We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
249
358
133
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
358
133
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain shower japanese breakfast great location rooms are small breakfast was included single room west exit bed was very comfortable pedestrian overpass open the window great shower minute walk train station the ground floor quiet area western style short stay
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 792 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Located just south of Shibuya station, finding Granbell is a little challenging as its not 'in your face'. Having said this, once you know where it is, you realise how perfectly located it is!

Granbell is only 5 minutes walk from the famous Shibuya crossing and the 1000's of people that cross it at every change. The staff are attentive and speak good English. I had my JR railpass sent to the hotel and it they had it ready to give to me.

So here are the +'ve and the -'ves!

+ Great location
+ Price point in comparison is reasonable considering the cost of accommodation in Tokyo
+ Room and bathroom were decorated well, and were very clean.
+ great assortment of amenities
+ free wifi

- breakfast - they really need help here! Breakfast isn't a big meal in Japan, so don't expect a wide selection of savoury items. Having said this, the Japanese breakfast was good. There's a 'family mart' (like 7-eleven) at the bottom of the street. Just go there an pick yourself up a riceball or 2 and be on your way!

All in all, this is an easy hotel to stay in, and I would stay here again if I am fortunate enough to get back to Japan.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

This is a nice hotel, in a very good position near Shibuya station.
However, rooms are very small: we booked one Modern double room (larger) and one Comfort double. Both are tiny rooms, but the Comfort is so small that you harly have room for 2 suitcases.
Breakfast is another negative aspect of this hotel: the first floor breakfast room serves pre-arranged trays with japanese and western food. The japanese is ok but the western is not very good. The second breakfast room (located at the ground floor) has limited selection (they don't serve tea!!!), but at least you're free to choose from a small buffet.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZamboMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Very well situated. Good prices. Clean. Friendly people. They will help you find anything you may need and they speak quite well English.
The only problem is the breakfast which is mediocre (2 choices : one continental which I didn't like at all. one Japanese which was quite good but weird for Europeans, it includes fish).
Also, free wifi.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

The Granbell Hotel was the perfect location for our stay. It was a short walking distance to Shibuya Station and the surround streets were quiet, despite the current construction works. The room layout was functional and bathroom very clean. The staff are inviting and were very helpful with all of our questions. We also enjoyed the option to decide between traditional Japanese or Western breakfast each morning.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

We are family of three, two adults and one young child. We booked a standard room originally but was "upgraded" to premium room because they had it open. The room was very spacey compare to normal hotel of this kind. Not only the bedroom itself, but bathroom were roomy. Location was perfect to walk around the Shibuya station.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank UrokoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews