We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First stop in Japan”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Granbell for two nights in April. We arrived around lunchtime off the flight from London so it took us a while to find the hotel! It is very conveniently located close to the JR and subway stations and numerous bars and restaurants to suit all budgets. The room was bigger than we were expecting, the breakfast was good (we'd recommend the Japanese style). All the staff were friendly and the was a really good base to acclimatise and check out Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    305
    117
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
290
139
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near Shibuya station and the instructions provided on how to get there by foot are perfect once you locate the correct station exit. It is a short walk from the station and easy to do with luggage in tow. Being near Shibuya station puts the hotel in the heart of the very busy and energetic district.

An interesting rotating wooden door greets you at the entrance, but once you enter the staff are very friendly and helpful with check-in and I was up in the room in no time. The room was spacious, if a little lacking in storage space. The bathroom area was huge, with separate areas for shower/bath, toilet and sink/vanity mirror taking up about half of the room. The shower featured a rainhead which was a great change from other Tokyo hotels. Unfortunately the large area leads to wasted space and it would have been better used for extra storage or general floor space.

The desk area was very small and cluttered with items and hotel amenities, making it not very business work friendly. The room did have a small window, but it looked out into the centre of the hotel along with the windows of other rooms making it rather dark. The bed was large and comfortable and the free internet was also fast and reliable. A small (empty) bar fridge was provided in the room along with communal vending machines. Breakfast is in their bar area and is somewhat limited in selection compared to other Tokyo hotels.

The hotel certainly does have its quirks, but if you want to be in the centre of everything, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel was very easy to find based on the instructions at the website. Friendly reception staff; also a complimentary drink voucher was given.

Room was small but that could be expected in Tokyo. It had all the necessities. Really loved spacious shower with very hot water and great water pressure.

They are serving breakfast at two different restaurants; loved the cold mashed potatoes and hot sausages at the ground floor and Japanese breakfast in the other restaurant.

Wifi was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank johanna_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here in a comfort double for a few days and I enjoyed my stay.
The interior was pretty old (Will return but will have modern double), silly things about it annoyed me, the TV was broken and the fridge was empty. However, all the important things- the shower and the bed were fabulous.
The best thing about this hotel is the location and the design- the lobby is super cool! The hotel is just around the corner from Shibuya aka the coolest bit of one of the coolest cities in the world. Ideal if you want to stay out all day!

Great links to the airport, you can take the N'EX and even if you have massive bags, all the walkways from Shibuya have elevators, so dont worry.

Breakfast here is kind of odd, the Japanese version is the best. I find even in the pricey hotels that breakfast is always a little odd. Here you get lettuce with your eggs and bacon.

Worth it if you want to be in the centre of everything without spending a ton and you appreciate quirky.

Room Tip: Go Modern Double or dont go at all :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I arrived at the Shibuya Station. I walked about 5-7 minutes to arrive at the hotel. Going a little uphill is okay even pulling my luggage. The staffs are super friendly helpful. Breakfast with western and Japanese styles. The small is compact but full of everything I need. No closet but I didn't need one. I will definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to many things and an easily accessable train station.
There is a fantastic izakaya (neighbourhoodbar) just across the road and up the hill a little that we went two twice.
The room was fairly small but this was expected.
Staff helpful with out early (and grumpy) arrival and offered umbrellas for the rainy day. No chance of booking in early though- if you'd like a room early perhaps book from the night before which is what I wish we'd done.
Breakfast is pretty average

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In Tokyo for business and my client recommended this hotel to me.

- Amazing location next to Shibuya train station (famous Shibuya street crossing 5 mins walk away)
- I arrived at night and it was amazing to see everything lit up. The hotel is one a cute street where there are lots of restaurants nearby.
- Checkin was simple. The hallways are dimly lit which I loved as it created a real boutique hotel effect. Even the room was dimly lit which I thought was so nice!
- Very cute room. Small but cute. I'm here on business so I have a big suitcase but I was fine living out of my suitcase and working on the bed. No problem.
- Shower was good and they give you a sponge too which was convenient as I had forgotten mine :)
- Carpet needs a good clean but apart from that the room was fine.
- Breakfast : 2 choices. I have only tried the dining room restaurant part and had the western breakfast. Was fine.
- Had dinner at the same restaurant too one night and the food was very tasty! Also tried one of the restaurants next to the hotel. Was tasty too!

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and will be coming back here for work. I don't need a lot of space to work / live...I was out most of the time. So everything was fine for me! Love this place...Love Tokyo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmykWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Property: Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Address: 15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#6 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Granbell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granbell Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing