We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in Tokyo”
Review of La Bisboccia

La Bisboccia
Ranked #68 of 7,517 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinagawa / Gotanda
Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Tokyo”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have visited this restaurant a few times and I am always love every dish we have. You can not order a bad meal here. This is the closest to going to Italy. We always ask for Luca, the best waiter and person. They bring a cart where you can pick out your meat, make risotto at the table in a big block of cheese....it is the best dish of risotto I have ever tasted and that includes the risotto made I have eaten in Italy. It is expensive, but worth it! Must try you will feel like you have flown to Italy and left Japan. Save room for desert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnylooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
398 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian places in Tokyo”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

...and that's saying a lot! La BIsboccia is the kind of noisy, boisterous places you would expect to find in Milan. It has great cuts of fresh meat as well as a good wine list.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
572 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“My Favorite Italian Restaurant in All of Asia”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The food and service here are even better than the many wonderful restaurants in Rome, Florence, Naples and Siena.

The chefs and many of the staff are from Italy, and they have trained their Japanese colleagues very well.

I have been a frequent diner here--for business and for family meals--for over 15 years.

The pastas, meat and seafood dishes and desserts--especially the mille foglie--are excellent. And the grappa cart, which offers dozens of different grapes, is one of the best in Japan.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Italian with panache and attitude in Hiroo”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I revisited this popular restaurant again this week after a 5 year break. It still has the same panache and attitude. A lot of the staff is still the same, passionately promoting the various on premise made pastas, the variety of meats and the fresh fish and shell fish for the day. The hot risotto mixed in the wheel of parmesan is magnificent. On the evening I tried the tagliolini with baby squid and spinach for a starter and then the scorpion fish bouillabaisse for main. My friends had the mixed grilled meats for main course. The dessert cart is spectacular and we had the sour cherry pie. Wine selection is respectable. We had 2 different Brunellos.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely a favourite”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

One of our favourite Italian places in Tokyo, La Bisboccia is very popular. Has a comfortable homely feel - not over the top or too formal. Very friendly and personable service with mostly Italian staff.

The food is great. Mixture of daily specials depending on fresh vegetables, fish and meats. I usually find that some starters (particularly cold meats and buffalo mozzarella), pasta (you can try a couple of pasta options for the table) and something from the dessert selection is enough. The baked fish dishes, lamb and beef are also great though I find this becomes a very big meal...

Good place for a work dinner or something romantic. Definitely worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Currypow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bisboccia also viewed

 

Been to La Bisboccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing