We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tiny rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful location but the rooms and beds are extremely small - even by Japanese standards. We had to turn sideways to get between the bed and the wall and i am definitely not large! We chose this location so we could walk to Meiji Shrine on New Year's Eve and not have to worry about getting back on the trains and it worked really well. But I don't know if I would stay again - I think I would pay a little more for a room where I could unpack a few items into a drawer and have enough space on the floor to open my suitcase.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewfromfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    134
    66
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
62
67
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Small room, but so is many things in Japan. Everything was clean and had everything I needed! Best of all, right smack in Shibuya! Heeeellllo! Robes, toiletries, and indoor slippers are provided in your room.

(travelled in July 2010)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and it is so convenient to about 4 or 5 different train & subway lines. 200 metres from Shibuya Crossing as well. Lots of cute bars, food stalls and traditional japanese restaurants around the area plus lots of shopping stores. The hotel staff were so nice and helpful, always smiling and saying hi. Room was average size, but quiet decent for japanese sized rooms. TV, Air con and nice bathroom. Room always cleaned and not too noisy either. Over all very convenient and would happily stay here again for a fairly priced place in a popular area of Tokyo city. would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Higher up levels are probably not as noisy, but double glazing windows any level would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was the first time for me to arrive in Tokyo. Prices are outrageous, but the city is stunning!
This hotel was booked for me, mainly for its value and location. About 200 US dollars per night for nothing more than a battery cage with a build in bath room is apparently a good deal...
The room was so small that I had no place to open a second suitcase. Everything in the room was mini, but it worked. Internet was fast and for free. The mini-bar was empty though and a coffee downstairs was 10 dollars(!). The breakfast in the restaurant was nice but not outstanding.
The bathroom was entirely plastic and a build in model. Very efficient probably, but I felt like being in a camper on a camping place.
The hotel's best asset is its location at only 3 minutes walking from the Shibuya train/subway station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here primarily for the location, and we weren't disappointed. It's right in the middle of the huge shopping district of Shibuya, a few blocks from the main station. That meant that getting around Tokyo was easy, and we could always find food (or whatever else we needed) nearby. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Wired internet in the room, air conditioning, vending machines (with beer), refrigerator, nice staff. There's a restaurant on the first floor serving "euro" food; we didn't go in, and it looked kind of expensive. This was a great way to start our trip to Japan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights and it was very convenient that it was steps away from the station. This was great since we were towing heavy luggages around. The check in was fast and the staff helpful with our questions.

Aside from the weird stains in the hall, the room was quite clean. It was also great that they have the option of being "green". We weren't expecting a big room but the space was sufficient for two people - especially since we're out most of the day anyway.

A few minutes of walking, and we're in Shibuya crossing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnkrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

On the edge of Shibuya city center, it is nice to be in a little quieter area but still be able to go into the crazy Shibuya area within 5 minutes. Fairly big rooms for Tokyo and this hotel is definitely a good deal!

One of the bad things is that check in is a little late.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel

Property: Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Address: 1-24-10 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Shibuya Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tokyu Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing