We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay & good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay & good location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is our first trip to Japan and finally choose to stay at Granbell. We booked two rooms (daily breakfast and tax all inclusive), very good price. Love the neighbourhood. Location is good, close to JR Shibuya Station. Restaurants and shopping stores nearby. Free wifi and fast. Nice staffs, speak English quite well. Rooms are small but very clean. Bathroom with transparent glass door is inconvenient although there are curtains separating bathroom and bedroom. We enjoy our stay at Granbell, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossymaswir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    309
    118
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
294
141
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

First off, let me start by saying that it was my first time inTokyo and I had NO IDEA where to go. Also, I got the cheapest room.

I went off a friends recommendation, she LOVED IT. Still does, so to each is own.

The rooms are a lot smaller then they look, if you can believe that. The bathroom was super clean and had everything you could need, which was a plus. Clean bed, clean sheets

However, the rugs were stained , which is a peeve of mine and the room service was like non existent but I guess you get what you pay for - if i recall it was like $150 or something a night USD.

Breakfast SUCKED and was a little sad. Kinda empty, sad staff, no love. Don't get me wrong, no one was rude just a little bored, sad, jaded, etc etc etc.

I am from NYC so I am assuming that hotels in Tokyo are like one sin NYC. If you expect to stay in a nice hotel you in Tokyo, you better be ready to pay for it. Around $350ish USD is what i would assume decent hotel is around here.

Location was really great though. Love Shibuya and super close to awesome shopping and almost all the train stations.

I wouldn't be against staying here again but I am returning in December but I think i will try another hotel....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianelucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and loved the location, our room, the amazing shower and toilet and the little bar downstairs. Great small details like providing clothes freshening spray in the wardrobe, plus lots of toiletries. Wifi was fast and free bottled water replaced everyday. I tried the free western breakfast one morning but didn't bother getting up for it again. The pizza is good from the bar downstairs and the other food looked good too. Had a great night at the 'Hus & Wife Darts bar' opposite with a very entertaining owner. Its easy to walk to all the big shops and we found some other great bars 20 minutes or so walk away. We tried to stay one more night but they were fully booked on the Saturday so we ended up in the Intercontinental in Roppongi for twice the price but not as much charm. Would love to come back to the Granbell and Japan. Had such a great time.

Room Tip: Its worth paying for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaczc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

For the price, this place offered a truly outstanding level of service with a smile. I stayed at the Shibuya Granbell during my first ever trip to Japan. Check-in was a breeze. My room was cozy but had beyond the number of amenities one would expect for this price (extensive toiletries, much-needed water bottles on hand and replenished, etc). I received vouchers for a drink at their bar, along with breakfasts for each morning I was there. Also, the front desk staff helped make my bus reservation for returning to Narita.

For being so close to Shibuya station and highways, the hotel was remarkably peaceful at night. I would absolutely consider staying at this hotel again should I return to Tokyo in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyuga06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice hotel located very close to the station over a set of pedestrian overpasses. Staff were good and pretty friendly with good English spoken.
Room very stylish and bigger than expected in Tokyo with a full bathroom and fantastic power shower that's more typhoon than than rain.
The restaurant downstairs is popular and did good western food if you are noodled out, there is a very cheap noodle place next door that was great though ordering was tricky.
At the back of the lobby there is a bar that seemed pretty popular and was open late.
Location is great, very close to all the shopping area and nightlife and once you get the station entrances wired it's incredibly easy to find.
If you find the overhead walkways at the sout west station entrance it's just a matter of heading towards the big guitar shops over the expressway and the hotel is 150m from the lift access to the walkways.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

That hotel has a great location, close from Shibuya center. The rooms are design and clean. The staff was very nice and over helpful with us. And the price was really interesting. Overall a place to recommand if you visit Tokyo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruruu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Within a short walk of Shibuya Station and Shibuya crossing, the location is excellent. The rooms are very small, but with so much on offer in Tokyo I barely spent any time in my room. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, but I felt it was starting to get a bit tired. The bathroom amenities were excellent and plentiful. The breakfast on offer at the Japanese Restaurant (a choice of three meals, including French Toast) was superior to that on offer at the Western restaurant on the ground floor. I enjoyed my stay in Shibuya and the hotel was more than adequate and good value for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Property: Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Address: 15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Granbell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granbell Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing