We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Statue”
Review of Hachiko

Hachiko
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Statue”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Shibuya is where the little statue of the dog Hachiko can be seen. When you exit the subway... The statue is there in the little park. Have photo ops before crossing the road to the shopping malls nearby. At night, this place is a meeting place of sorts for young people.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Babut_Bacena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    844
    773
    98
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seen the movie”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the bucket list of my daughter was to see the statue of Hachiko and go to the station where the dog kept waiting for his owner. Well plenty of tourist snapping pictures. But if you have plenty of time in Tokyo then go see it at Shibuya station but if not just google it and look it up in the internet haha.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thetravelinghousewif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly small”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we got of the train at Shibuya, we immediately went to find Hachiko's statue as my siblings liked (and cried) at that movie. We took photos just like tourists. It was surprisingly small and a lot of people were milling around that busy area. They gladly helped take our group's photo. It is just before the famous Shibuya crossing. You wont miss it. Visit the place at night. Much better with all the lights

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beap_manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surroundings very smokey and extremely busy”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second visit to see Hachiko and I wouldn't get my hopes up to take extremely good photos as the locals are all crowded around there (it's an open smoking area). The area is extremely busy on its own so it wouldn't be a waste to go there but I wouldn't recommend making a trip just to see Hachiko.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank minimaruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More for locals...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is just a tiny statue of the loyal dog Hachiko in front of Shibuya station. Everyone must know the story by now of the dog that came to wait for his master in front of the station for many years after the professor passed away. Lovely story and a very Japanese sentiment. The statue itself is nothing exciting. Just a good place to tell people to meet in crowded and crazy Shibuya. See it if you are already in Shibuya but don't make a special trip unless you are die-hard dog lover!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dekakuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hachiko also viewed

 

Been to Hachiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing