We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Hotel, very good sleep, excellant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
British Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, very good sleep, excellant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This location is excellant! It is around the corner from the buisiest shopping district in Tokyo. The hotel is clean, basic, and has nice beds. Perfect, no frills.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    148
    78
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
82
75
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

but she stayed in single room.....I want to find out has anyone stayed in a Semi-Double room ?

Does the bed sleep 2 adults ?

If anyone has stayed at this hotel and used a "Semi-Double" room can they please give me some feedback....

Is it ok ?

Thanks

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

The hotel is a five minute stroll from the Shibuya station that will take you anywhere. My room was small but immaculate and well appointed with many goodies, such as a blow dryer, small fridge and tea kettle. The restaurant buffet was fantastic, though not cheap at 1500 yen. I confess to eating there every morning as the food was so healthy and fresh, and the environment, smokeless. Other than the Starbucks ( 5 minutes away), all the cafes and coffee shops are dense with smoke. On a roof top accross the street from the hotel is a large ( ten metre high) bowling pin! I don't know what it represents, but it was a perfect landmark, and made it easy to find my way back to the hotel! As I mentioned, the hotel did not include breakfast, and it cost 100 yen for 10 minutes of internet time on the computers in the lobby. All and all though- for the fabulous location and the level of comfort for the price- it was exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel is very good choice if you want to be in Shibuya centre area. The hotel is only about 5 mins away from it's sister hotel, Shibuya Excel Hotel, which is one of the two stops for the airport limousine. It's right in the city centre, where you have many shopping centres such as the Shibuya 109, Parco etc.

The rooms, as expected, is quite small but still relatively comfortable. The room comes with free internet and a small bar fridge, which is empty but you can easily get some canned drinks from 5th floor of the hotel or the few convenience stores, that's like 2 minds walk away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

I paid approx $130/night on hotels.com, and based on what that buys in New York City (and the reviews here) I thought I'd get a room similar to a Raddison or Hampton Inn in the states. This place looks like one step above an hourly road motel in New Jersey. While the lobby looks great, The rooms look like they have been seen some heavy volume for a high number of years. As a 1st time visitor to Japan, I expected a level of cleanliness comparable to an operating room, but I noticed (possibly biological) stains on the carpet, bed, and chair. Cigarette burn on the plastic sink of my non-smoking room was one thing that stuck in my mind. Bottom line: if you have the money, go for the Excel where the airport limo bus takes you otherwise don't get your hopes up on the Shibuya Tokyu Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn_Carington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a twin bedroom with our 3-month-old baby for 3 nights. Apparently, rooms with two twin beds are larger than rooms with a double bed. We heard about the small size of hotel rooms in Tokyo and opted to bring our own little baby bed that's about the size of a drawer. It fit neatly under the bench seat in the room while still giving us a little bit of walking space.

Make sure you do not exit out of the South exit of the JR Station, as we did, making the walk a little longer than we expected. Head north and it will be a short trek. Pack lightly! We brought two small suitcases instead of one huge one and it was a good choice since we did have to walk a while!

There is a coin-operated washer and dryer on the 5th floor, which we used since we only brought clothes enough for 4 days. Our last morning there we washed our clothes before heading off to Kyoto. We asked for a 12:00 checkout time, which is at no extra cost. The dryer doesn't work well so we ended up hanging our clothes up to dry at our next hotel in Kyoto. The washer got the job done and we had clean clothes for the rest of our trip!

Loved the location as there are so many stores and restaurants within minutes of walking distance! The night life is really happening!

We also opted to not bring a stroller for the baby and it was good for Tokyo since you have to get around on so many trains. Going up and down the stairs to the train stations with a stroller would have been no fun at all.

The front desk was very helpful and they speak a little English. Some of the staff members know more English than others.

We did not try the restaurant, but went out to explore the town. To save a little bit, we bought rolls and yogurt from the nearby convenience store for our breakfasts. The post office is just around the corner. On the floor above the post office, you can exchange money.

It also provides a light robe for you to wear to bed or before bed. In Kyoto, we stayed in Hotel Monterey Kyoto and pajamas are provided. Seems that you do not need to pack your own pajamas when staying in Japan's accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

bitit expensive but everuthing was first class. The eoom was beautiful and so were the grounds. Easy access to the train. The meals were excellent also.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sking222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel

Property: Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Address: 1-24-10 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Shibuya Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tokyu Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing