We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & value-for-money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed there for a week, overall an enjoyable experience. Took airport bus to and fro hotel, there was not a need to lug the luggages as it stops at the hotel. The front desk reception was also very helpful, lending us umbrellas and providing tips on how to go to certain places. The room itself was a good size and kept clean daily. The wifi signal in room and lobby was strong.

The hotel is also near the train station, within 5-10 mins stroll to the JR lines and there is an entrance to other lines next to the hotel. Takashimaya and Isetan are also within 10 mins walking distance. Many food options around the shinjuku station and very affordable too as compared to the mall restaurants.

Figuring out which train lines to take is not a problem as the train staff are very helpful, just approach any staff and they will glad u direct u accordingly.

If there is anything not so positive, I find the pillow too soft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント一般職 at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your staying with us.
We are very honored by your compliments.

We are looking forwards to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 5,028 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff speak fluent English, and very helpful. Room is clean and super quiet. Japanese and western breakfast suits different tastes. Great location, a few minutes walk to shinjuku station and department stores, lots of restaurant and convenient store close by. An big outdoor shop just next door, which is a nice surprise to me;) overall recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント一般職 at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We appreciate for your recommendation.

We will keep doing our best to provide good service.

We are looking forwards to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Yes, the room is quite small, but you're not going to be spending lots of time here as Tokyo awaits outside and this hotel is in THE BEST location. Literally two minutes from the Southern Terrance exit of Shinjuku station, with lots of bars and restaurants and coffee shops all within five minutes walk, as well as many convenience stores and an ATM. PERFECT location. You can walk to Meiji Shrine in 15 minutes as well!

We spent five days here and would recommend it fully. The staff were helpful and let us have extra pillows. The room was comfortable and had a great shower. Walls slightly scuffed from suitcases but nothing major and it wouldn't concern me. We even had a 6.2 earthquake whilst we were sleeping on the 11th floor and the building was fine! It was very quiet at night as well.

We didn't have breakfast but it smelt yummy every morning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela-Loretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying our hotel and we appreciate your comment.
It looks like you enjoyed staying our hotel which we are really happy about it.
We apologize that you found the scuff of the wall. Just the information that our hotel
will be under repair work in this year, so the hotel will be different next time you stay. The repair work will be finished on the 31st of October. you can find some of the information from our website or facebook.
Yours sincerely.

Front desk YUTARO TAKEUCHI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here in March 2013 for 5 nights. The room is not very big, but you expect it from most hotels in Tokyo. It's basic but comfortable and good for the price. You might have a few problems if you have alot of luggage.

Staff is speaks english and the service is great. Though, I would avoid the hotel restaurant, the service wasn't that fantastic and the meals was bit overpriced for what it was. My partner and I ordered a lasagne and pasta, and the lasagne not only took AGES to come out (I had finished eating my meal well before the lasagne came out), it wasn't exactly considerable in size. Sufficed to say we ended up going back out into the city and getting another meal for the hubby.

The hotel location is indeed fantastic. Easy 5 min walk to JR Shinjuku station, 10 min walk or less to Shinjuku Electric Town and shopping centres Lumine or Keio Plaza.

We didn't have any problems with the room, I would stay here again. Though beware the extra cost after your stay something about rent fee per day(I can't remember anymore) which wasn't outlined when we booked the room.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scheris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying our hotel and we appreciated your comment.
We really happy that we were able to give you satisfaction of your stay.
Problem of the restaurants, we sure pass your comment to the restaurant to make it better place.
We apologize that you did not enjoy our food and took a lot of time to serve it.
We hope that you come back to our hotel and see the difference from your last stay.
Yours sincerely.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

As everyone has mentioned one of the best things about Hotel Sunroute is that it is very closely located to Shinjuku JR Station. It's about a 5 minute walk from the South Exit (South Exit is also handy if you want to activate your JR pass). There's plenty of stuff to do within a 10 minute walk from the hotel- there are quite a few major department stores (with great depachika, the food basements, especially at Takashimaya), restaurants and other entertainments incl the Tokyo Government buildings. A Family Mart (24 hour convenience store) is about 200m from the hotel.

The front desk staff were very helpful and able to supply a map to point out unusual locations. Wifi was reliable. A small coin-operated laundry is present in the carpark.

I stayed in a single bright room- "bright" means there is a window in the bathroom that overlooks the bed and outside window. The room was typically Tokyo small; my hard suitcase ended up on the floor as it did not fit the folding luggage rack. I was surprised that the carpet looked dirty (it could do with a steam clean) but everything else was immaculate. I note on the hotel website that there are to be renovations from July. Everything was comfortable and quiet- I did not hear my neighbours or the road traffic for my 3 day stay.

With the great price and location of this hotel, I would stay at Hotel Sunroute again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.

To give you full satisfaction of your stay, our hotel staff have been trying to improve and enhance our service everyday.
Also, as you already know,our hotel will be renovated from this July, so Next time you stay our hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your patronage.

Front desk Rie Tamaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for ten nights and had no major complaints at all. The only negative I had was at time the WIFI was annoyingly slow and sometimes would not work at all. The hotel is a tad dated but is well maintained and comfortable, plus rather large compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Japan. the staff were always lovely and very accommodating, they made us several bookings to restaurants (at our request) and took care of the process eliminating any language barriers.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely! We plan to return to Japan in 2015 and will definitely stay at this hotel again. The location and service is excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevengreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Hotel Sunroute Plazashinjuku.

We appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.

Please do come and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent service , fluent English speaking staff who are friendly and helpful. Comfortable and clean - room is good sized and well efficiently furnished/laid out. Location is fantastic - great convenience with subway and JR lines nearby, a short walk to major shopping malls and there are nice eateries ad 24 hours minimarts right at doorstep. Nice selection at breakfast. Nothing negative to mention at all. Thumbs up to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liddy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for coming to review our hotel for yourself.

I do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.
Many thanks once again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,031 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,469 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $134 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Agoda, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing