We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a pretty brand new hotel. The room are really small, and i mean really really small. I think its the smallest room that i've ever been too. The room are clean, the bathroom is very very tiny, i kept on hitting the sides of the wall in the bathroom. There is a vending machine and laundry on the 2nd floor. Overall i enjoyed my stay here and i think its good value for money. The location is about 10 minutes pleasant walk to Shibuya Station. With shops and restaurants along the way to the station. Convenient mini markets can be found next door too. The staffs are very friendly and helpful too. They helped me to forward our luggage to our next hotel in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kebenarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Since its new, off course everything was nice.
The room is tiny. Beyond small.
The cleaning was not 100%. The bathroom was dirty. ( had hair of previously customer), and smelled like cigaret a bit when it was supposed to b non smoking room.
Staff were nice.
Has laundry room on the second floor.
Breakfast buffet was quite nice.
It is in the center of Tokyo, but you have to walk up the hill for about 7-10 munits from the train station. But this walk is not so bad since you will b walking through the stores and restaurants.
Also it's like a few minutes away from the Mark city shopping center which contains airport bus stop.
I would stay again, for sure if they clean up the room a bit more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife (58 years old) and I (60 years) stayed two nights at this APA. It is very trendy and upbeat establishment that seems to attract younger and fashionable Japanese. This makes sense to us since the Shibuya area is a huge market/shopping meca in the Tokyo area. We liked this hotel because of the close location the Shibuya train, bus and subway stations (15 minute walk).

The rooms are very small with a double bed. We stayed in room #1405 on the top floor of the hotel. There was a small window with a nice view in our room which over looked north towards Shinjuku. The windows have an efficient room darking shade. This would be helpful in keeping daylight entering the room to help over come jet lag. The bathroom is very small for a 6' 2" tall man. Although, I had a tight fit in the shower tub, I actually enjoyed taking a hot soaking bath. We could not use our luggage rack in front of the bathroom door as the space was too narrow for the door to open.

The room had a very large TV screen mounted to the wall at the foot of the double bed, a small desk and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel provides Yukata robes for your convenience. There is no room at the end of the bed and the wall in which to store items. Once you leave the elevator the walk ways are exposed the outside, which I thought was a cool design feature of this building. Hey, less space to heat or cool.

The room was very clean and we appreciated the staff who were extremely helpful in answering questions and finding locations on maps for us to visit.

There are also food items for sale in the lobby and a restuarant on the 1st and 2nd floors. This hotel is located near lots of restaurants and eateries. We enjoyed eating near the big scramble (road intersection at the train station) watching people.

We enjoyed are stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: request a room on north upper floors as the views out the window are amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pros:
Located about 10 mins walk from JR station, Shibuya.
Near major shopping belt in Shibuya.
Clean & new room.
Secured lift controlled by room card key.
Bath tub with shower.
Bed is soft & comfortable.

Cons:
Single room (11 sq m) is really small, enough to put 1 large luggage only.
Expensive at average SGD 170 per room per night.
Staff speak little English.
Breakfast buffet spread at Yen 1000 per person is not sumptuous.
Room is not sound proof, disturbed by cleaning persons & hotel guests walking past the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel just a few days after it was opened in mid-November. We stayed in a double room, which was the second cheapest option. Be prepared - the room is very tiny but everything inside is quite well organized and actually you feel pretty comfortable. We travelled with two big suitcases and two small back-packs and managed to fit in.

The bed is very comfortable and there is a big TV. Of course, immaculately clean. Staff don't speak much English but compensate with their great helpness. Most of the check in is done on a vending machine ;-)

Location is perfect - around 5-6 min walking from the famous Shibuya scramble crossroad and the Shibuya metro station. The area is lively all night long, very safe and with plenty of dining options.

I give it 4 just because the room is very small. Otherwise it ticks all other boxes. And it's value for money for Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panican_Whyasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariel_11190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank CarolrolCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 30 in Shibuya
728 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 30 in Shibuya
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 30 in Shibuya
631 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#11 of 30 in Shibuya
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue

Address: 20-1 Maruyamacho, Shibuya 150-0044, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range: $94 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing