We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, worth the queue”
Review of Shin Udon

Shin Udon
Ranked #18 of 9,626 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Be prepared to queue and it's worth it. Bring a reading material or spend quality time with your loved one while queuing. The texture of the udon is perfect, soup is nice and their tempura is so fresh. We also tried its beef udon and it was good too. Can feel that it's made with love and professionalism. Their sake was also nice. We are also impressed by their attentive service. Will definitely come back again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019

Shin Udon serves up delicious udon, but even more amazing tempura and fried chicken. The wait, however, is a little too much for my liking. Either way, glad I was able to try Shin Udon.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Amazing and unique in taste. Long wait of an hour as the place is small. The udon I had with yuzu and reddish was uniquemy sour and sweet. Tasted refreshing with cold udon.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank venusspartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Really enjoyed the beef and egg noodles and the tempura prawns and veggies with a few beers. Staff very welcoming and good service.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EAB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

amazing udon, so worth the wait!
went on a Wednesday at 534pm only had a 6person queue. Had the cold dipping udon with shrimp, chikuwa (fish cake), kashiwa (chicken) and a hot udon with tempura ... both were AAAmazing it’s such a vast difference in taste from hot and cold so depends on your preference. Make sure to get some tempura you won’t regret it!!
We even went back a second time before leaving but be warned .. we went on a Sunday at 1134am and it was a much longer queue 20+ deep and they opened at 11am. Make sure you don’t try to squeeze in before LO (last order) because they may run out of udon early so don’t be S.O.L

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank deemie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shin Udon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing