We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food. Small portions ”

Chiles Mexican Grill, Harajuku
Ranked #50 of 9,629 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Description: Chiles uses traditional recepies taking care to ensure the authentic flavor of the Mexican cuisine. Tacos,Burritos,Quesadillas,Fajitas,Nachos,Beers,Tequilas just like in Mexico in the heart of Harajuku Tokyo.Enjoy it in our decorated Mexicanstyle restaurant or grab it for to go !See you at Chiles!!
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

If you are craving mexican its a nice place to visit. Near to Harajuku in a quiet location. Everything was super tasty but the price for the portion they bring is not reasonable at all. And better not to go when you are very hungry cause the service is very slow. We couldnt catch the waiter to order she kept saying” i have another people to take order”

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Loza_Loza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

We had a good lunch at this restaurant. The food is tasty. My wife paid our bill at the counter, it’s a small restaurant - 6 tables, and we immediately put our coats on to leave. Halfway out the door, perhaps 1 minute after she paid, the server shouts across the restaurant “YOU DIDN’T PAY!”
My wife returns to the counter with the receipt, it seems that he charged the wrong table, a small difference (perhaps $10 due), which she pays. All the time the entire restaurant staring at us, the server takes the difference doesn’t apologise for his mistake in the initial payment, nor for shouting at us, nothing.
What was a very tasty lunch ruined by awful behaviour by this guy. We’ve been before, will NEVER return.

とても美味しいタコスランチをいただきましたが、支払いを済ませて直ぐに外に出ようとしたら、支払いを担当したウェイターに、「払ってない!」とレストラン全体に響き渡る声で叫ばれました。直前に払ったと説明してまだ机に残っていたレシートを見せたら、どうやら同じウェイターがテーブルを間違えたようだったので、直ぐに差額の支払いをしました。自分が金額を間違えたことも、食べ逃げのように叫んだことに対しても、全く謝罪なく、食事が良かったと思っただけに本当にがっかりしました。2回目でしたが、酷く嫌な思いをしたので、もう行きません。

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank adamdogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiles1, Owner at Chiles Mexican Grill, Harajuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

We appreciate your review and we are glad to hear you find our food tasty,
Our apologies for the unusual way the server used to asked you to return to the cashier counter after he foundout his mistake of not charging you the extra food and cocktail you drunk, definitely we need to Improve the service of charging the proper bill at the time our customers approach the counter.
We hope you understand as well that $10 represents to the server one hour labor pay .
Thank you and we are looking forward in serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Cozy little place and friendly servers who spoke English very well and are friendly.

I ordered the dos tacos with carnitas, which came with a salad and a drink. I wasn’t a fan of the sauce on the tacos and without it, there’s not much flavor. The salad tasted much better than the tacos considering that I’m a carnivore. The coffee is decent.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank lamvdoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Loved every bit of our meal. We were tired of eating Japanese / Asian food for the past week and were looking for a good Mexican place in Tokyo . Read reviews about this place and decided to go here and boy! Were we surprised. Fantastic food , great choices , super service . Will be back for more. !

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank vikramJR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

Chiles is quite hidden close to Takeshita street but you can easily find here the best burrito in Tokyo. The best part is the price as well! Tiny place with limited spots but the kitchen is quite efficient so it is easy to find a place and enjoy their food. They have take out options too and you can pay with credit card (not very common in Japan so far).

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 106h_ctord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiles Mexican Grill, Harajuku also viewed

 

Been to Chiles Mexican Grill, Harajuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing