We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cost effective and convenient hotel at great location in Shibuya”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
California/Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cost effective and convenient hotel at great location in Shibuya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

A great place to stay for business. Friendly staff, cost effective hotel right next to NHK (national broadcaster) and other Shibuya businesses. Also convenient for the Narita Express train from the airport. This goes to Shibuya station, and it is a short 5-7 minute walk from the station to the hotel. Print out walking instructions ahead of time - relying on the GPS software on your smart phone may not be... eh... smart. Tall buildings etc do not give you the best chance to get to the hotel right away.Rooms are somewhat small - most rooms in Tokyo are - and the ironing board is exactly that, a board. Also no meeting room facilities at the hotel, but the reception offers good tables for a discussion. The internet is WIRED, so don't expect to be able to use any online tools in your by-reception-area meeting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    295
    110
    21
    9
See reviews for
108
173
86
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

3 night stay in October 2011. Great location about 8 mins walk from JR station. Room was a good size by Japan standard and was clean and tidy.
Decor was modern but not luxury level. The room was a semi double but unlike many hotels in Japan, the bed was not against the wall.
Typical small bathroom - but with all amenities. Hanging space flat against the wall was creative for small rooms.

There was no wifi but lobby internet was cheap.

Great hotel for the current rate of sub $100 level.

Would stay again at this rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just stayed at this hotel October 5-7 and paid $102/room through Agoda, the Japanese hotel web reservation system. We were late in booking it and were glad to get the rate in the Tokyo market. The staff had fairly good english skills and were very helpful.
The only negatives were a lack of wifi (they did have in room internet plug in, just not wifi), and the rooms are typical small oriental sized. They work fine, and the hotel is quiet, they just don't have as much room as westerners are used to.
The location is superb. Shibuya is lots of fun and not in a major business area. It is actually somewhat laid back compared to much of Tokyo. It has great restaurants, entertainment, and shopping. And it is a 2 block walk to Shibuya station, which has both a JR station with a Narita Express stop, and a subway station with 2 lines so it is easy to get anywhere in Tokyo.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (out of 8) and even with the window cracked for fresh air, it was quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psrockvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

When we were planning our trip to tokyo I did not think that we would be able to afford to stay in shibuya. I was so glad to find shibuya tobu hotel. The location is close to the heart of shibuya. Its about a 10 minute walk to shibuya crossing and shibuya station. The hotel is simple, clean, and just what we needed for our week stay in tokyo.

The only thing i wish the hotel had was free wifi, other than that our stay was great and this hotel was a great base for exploring tokyo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Once we got to the Shibuya JR Station, it was so packed and crowded, we didn't know which was North or South, so we flagged a taxi and he brought us to the Hotel. Once we got there, we realized it wasn't that far or that difficult to find.

Shibuya is a busy place, and this hotel is not dead center of it all. However, there are still people walking and yelling at night.

We stayed here for 5 nights, and I only had one complaint about someone making a lot of noise above us. Trying to complain to the front desk was a nightmare. I don't think they understood the situation, nor did they do anything about it.

I wanted to mail some post cards and the staff were able to do that for me. They were extremely friendly and recommended a few places to eat.

The room was a great size and so was the bathroom. They must have a partnership with Dominos because they had a brochure to order from them.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here, and if I ever make another trip to Japan, and ended up in Shibuya, I would pick this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bone_Chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

http://asienresor.blogspot.com/2011/09/tokyo-varldens-basta-stad-tokyo-movie.html

We stayed at Shibuya Tobu this summer and the best part of it all was the hotel' location! Just 4 minutes walk to the famous "shibuya crossing" with al the department store's and boutique's! This hotel is still located at a quite peaceful street near yoyogi park.

the rooms are extremely small but they still fit a double bed, a bathroom with a tub, all you need basically.

No luxury but not shabby neither!

So if you want a hotel that's in the heart of it all at a good price, this is the place to stay!

To see my short movie from tokyo, hit the link:

http://asienresor.blogspot.com/2011/09/tokyo-varldens-basta-stad-tokyo-movie.html

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asienresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

After the B in Ikebukuro, we moved to this hotel on our last day in Tokyo, when Typhoon Songda was about to set foot in Okinanawa and affecting Tokyo while on its way.
The Shibuya station is one of the busiest station in Tokyo city, so be sure to have a map ready and know your way. We took the Hutchiko exit after arriving, and when we came to the station exit, boy, there was a sea of umbrellas like what I once saw in a movie.
Hubby told me to stay put at the station with the luggages while he went to ask for directions to hotel. He told me afterwards that everybody was in a hurry and those that did stop to listen could not understand him. Finally he got hold of a young guy who did some deep thinking, tried to say something then shouted : Police! Police, and then signalled hubby to follow him. This person took my husband to 2 policemen at the front of the station and told the policemen to help him. The policemen did not know the directions to the hotel either so he gave up and came back to an anxious me.
I remembered someone did say something about crossing the traffic junction and passing a NHK directory sign, so we grabbed our bags, unbrellas and did that. We had to ask around a few more times before we finally found the hotel.. Actually the hotel is not that hard to find, just that I did not do my homework enough.
The hotel is located in a nice area, with large department stores like Tobu and Seibu and many other shops around. The Family Mart is our favourite place of visit on our way out and on our way back.
The Yoyogi park is just nearby but we did not see any interesting characters on that wet Sunday afternoon.
The room is small alright but functional, and clean. There is no wardrobe and you hanged your clothings on the hooks provided.
I am satisfied with the hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#13 of 27 in Shibuya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Property: Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing