We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Value For Money Hotel in Tokyo?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excellent Ebisu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shibuya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Excellent Ebisu
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Best Value For Money Hotel in Tokyo?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

I stay in this hotel every month, as it's very close to our Tokyo Office. It's the best value for money hotel I've found in Tokyo, and I've been going there regularly, on business, for the last 2 years.

Rooms are (very) small, but always spotless. Bathroom is also small, but, again, everything clean and new. Biggest issue for me is that (as in many upscale hotels in Tokyo), all TV channels are in Japanese. Free high-speed internet is a plus.

Location is a killer: 1 min from Ebisu station, 2 stops from Ropponggi, easy access to Tokyo Station (20 min) for the Narita Express to the Airport, Shibuya and Shinagawa a small subway trip away....

At this price and location, I will not say impossible, but EXTREMELY difficult to find comparable hotels in downtown Tokyo.

Ebisu Excellent Hotel is not where I would spend my honeymoon, or where I would take my little kids for a vacation, but it does the trick as a very decent business hotel in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntonioShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
9
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

Location wise this property is king because of its about 1 minute from the station (20sec if u do mad dash) but the size of the room by any standards is too small. I wouldnt consider this a hotel but rather a business hotel due to its size. I felt most comfortable when i closed my eyes and imagined i was a the Grand Hyatt, Ritz Carlton or even any Oakwood property. A part of any vacation should also include the comforts of a nice hotel... well Excellent won't offer this. Its just a place to sleep, nothing else. It can't all be about location. If there was a positive note, Ebisu Area offers some great Ramen, Yakiniku, Standing Bars, Irish Pubs, Atre Department Store (Above the station), variety of restaurants and most of all this area is not insanely packed like Shibuya or Shinjuku... Station is smaller and you wont get lost. PS: Get a room that overlooks the main street and not the back (as your view will be the next building inches away). If you are traveling with 2 dont stay here they will charge you double... go check out a Serviced Apartment like Oakwood, fee is flat no matter if 1 or 2.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank EbisuHapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shibuya hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

We stayed here for a week. It gets an A+ for location -- Ebisu is just 2 stops away from Roppongi and 1 stop away from Shibuya and Meguro. The rooms are standard Japanese business hotel size and you won't have any room for yoga after putting your luggage down flat. Decor is dated but everything works, is spotlessly clean and not a whiff of smoke on our non-smoking floor.

On our last day they were in the process of replacing all the old CRT TVs in the rooms (with LCD ones I presume). Booking is not convenient as they don't do email or online bookings. You'll have to call or fax them but their spoken English is excellent. A true budget gem in a trendy part of Tokyo.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Outdated interior
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gauntlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

Can't beat the Hotel Excellent for location--walking distance to Daikanyama, Shibuya, and other trendy hip locations if you want to stay out after the trains stop--and price. Very close to international ATM, Starbucks, subway, and JR station. Clean, nice rooms. Helpful staff. Truly excellent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Early check-out time (10am)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jdaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Great ebisu location,with subway and jr close to the hotel location,great rates for the area,only downside it's rooms are small.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank TOKUGAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

This is a great place to stay if you want to be right in the midst of things! It's right across the street from the Ebisu station, so travel to other localities is very easy! The room was small, but quite clean, the halls were quiet, there's a fridge and water heating device so that you can refresh yourself. The "Peacock" grocery is just down the street, so you can fix things to eat in if you need to. I'll stay here every time I come to Japan! You might need to plan on bringing some wash cloths for the bath, and you might want to purchase some softer toilet paper when you get here, but other than that, this place is wonderful!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rough toilet paper!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

This was the second time I have stayed at Hotel Excellent. Probably my last time too.

Before I get onto what made me never want to come back, I say a few good things about it....

It's in a very convenient location right across from Ebisu station (on the Yamanote line), so not too far to drag your baggage. Lots of great food options here, from your Western fast food outlets to awesome ramen shops. Go exploring around the back lanes for the best places. Ebisu is right next to Shibuya and Shinjuku, so you're right in the thick of it. The rooms are small, but clean. The non-smoking rooms smelt of stale smoke, but no big deal. Free internet was a bonus!

Ok, onto the bad points:

I arrived on a long haul flight from London, arrived at Narita at 7am, got to the hotel around 10am. Check in time is 2pm. I was hoping for a bit of leway so I could have a shower, change stinky clothes etc, but they were insistant on the 2pm check-in. Being deadly tired I decided to go to Shibuya to grab some food and look around. I got back to the hotel around 1:55pm and asked to be checked in. They one again stood firm and told me I would have to wait until 2pm to get into my room. Waited for 5 minutes then they checked me in. Argh.

On my last day, check out time was 10am, I was busy showering and packing for my last leg back to Australia. I got a call at 10:05am asking when I'll be checking out. I told them I was packing and would be down at 10:30am. Packing and cleaning took a little longer than expected and got down to reception at 10:40am. They kindly informed me that they would have to charge me for the extra 10 minutes! My jaw hit the ground.. I was speechless. I paid the trivial amount and said goodbye forever to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mid In Meguro-Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellent Ebisu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellent Ebisu

Property: Hotel Excellent Ebisu
Address: 1-9-5 Ebisu-Nishi, Shibuya 150-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Excellent Ebisu Hotel
Hotel Excellent Ebisu Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing