We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with perfect location”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have spent 10 days here and had very pleasant stay.
Hotel was well located - just 5 min walk from underground/train station and Shibuya crossing, but was very quiet.
The service was excellent everywhere: at the reception, in the restaurant and including housekeeping.
The room ("modern double" type) was not so big but well designed and completely equiped ( TV-Set, telephone, fridge, coffee/tea maker, free mineral water, safe, individual air-condition ).
Hotel provided free Wifi.
Bathroom also very nice and fully equiped ( soap, shampoo, comb, shaver, hairdryer etc. ).
Breakfast was not the same as I 'm used to have in Europe but it was OK.
I tried japanese style breakfast and it was the new experience for me, but it was nice.
If someone needs more "european" food on breakfast there is another bar/restaurant at the ground floor where small buffet breakfast is served ( scramble eggs, bread, salat, some fruit).
Overall hotel was very nice and fullfilled my expectations. I can recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Check-in is not earlier than 2 pm but you can left your luggage at the hotel and go sightseeing Toky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcin_77_Wrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    305
    117
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
290
139
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed during 3 nights at the hotel. The location, 2 minutes from Shibuya Crossing is just amazing. The hotel was confortable enough and clean. The price was acceptable for the location. The breakfast was below our expectations, but ok, could be worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room I booked here was tiny, but as I soon found out: everything is in Japan! And as as tiny as it was, it had everything you need for a short stay in Tokyo: a comfortable bed, great shower, very clean and even though it is virtually in the heart of Tokyo it was very quiet at night. For a short sightseeing trip, when you are hardly in your room, it is perfect and very close to transport to the rest of the city and the airport. And it looks cool to boot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walking to there from the airport shuttle stop is quite tedious because the hotel is on a slope, so make sure you figured out and print out the route before hand or you will be dragging your luggage up and down the hill helplessly like me (esp. when you can't stop and rest on the slope because your luggage will roll down).

I like how modern looking the hotel is. There is no problem conversing in English with the counter staff and there are various area maps near the counter as well. The location is pretty ideal (minus the fact dragging luggage up down slope is troublesome) as it is quiet, has convenience store, book store and 100 yen shop within 5 minutes walk, and is less than 10 minutes (of pleasant walk) away from Shibuya Central.

Room wise, well we all know how small rooms in tokyo is. The toilet is fairly new and clean so that's a plus point. However I find the carpet floor kind of dusty and it is advisable to wear slippers around. I would definitely encourage anyone considering this hotel to book this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel right in the midst of everything. Very central and so easy to get around. Fab food nearby with some of the best sushi just across the road, and a yakitori place worth arriving early for so you can get in just opposite. Very clean, good room, lovely staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice and efficient hotel super close to the main attractions of shibuya. Breakfast included on the price and would definitely advice it for a short staying.
Nice restaurants very close with different varieties of food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadiatumaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the Shibuya Granbell hotel for four nights in July 2013.

First off, the hotel is not that easy to spot. If you're taking a cab to the hotel, make sure you know the exact address (or even better, the GPS co-ordinates).

Check-in was a breeze. The receps speak enough English to get by, but don't expect to conduct extended English conversations with them. The hotel itself looks quite stylish.

The room (Small Double) though was tiny. I've stayed in numerous hotels in Tokyo and this must be one of the smaller rooms I've seen. There's space for a double bed (which is very comfortable) and a long narrow desk. It was partly my mistake not to have double-checked the size of the room, but it was overall a very uncomfortable and cramped stay for my partner and me. Otherwise the room wasn't really sound proof, I could hear noise from the Street and music from the room next door.

The location is ok, it's not exactly in the heart of Shibuya as it's still a good 5-8 minute walk (over the overhead bridge and through the JR station) to the happening Shibuya areas. But, the Shibuya station itself is an extremely good place from which to explore the rest of Tokyo. The hotel itself is located in what I would term an annex of Shibuya. It's a nice area in itself, lots of eateries (open very late), coffee places, a convenience store and curiously, a concentration of guitar shops.

Breakfast--you had a choice of Japanese (fish and rice), Western (scrambled eggs) or French toast. The food is decent.

Room Tip: The Small Double room is too small for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Property: Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Address: 15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#6 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Granbell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granbell Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing