We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
30
158
81
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
158
81
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bathtub smallest room minute walk excellent location stayed here for one night rooms are clean hotel is situated elevator amenities station heart shopping jr eateries district tokyu exit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 310 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

I only booked 1 room in my old favourite the hotel excel shibuya Tokyu but needed 2 and this hotel saved me at the last minute. Rooms are very simple and mine was small but perfectly good for a short business trip and a great location right in the heart of shibuya

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank nigelbell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahshi-do, フロントスタッフ at APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thank you for your staying with us here APA Hotel <Shibuya-Dogenzaka-Ue>. As you mentioned, our hotel is located in the heart of Shibuya. Therefore, you can visit everywhere you want in Tokyo. We are happy that we could help your trip. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Uchida/Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

An expensive hotel with a very small rooms, just a couple of feet gap between the cot and wall. Location is good, pretty near to the Railway station & shopping places. No restaurant in the hotel but, many eateries in the neighbourhood places.

Room tip: Nothing to be mentioned
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat_Theenathayalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahshi-do, Receptionist at APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Thank you for staying with us here at APA Hotel Shibuya-Dogenzaka-Ue and your review.
As you mention, our room is little compact and if you have many pieces of luggage, you may feel cramped.
If you have a lot of luggage, we can keep it at the front desk, so please ask us any time.
If you traveling in Tokyo, our hotel is a great option for you to choose since we are located near the main station and many restaurants and bars are in the area. We have a lot of branches in Tokyo and many of them located near the main stations, so if you have chance to come back, please choose APA hotels again.
Thank you for your time and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Receptionist / Nakamura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the heart of Shibuya district. The amenities are basic, but Shibuya is a buzzing district with hundreds (literally) of restaurants on your doorstep catering for all your gastronomic tastes. This hotel is located close to Shibuya station, and also to other stations that service the Shibuya district.

Yes, the room and bathroom and small, but you will be hard pressed to find anything bigger for that price in that location. This is a hotel for those who want to use it as a base and really go out to see Tokyo! If you want to hang around in the hotel and hotel room and miss out on Tokyo, then this hotel is not for you. If you are of very large girth, then this hotel might not be for you either.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Soltari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahshi-do, フロントスタッフ at APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thank you for staying at APA Hotel <Shibuya Dogenzaka-Ue> and your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Our rooms are basically small, but it is convenient for customers because you can reach things easily without moving around in your room. As you mentioned, it might be little bit difficult to hang out in the hotel because we don't have any common rooms here. But there is a coffee shop on the second floor, so if you want to have quick meal or hang out, I recommend you to try it. You can also have a breakfast set there. I appreciate your suggestion for other travelers in Tokyo as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you next time at APA Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This hotel is located within walking distance to the famous Shibuya crossing and all the shopping areas of Shibuya. But it also offers the tiniest hotel rooms you can ever imagine. It can be classified as more of a capsule hotel than a normal hotel. The rooms are very tiny and have very limited space. If you are carrying, any luggage there is no space to keep it in the room at all. If you traveling with a family, this hotel is not for you. This hotel can be recommended to a single person with a backpack. We were forced to change the hotel next day as we were a family of three and the room was too small for us to even keep our two suitcases and had no space to even move. The bathroom was unbelievably small and has no space to even turn around. The staff at the hotel was very understanding and offered a refund for the rest of the days. Overall good customer service and good hotel location. Unfortunately, can only be recommended to a single person with just a backpack and is looking for a place to crash for one night.

Room tip: Rooms are very tiny. Not suitable for a family
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wscooby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expedition811066, Front Desk at APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Thank you for staying at APA Hotel <Shibuya-Dogenzaka-Ue> and your review.
As you mention, our hotel is located close to the busy crossing and the station, and surrounded by good restaurants and shopping malls.
We are sorry that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. Our room is not too spacious, and you may feel cramped especially if you have a lot of bags and suitcases.
We are glad that you liked our customer service and the location. There are not many hotels in the city of Shibuya, so it may have been difficult for you to search for another hotel. We are sorry for the inconvenience, and if you have an emergency need for a place to crash, please choose APA HOTEL. We always welcome you and ready to serve you again.

Nakamura / Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Wow these rooms shouldn't even be called rooms. They are cubbyholes. This hotel is definitely not for families as there is no room in them. It is literally the bed and about 3 ft of floor space on one side of it. No room for suitcase unless you have a carry on size or smaller. The double rooms have a double bed in them but again no space for 2 people.
There is only one chair the other person will have to sit on the bed or floor. There is also only one elevator so make sure you plan for waiting if you need to be somewhere during rush hours.

Beds are comfortable and staff also and rooms are clean but wouldn't come here agin unless I am only here for business and it is just myself.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank losako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アパホテル渋谷道玄坂上, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL <Shibuya Dougenzakaue> and your review.
We are sorry that we let you down and did not meet your expectations.
The rooms of APA HOTEL is built compactly so that everything is within arm's reach, and the room is equiped with original bed and a large-sized TV.
Downscaling our guest rooms made it possible to reduce the carbon emissions by one-third compared to typical urban hotels.
These features are the product of our thorough pursuit of guest satisfaction which respects privacy and seeks to provide top level satisfaction in our limited number of rooms.
Thank you for you time and comment for our improvement.
We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
Gunji / Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews