We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Close to Shinjuku station and Shinjuku Gyoen national park. We stayed here on our last night in Japan. We were able to spend the day in the park and reach the train to the airport all at hand. Rooms not bad size for Japan and service good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We are so glad that you wrote your comment for our hotel.
You stayed here comfortable and were satisfied at our hotel
If you come to Tokyo again , we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,991
    2,235
    385
    64
    32
See reviews for
932
1,924
564
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Other than the convenient location, this hotel isn't really anything special. Having stayed in 5 Japanese hotels, which included 3 in Tokyo, our "Standard Double Room" was not only the smallest, but also provided the worst WiFi connection and uncomfortable pillows at the highest price.

If you don't mind paying a little extra for the location, go for it. Otherwise, I'd suggest having a look elsewhere to see if you can find better value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for staying Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjyuku.
We are very pleased tohear from you.
We always do our best for our guests to stay here comfortable.
If you have an another chance to come to Tokyo, Please use us again.
We are looking forward to seeing you, here in Tokyo.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice. the first time was in 2009. In 2009, this hotel did not provide wifi but there was internet. This time when we were there, they provided wifi. It is an improvement. In general this hotel is worth staying if you are in a budget. Location is very good. It is only about a block and a half away from the south exit of Shinjuku Station. Passing the terrace across from the hotel, there are Tokyo Hands and Takashimaya. There are lots of eateries around. Another good thing about this hotel is it is one of the stops if you travel by airport limousine from Narita or Haneda Airport. I found it is a plus if you are using the airport limousine service. The reception staff can speak good English and friendly. However I noticed that probably the hotel was not renovated since 2009. Also I have to mention that the room is extremely small if you choose a standard double room. You get what you pay. I highly recommend this hotel if you are in a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We are glad to write your comment for our hotel.
Lately we connected WIFI for the guests to use internet and so on.
If you would visit to Tokyo again, please come to our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Knowing the price of every square inch in Tokyo, this hotel offers a great balance between comfort and luxury. Great location near sinjuku station and close to nearly everything for a night in this busy city. Everything is clean, staff is very friendly so overall good advise, no nasty surprises for me. Worth trying.

Room Tip: Understand the price of building space of this country and do expect to just find what you need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitpierre227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank for you for staying Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjyuku.
We are very pleased to give your comment .
We always do our best for our guests to stay here comfortable.
If you have an another chance to come to Tokyo, Please use us again.
We are looking forward to seeing you, here in Tokyo.
Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked a standard non-smoking room and was given a room on the 14th floor with a double bed. Although the windows were opaqie (light comes through but I can't see outside), it was comfortable and perfect for one person. The bathroom size is good (I've stayed in hotels in Tokyo with smaller bathroomws) and I also used a Mac AirPort Express to connect to the LAN which improved WI-FI connectivity in the room.

I opted not to have breakfast as I wanted to sleep in (breakfast finishes at 9.30am which is a bit early for me when I'm on holidays). The only downside to being in Shinjuku is that there are no supermarkets close by, so the only options are convenience stores or the food section in the basement of the various department stores closeby. Having said this, there are plenty of restaurant and cafe options in Shinjuku, with some open 24 hours a day.

The location of the hotel is excellent. I took the Airport Limousine bus from Nariat Airport (picks up and drops off infront of the hotel), but you could also take the train if you don't mind walking from Shinjuku Station (5-10 minute walk to the hotel and the South exit is the closest). It's very convenient for day trips and I was there during the snow blizzard which gave me lots of transport options including the subway and bus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
Also we are very glad that you wrote your comment.
We always do our best to stay here comfortable for our guests.
If you come to Tokyo again, we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room was what you'd expect for Tokyo. Small, cramped, two single beds pushed together. What took this rating from an 'average' to a 'very good' for me was the service. All the employees were EXTREMELY helpful. Any question I'd ask, they'd find out and if they didn't know the answer, they'd do their best to find out. The breakfast buffet was was good. Good western and Japanese options. Hotel is in a very good area, short walk from the train station and close to the main area of Shinjuku.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We are so glad that you wrote your comment for our hotel.
You stayed here comfortable and were satisfied our breakfast.
If you come to Tokyo again , we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very short walk from Southern Terrace exit of JR Shinjuku station. Reception was helpful and friendly. You can send bags to your next destination in Japan from the hotel. Standard small room. Everything you need in the room. We got a good deal since we stayed for one week. Overall very happy with this hotel ^^

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thanyalak W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
And we also thank you for your comment.
We are very glad to read it.
If you would visit to Tokyo in the future,
we are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,922 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sunroute Co., Ltd., Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing