We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small rooms but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tokyo, mainly because of location. My wife and I stayed here 5 nights.

It's in a great location essentially in the heart of Shibuya 5 min walk from the 5 ways crossing (and 2 mins if not peak hour pedestrian time) and next to a BIC camera (handy for some). Great night time sights and walking distance to Harajuku up the road. Close the the metro and JR station too.

The rooms are pretty small. Typical Japanese style but one of the smallest rooms we stayed in. It was manageable, but you had to put things away and keep it clean. Bed was not great but acceptable. Room was clean. Nothing flash though.

Pretty good price vs other options in the area. Staff spoke a bit of english, not much, but enough. they were friendly too. Its al about location and having Shibuya at your door. If you can afford or want biggger rooms there may be better options though?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

My stay at the Tokyu Inn was all too short,being only 3 nights.There is so much to see in this lovely place and i had not enough time to see it all.Haridguku St being about a 20 minute walk and historical shinto temples along the way to visit.
The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable,with the provision of clean cotton kimonos for us to wear.Bathroom facilities were fantastic with hand soap,shampoo,conditioner..etc..all provided in pump style containers.Everything from shaving equipment to body sponges were also provided.I feel the only drawback to this lovely hotel was the lack of English spoken by the staff on duty at the time of our stay.After much gesticulating and arm waving,did we get them to understand us.i tried to make a booking for dinner in the on-site restaurent,but to no avail as the restaurent staff could not understand what i was saying.We finally found a lovely italian restaurent just up the road from the hotel.The train line is very close to the hotel and periodically you feel the rumbling of the trains going by.But this was only a small drawback and i would not let it stop me from staying there again..it was a lovely time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel is 3 minutes from the station, and in the very heart of Shibuya. The staff were helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean, although on the small side, but that is typically Japan.

The bed was nice, I slept very well. Cable internet worked just fine, a bit slow during evenings. There is a hot water kettle along with tea and instant coffee, and also a fridge. I used the laundry service and have nothing to complain about: Leave your clothes before 10am and you'll receive them at 8pm the same day. When I stayed at this hotel it was very hot in Tokyo. There are great blinds in front of the windows to keep the heat out and the air con worked perfectly.

The bathroom contains the usual: Toothbrush/paste, shower cream and shampoo/conditioner, bath sponge, shower cap, razor+gel, The bath room is small but well working for its size.

There is a restaurant that serves breakfast and other food during the day. The breakfast buffet is 1500 yen. However, you can find good breakfasts for less than 500 yen a couple of minutes away from the hotel. There are many nice eateries around, so you wont go hungry!

I went to a conference at Tokyo University, the Komaba campus along the Keio Inokashira line. It took me only 15 minutes to get from my room, to the station, on the train and to the actual conference site at the campus. Very convenient.

There are 2 computers with a writer next to the front desk. You can use them for 100 yen/10 minutes. Printing out documents is for free. However, they did not use the Microsoft Office, but OpenOffice, which made some of my prints look funny.

All in all, I can really recommend this hotel. I have to admit that I found it a bit expensive given the small room. But apart from that, the hotel was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenaUmeaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Quite close to Shibuya station, just around the corner in the direction of Harajuku, inside the Yamanote loop.
Room was reasonable, though small like any Tokyo hotel room. The air conditioning was slightly feeble. There was some device in the room that looked like another air conditioner, but it was free-standing so I think it was an ionizer.
The front desk gave us a cable for free Internet.
The fridge was empty so you could store your own stuff, a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichschlaikjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This location is excellant! It is around the corner from the buisiest shopping district in Tokyo. The hotel is clean, basic, and has nice beds. Perfect, no frills.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

but she stayed in single room.....I want to find out has anyone stayed in a Semi-Double room ?

Does the bed sleep 2 adults ?

If anyone has stayed at this hotel and used a "Semi-Double" room can they please give me some feedback....

Is it ok ?

Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Almondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The hotel is a five minute stroll from the Shibuya station that will take you anywhere. My room was small but immaculate and well appointed with many goodies, such as a blow dryer, small fridge and tea kettle. The restaurant buffet was fantastic, though not cheap at 1500 yen. I confess to eating there every morning as the food was so healthy and fresh, and the environment, smokeless. Other than the Starbucks ( 5 minutes away), all the cafes and coffee shops are dense with smoke. On a roof top accross the street from the hotel is a large ( ten metre high) bowling pin! I don't know what it represents, but it was a perfect landmark, and made it easy to find my way back to the hotel! As I mentioned, the hotel did not include breakfast, and it cost 100 yen for 10 minutes of internet time on the computers in the lobby. All and all though- for the fabulous location and the level of comfort for the price- it was exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
719 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#11 of 29 in Shibuya
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel

Address: 1-24-10 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Shibuya Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range: $115 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tokyu Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing