange as i had stayed at far cheaper places where a breakfast was provided. The nightly rate was about 2500 Yen (18/19 pounds at the time) which is pretty expensive for what you get considering you stiff have to pay for a wifi code and to do your own washing and drying via the coin machines AND you had to pay for the showers (which was 100 yen for 10 minutes i think). The location was decent but its not as close to Shinjuku as the name suggests as its a 20 minute walk in a straight line which isn't too bad but a bit annoying when walking back late at night. The closest station is Akebonobashi which is a subway line that you can use to get to shinjuku station pretty quickly if you do not want to walk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    66
    49
    13
    7
See reviews for
2
11
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had to find a place to stay close to the pick up point for getting an early morning coach to Fuji Q Highland. The Ace Inn was basic and good value, the staff member on the front desk didnt speak English though and even though I tried to speak as much Japanese as I could he seemed like he couldnt be bothered to make things easier for me. The wooden capsule bed was nice, much more spacious than I expected with a little lamp too. Internet access was available downstairs in the lobby, there was even laundry facilities. The other guests were quite noisy on their return after a night out but that is nothing to say about the Ace Inn. It was basic, easy to arrange, easy to find, a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I checked in here at the ace inn quite late on a Friday. About 9:30pm and there was still a very friendly staff member waiting to help. My first night was a bit rough (most likely because I had been travelling for 12 hours before I arrived). Anytime anyone opened a curtain I was woken up and the metal lockers were even noisier. So the morning of my second day was much better I got up and showered at 8am with not another person in sight. I had a bit of a chat with another staff member who was also really nice. My second night was much better. I admittedly was quite sick by this point so my medication probably knocked me out but either way it was a much better nights sleep. As a single female traveller in her 20's I had no issues with the "mixed dorm" style capsules. The area is also quite safe and the subway line is maybe 20-30m down the road and across the street.

I payed about 6400¥ for the two nights which is a little steep but hey Tokyo is expensive.

On a final note the staffs English skills are fantastic. They even told me where to eat dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilybarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I was charmed by Ace Inn Shinjuku. The staff are really friendly and have heaps of local knowledge. After the earthquake - when no one seemed sure what trains were running - the staff did their best to find out.

The ninth-floor lounge was a great space to meet other travellers.

I stayed on a the mixed capsule floor. I hadn't slept in a capsule before, but the larger stuff of Ace Inn's beds (maybe more like an enclosed bunk) was spacious enough for me. It's a good situation if you're going to spend a lot of the day exploring and just need a bed to sleep.

It's a bit of a trek down to the basement showers. They're coin operated, with ¥100 for 10 minutes of hot water, but that's more than enough for a good shower.

It's a bit of a walk to Shinjuku Station, but it's right by a subway entrance for easy transport on the subway.

There are plenty of good local convenience stores, cafes, little restaurants, bars and even a McDonald's for homesick Westerners.

And one of the best things - free wireless wifi on every floor, as well as internet terminals on the ground floor!

I would happily recommend Ace Inn Shinjuku as a cheerful budget option for some Tokyo sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here the other day and wasn't sure about the capsule hotel, as it turned out everything was very good, we used the hostel as a base to see a bit of Tokyo, and even though we had checked out we were allowed to leave a lot of luggage there while we did some sight seeing. Beds were comfortable and no noise so got a good sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

First off the location of this hostel is great - barely a minutes' walk from Akebonobashi tube station which is only 2 stops down from from Shinjuku.

Shared a room with no less than 20 other people (mostly men), and for that I think the £25 a night charge is very high. However, the room was clean and other guests were quiet and respectful. Despite your £25 a night hole in the wall, it was a very comfortable hole in the wall! I had some excellent night sleeps, even though the hostel seems to be in a hotspot for firetrucks and ambulances, haha. It's large enough to keep luggage with you, but there are lockers for each capsule to use. There were toilets and sinks adjacent to the room which were adequate.

One downside to this place is having to pay 300 yen for a shower! I've stayed in a number of hostels around the world and this is the first time my shower has cost me. Not only that, but you're limited to 10 minutes before your water cuts off. So wash fast! It's an elevators ride down to the lobby and down a flight of stairs to the shower rooms, where there are only 2 female showers. Thankfully I had no problem snagging one in the morning, but it's not the most convenient, especially baring in mind the bed prices.

The staff were extremely helpful and speak perfect English. It's a really great place to mingle with other travellers too. There could be some improvements and a little adjustments to the cost of this place, but it's comfortable, safe, and conveniently located and I would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hostel had more amenities than most and provided the best overall hostel experience in my recent trip to Asia. I stayed here once for about 5 days and then later in the trip came back for a shorter stay.

They give you your own locker that can store any real valuables you have securely. There are four computers for free internet access. It's 100 yen for a shower, but the showers have hot water and are pretty nice. The laundry is misleading. The washer is okay, but it took about five cycles to dry our clothes in their horrible dryers. The 9th floor social room is pretty cool and we met a lot of interesting people staying here.

Some reviews are inaccurate in saying it's a big hike from the subway as they have the wrong stop. If you get off at AKEBONABASHI on the Toei line, the hostel is literally across the street as you exit the subway, and takes less than a minute to get to (if you jaywalk) and less than five if you go to the nearest intersection to cross.

The staff is generally friendly and helpful. They provide you with a towel for showers. They were good with directions and spoke decent English. There is one guy that is a bit slow, but the rest were with it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnThursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#37 of 81 in Shinjuku
477 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Prime Pod Ginza Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Imano Tokyo Hostel
Imano Tokyo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Shinjuku
95 reviews
Shinjuku
Nine Hours Shinjuku-North
Nine Hours Shinjuku-North
#6 of 28 in Shinjuku
18 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakhostel Cabin
Oakhostel Cabin
#10 of 21 in Chuo
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Inn Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Inn Shinjuku

Property: Ace Inn Shinjuku
Address: 52 Katamachi, Shinjuku 160-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ace Inn Shinjuku 1*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your Ace Inn Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Inn Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Ace Inn Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing