We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely rooms, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely rooms, great hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The rooms were new, warm, bright and comfortable. The television had CNN on it (better than nothing, albeit only slightly). The free (wired) internet was fairly quick and very useful. The bathroom was bright and well equipped; the bed was soft and comfy.

The hotel's bar, while smoky, was quite a pleasant place to while away an hour or so.

The location is interesting: it's a short walk away from the main Shinjuku station, but literally round the corner from an entrance to one of the underground system train stations. When leaving the main station, you're best following signs to the 'Southern Terrace', which'll take you to a newly completed area with a few stores on it. Take the stairs opposite the Starbucks and Krispy Kreme Doughnuts stores, and you'll find yourself walking down to the street level, and the hotel directly opposite you.

I was in a room booked as a single (the bed was big enough for a double, so I'm assuming it was in reality a double room). Just a warning to the prudish; the bathroom has a big window with no curtains/blinds - if you're staying with a friend, then a) what are you doing sharing a bed anyway, and b) look away if they're using the bathroom.

The Sunroute is a bright, modern hotel and hugely comfortable. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    2,240
    386
    64
    32
See reviews for
936
1,926
564
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We are very happy that the qaulity of this hotel is high, even though they didn't charge high price like other Shinjuku & Shibuya hotels. The mgt is well aware of travellers' real needs, but provide in a low cost way without compromising the standard. Eg. There is no room service, but when we asked for more pillows and hangers, they nicely told us to go to the reception to collect it, and even asked us what type of pillow (hard/soft) we prefer. If the hangers (wooden not plastic) run out, they will take note of your request, and deliver the hangers once others return them. Also, there is no extra security staff standing around in the hotel lobby, but you must use your key in the lift in order to reach your flr. This may not be acceptable for biz travellers who demand 5 star service, but it is really fine with cost concious tourist like us.

The room is like what many others reviewed, which I won't repeat here. We love the bed, the neat and effective layout. I just want to share that they literally took our 'high flr room' request and gave us a high flr room. No view. We were facing another tall office building, can't even see the city from any side. We should have asked for high flr 'good view' room.

Yes, Location is fantastic in Shinjuku, compare to other Shinjuku hotels. But I don't understand why is this hotel listed under Shibuya in TripAdvisor, while it is clearly in Shinjuku. Comparatively, I still like to stay in Shibuya (eg. Tokyu Inn - similar class, centralized in Shibuya & better train station location). Shibuya has the young, trendy, hip, 24x7 japanese atmosphere, and casual shopping in 109, OIOI, major dept stores, along the street, etc. Shinjuku shopping is great too, with major dept stores and upscale boutiques with many Japanese deisgner labels, more expensive. Both locations have plenty of major electronic & camera stores, plenty of good eateries, restuarants and entertainment facilities. Both train stations are major hub with train rides to different parts of Japan, and they are separated by 3 stations. Hope this helps you to choose wisely depending on what you want to do in Tokyo.

As we landed on Sat morning, there is no direct Airport Limo to reach the hotel doorstep. We have a choice of taking the Narita Exp to Shinjuku Station, or use the Airport Limo to central Shinjuku bus station. We decided on Narita Exp. When you reach South Exit at JR Shinjuku Station, facing the main road, either cross the road right in front of the South Exit or stay on the same side, turn right and walk towards the traffic junction, and turn left when you are at the traffic junction. You will see the hotel sign in opposite lane. With luggage, we took about 5-8min to reach the hotel. Every morning, we saw people dragging their luggage walking towards the hotel.

We got late checkout once we joined the Sunroute membership (free) during checkin. Luckily, the schedule matched and we took the direct Airport Limo from hotel doorstep. It was a wonderful 6 days Tokyo trip, thanks to the quiet good nite sleep, every nite in Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoppyJn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel during our second stay in Tokyo at the end of our two week holiday in Japan.

The hotel itself was good enough for what we paid. It was clean, secure and the staff were nice. The best part about it was its location! Only two blocks from major shopping centres, shopping arcades and train stations, and right amongst a number of restaurants and eateries, ensured that we were at the centre of all of the action in Shinjuku.

It proved to be a great base for exploring the coolest parts of Tokyo including Shinjuku and Shibuya.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

You know the rooms are going to be small; this is Tokyo. But the rooms in this hotel are so well equipped, it really doesn't matter. Everything has a place and as long as you and your partner can dance around each other it's really not a bother.

We wanted a hotel close to station as we this was a quickie stopover from Brisbane to Europe. Next time we'll probably stay in Narita for a change.

The lobby is impressive. The counter staff helpful and efficient. The breakfast is largely European / Western but is a good filler to start the day.

The room is tiny -- best for ONE person, but we had an economy room and weren't going to do anything there 'cept sleep. So it was more than adequate for our purposes.

Wonderful toiletries = toothbrush and paste, hair brushes, cotton buds, bath sponges. Also shower toiletries not individual but in large bottles. Slippers and night shirts provided. So if you arrive without luggage. you'll be fine.

Bus right to hotel door leaves from outside terminal. Takes TWO hours though...almost wished we'd taken the Narita Express but I hate struggling with luggage through Shinjuku station. Cost of bus same as train. And operates with Japanese efficiency. We landed at 5:10 and at 5:45 the bus was moving off. So through customs, bought ticket and on a bus in about half an hour!!

Oh and free internet in rooms--that's about AUD20 per day saving!

For under AUD150 per night, it's a steal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank entjohns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Just wanted to confirm what a lot of other reviewers have said, the hotel is excellent and the size wasn't even an issue. We had a double economy room and 2 large suitcases and managed easily.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed in four hotels in total in Tokyo, and this one is the only one I was disappointed with.

Firstly the plus points - it's centrally located in Shinjuku, about five minutes walk from the station. More precisely from the south exit of the JR station. It was also inexpensive - about JPY 24000 total for two nights (including a Saturday) in a double room through Expedia UK. The hotel also has a complimentary business centre with PCs connected to the internet. Also, unlike a few of the other hotels we stayed in, the window in this room actually opened.

Now the view out of said window was onto the adjacent office building, directly facing floor upon floor of men's toilets. Complete with a full view of row upon row of urinals.

The room we were alloted was small (about 16 square metres including en-suite bathroom), but no smaller than many other Tokyo hotels. However it was long and narrow (maybe 3m wide?), which made the room feel very cramped. The wallpaper along one wall of the room was full of scratches at suitcase height and the carpet hadn't been hoovered before we arrived.

After the first night, we put up the eco-cleaning sign, but in this hotel this not only means no change of towel and sheets, but also no tidying up at all! So the teacups remained unwashed, the bedsheets unmade and exactly as we left them, and nothing disturbed in the bathroom. And of course no vacuum cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in a twin share room (even though travelling with husband) as I had read in previous reviews you get a bit more room - this was a smart thing to do, we looked in on a double/queen room and they were tiny compared to the twin rooms.
Staff are helpful although they dont tend to speak a lot of english and sometimes the language barrier got in the way. Very close to all the action although it took a bit to find the hotel and we wandered around for quite a while (it was dark) before we were successful. Happy Alley is very close to there and amazing electrical/camera stores and cheap. There is a fantastic sushi place opposite one of the camera shops and was so much fun to watch them make the sushi in front of you. Tokyu Hands store is also great and the Times Square is a nice place to take time out and rest your weary legs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchiedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,925 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing