We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great restaurant, ideal for business or leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location, great restaurant, ideal for business or leisure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Plus Points:
- location is merely a few hundred metres from the bustling Shinjuku station that you use to travel to all key areas of the city via all forms of transport (taxi, bus, metro, JR, etc)
- excellent and wholly affordable restaurant (decent set menus for lunch / dinner plus breakfast)
- laundry self-service facilities
- concierge staff are extremely helpful, answered all my many tourist questions with perfect suggestions and solutions. Good level of English for international clients
Areas for Improvement:
- lack of storage areas for storing luggage and clothes - there was only a small area for hanging jackets. Integrated closet or chest of drawers would solve this (but space is at a premium)
Room tip: non-road facing would most likely be preferable to avoid traffic noise.

Overall Take-away:
- good hotel for either business trip or personal leisure trip. We stayed in an economy room which was really rather comfortable. Hotel is more no frills at a good price (rather than luxury) but is comfortable and comes out at very good value.
- I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatthewScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We are very pleased that you sent your comment here
also thank you to praise about our hotel.
We always do our best providing good service and comfortable stay to the guests.
If you come to Tokyo again, we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    2,164
    373
    63
    29
See reviews for
893
1,852
552
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few time. Now there is wifi all over the hotel(70% reliable). I can see that room are a little bit old with some spot on the carpet.

But the front service was very good. I had to stay here one more night and changed airline ticket.
The male front(Takayuki Endo)) took care everything (room change and airline ticket change) while I had to go out for business. He kindly Line me and asked me to call ANA for credit card payment. He worked at this hotel the last day( actually the last few hours)....but took care everything professionally!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for staying with our hotel.
We really appreciated to gave us a good comment for the staff.
We always do our best for the guests to stay here comfortable and relax.
If you have a time to come to Tokyo, please visit us again.
We are looking to forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times during a number of visits to Tokyo/Shinjuku and have never considered staying anywhere else in the area.

Only a couple minutes walk from the Southern Terrace exit of JR Shinjuku station, the location is tough to beat. Not only that, there are plenty of dining and shopping options a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel itself is exceptionally well staffed. The rooms I've stayed in (both singles and doubles) are small but clean and well equipped. More importantly (to me, at least) they are quiet.

The breakfast option (a mixed western/japanese style buffet) is worth it. The food is better than most hotel "buffet option" breakfasts I've had, and the restaurant / eating area is large enough to seat a number of guests.

It is only a few days until I will next be in Shinjuku, and I've already booked my room :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank for you for staying Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjyuku.
We are very pleased to give your comment about our Hotel.
We also thank you to praise our hotel and make the booking again.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.
Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently in the Shinjuku area. It's very close to both the metro and JR Line stations, both less than 200 meters from the hotel. Just opposite the hotel there is a bridge which conveniently links to the takashimaya Times Square and tokyu hands. Oh and there's a money changer nearby with really good rates as well. It's called the 大黑屋. The hotel staff will know of it.

The hotel is neat and clean. The rooms are a bit small but that's expected of most tokyo hotels anyway. Cleanliness is very well kept as well.

Would I return to stay? Most definitely.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthertbc0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you for staying with our hotel.

We really appriciated your comment.

If you have a chance to come to Japan,

please stay with us again.

We will do the best next time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

pros:
good location (cant emphasize enough) , friendly staff, english speaking, clean. toilet is clean.
direct bus from airport (great if there is not jam)
close to THE trian station (shinjuku)
close to tokyo night life (not talking about clubs), close to 24hr convenience stores, close to night time eateries, izakayas, close to major malls
comes will almost all the amenities i needed on this 10 day trip.
came for my honeymoon and they couldn't upgrade us but provided a nice sparking bottle of white wine

cons:
rooms are small (economy double - the bed is against the wall) and abit old (stains on carpet), no coffee in the room. reusable room slippers (if u are particular about hygiene)
must book early (2 months) if not no rooms

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you for staying with us.
It is an honor to receive praise from you.

We are grateful to you for introduce detail of our hotel.

We always do our best for the guests to stay here.

And, during you staying, our hotel is full booked, so we couldn't upade.
We are really sorry about that.

We are looking forwards to seeing you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Could not be more conveniently located, near the south exit of Shinjuku Station and endless options for dining, shopping, and getting around. Always clean, with efficient, polite, helpful staff. This was my second time there, and won't be my last.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HI_Tim55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guests,
I sincerely thank you for your honest review.

Thank you for staying at HOTEL SUNROUTE PLAZASHINJUKU as we know you have many choices when traveling to Tokyo.

We will be happy to host your next visit into TOKYO.
We look forward to having you come back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was the second time I've stayed at Hotel Sunroute Plaza and again it was perfect.

The staff were attentive and prompt, the lobby and rooms clean and organised and the room itself perfect for what we needed.

The location is perfect, a stones throw from Shinjuku and Yoyogi stations and close to all Shinjuku has to offer.
The rooms are spacious, plenty of room for two people with luggage, the room itself has everything you need, there's a fair chance you won't be there much anyway so it doesn't need much else.

Be sure to ask about discounts to attractions, particularly robot restaurant. The staff are more than happy to help out and organise reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank for you for staying Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjyuku.
We are very pleased to read your comment about our Hotel.
You stayed here confortable and enjoyed our stay!
We always do our best to stay here comfortable for the guests.
If you have an another chance to come to Tokyo, Please use us again.
We are looking forward to seeing you, here in Tokyo.

sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing