We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good helpful staff”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me & my husband booked 2 nights, to be paid once we go to the hotel. However we couldn't come back to Shibuya on the 1st night as we were stuck in Hiroshima that evening ( we didn't know that trains don't run from Hiroshima-Tokyo the whole night) We were sad because we thought we still had to pay for the 1st night because it was a very short notice cancellation that we made around 8.00 pm that night. But when we explained it over the phone, the staff very politely said that they will not take money from us for the 1st night, which was so nice (irrespective of their policy where they can charge some amount for short notice cancellation) We were extremely happy & surprised to see how good they were where as in most of the other countries it's only about making money. I think this is exactly what a tourist/traveler wants in a hotel because you never know when you are going to miss transport/when you are unable to stay the night at the hotel for an unforeseen reason.
Also the staff gave us a lot of information/directions on where to go, allowed us to keep our luggage as much as we want before checked in/after checked out. There were English speaking staff as well.
Hotel is situated in a good spot which is walking distance to all big shopping centres and had access to public transport. Hotel rooms looked very nice too, clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds. Breaky we had at their restaurant was yummy as well. Overall we had a comfortable night (free from cigarette smoke smell like in most of the other hotels in Japan even though it said non smoking)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDiaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    314
    118
    23
    16
See reviews for
61
298
142
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked a Premier Double Room for 2 people.

The biggest plus for the hotel is the location in Shibuya. A five to six minute walk to the Shibuya JR Line entrance, an additional minute to three for the different subway line entrances and to Shibuya crossing. Restaurants and convenience and drug stores within a 1-2 block radius of the hotel for ease, or all you have to do is walk to the main Shibuya area.

The room itself was not good, ceiling had mold/mildew on it. Staff cleaned it with some disinfectant when I went down to explain the problem.

Room is small, as advertised, but for the price and location, is what you could expect. Would be a good hotel if you're just looking for a launching off point and don't plan to be in the room except to sleep.

Free wi fi is in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daikan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Granbell hotel is great for budget travelers to Tokyo. The staff is great and helpful and everything worked fine (elevators, internet, etc). The room was tiny, but of course, everything is tiny in Tokyo unless you pay a great amount of money.
Location is fantastic, 3 blocks away from Shibuya station, meaning that you'll access almost everything with just one train.
Tip: Getting to the hotel is kind of tricky from Shibuya, use the map they provide on their website and look for the little bar in street, then look towards the iiner part of the block and you'll see the big brown door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le0pic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The room, especially the bathroom, was dirty, (loose hairs of all types and a discarded contact among other things) and the ceiling was covered with black mildew. We were very disappointed. The place is also crawling with foreigners, and the direct environs of the hotel seedy -- perhaps appropriate because it advertises itself proudly as a "day-use" hotel. Yes, it's very close to Shibuya station, and the wait staff at the breakfast restaurant on the second floor were extremely nice. But not a great place for families. The vibe was funky, but we suspected the dramatic low-lighting in the hallways was to cover up dirt.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the annex -- appeared to be a newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My 2nd time staying at the Granbell Hotel in Shibuya. Stayed there 2 years ago and really enjoyed it. The compact rooms are great. it's an excellent value, we located (close to Shibuya Station). staff is accommodating and friendly. the surprise this time was the food in the front restaurant. excellent food and service.

no wifi in the rooms, but you can get a wireless router at the front desk for a small deposit.

Worth a stay. As stated: great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed for business for 6 nights in October 2012.
Rooms are small but the space is really maximised and they have a cool design.
The breakfast choice is limited and ok if you are staying there for a couple of nights as we were staying longer we ate outside a couple of times at breakfast.
There is no wifi in the room unless you borrow a router - I didn't realise this until the last night as the receptionist didn't speak very good english when we checked in so didn't know this facility was available. Best to take advantage of the wifi as there is hardly any free wifi in the city (I expected there to be much more free wifi in cafes etc but there isn't).
Short walk to Shibuya station and to shops etc so really good location.
I have stayed in nicer Tokyo hotels but this is good for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my wife were just staying here for a night before heading home, therefore we didn't ask for any upgrade or anything. First of all, this hotel is super hard to find and it is kind of up the slope, but other that, I'd totally consider this hotel again. The room is small, but understandable because this is Tokyo, for the price we paid, I think it is decent. In addition, there is a free breakfast which I don't normally see this being offer in many hotel in Tokyo. This hotel has very modern design and most important of all, the location, you can easily walk to anywhere within minutes. The staffs are friendly and service is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Property: Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Address: 15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Granbell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granbell Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing