We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair deal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shibuya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Excellent Ebisu
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I ended up in this hotel which was booked for me by my Japanese colleagues.
The hotel is conveniently located in Ebisu, very close to subway and the area around is not bad with small streets and plenty of good looking Japanese restaurants. You need not be shy as most restaurants don't have English signboards on the front so it is difficult to know what food they serve unless pushing their door. If you are shy, you can walk to Ebisu garden where the beer museum stands and there you'll find western style restaurants, but it's not fun to eat western in Japan, right?
The + : the hotel is a 20mn walk from the "Kill bill"restaurant which served as the decor for this famous Taratino film. The place is worth seeing for the movie afficinado, but is a tourist trap.
The good about the hotel: the room is not that small (we're in Tokyo, small is "really" small!), the rate per night is fair including a "lean" continental breakfast, the lift is very quick, the rooms are clean.
The not so good: rooms on the street can be noisy depending on the day, it's a smoking hotel so you kind of feel like someone is smoking beside you as you go to your room, tobacco smell is impregnated (at least on the 6/F where I slept, I don't know for the other floors).
Conclusion: I would stay there again for business trip, but I won't keep special memory of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xrist0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not the first time I stay here.......as it is close to my office.
For the money you spend it's for sure worth it.
Rooms are clean (even if not too big).
it is very convenient, close to JR Ebisu station.
Price is fair for what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at hotel excellent for 2 nights and like most other travelers I found the location of the hotel and value to be excellent. It's very convenient to get to the Hibiya (Subway) line and the JR circle line. There are lots of great options for food near the hotel and one stop down the Hibiya line in Meguro.

However, the rooms are quite small. I stayed in a single room on the 10th floor and the bed was a little short for me (I'm only 183 cm tall).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theovanightsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Not the newest, or the cheapest, but the location is perfect. Any time you can be on the Hibiya subway line or JR Yamanote line in less than a minute, you'll feel like you're in the center of everything Tokyo has to offer. Excellent is clean and has all the things you need, but don't you dare stay a minute late. I was hoping to watch baseball in my room until the last minute and in spite of confirming that I'd pay for an extra hour, found another charge--- beause I was 5 minutes beyond the hour. That's Japan. Rules are rules, and exceptions are rarely granted. Just because... And I speak Japanese! Maybe you'd have more luck with a shoulder shrug. You've been warned. That said, you'll be able to be at a Shibuya or Roppongi meeting spot quicker from Hotel Excellent than from some outlying hotels in those very neighborhoods because of the convenient location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapanPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Seems to me that the hotel picked the right name. Truly excellent! Most friendly staff I have ever met! My special thanks to Frank, Natalie and Leo from Reception and F&B who have made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321Robinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

- very near to the train station, shopping complex, restaurants.
- small but clean and very neat room

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nur_idora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Great name for a GREAT Hotel... Staff was on top of things.. Loved this place and will visit again.

Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
Thank kingstid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel Princess Garden
Hotel Princess Garden
#23 of 41 in Shinagawa
239 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#11 of 29 in Shibuya
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mets Shibuya
Hotel Mets Shibuya
#13 of 29 in Shibuya
205 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mid In Meguro-Ekimae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
The Westin Tokyo
The Westin Tokyo
#1 of 12 in Meguro
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellent Ebisu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellent Ebisu

Address: 1-9-5 Ebisu-Nishi, Shibuya 150-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Excellent Ebisu Hotel
Hotel Excellent Ebisu Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing