We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Shinjuku Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Sunroute Plaza in Shinjuku is in a great location very close to the Southern Terrace entrance to Shinjuku station, which makes getting to and from the Narita Express train a breeze. There are plenty of shopping and dining options within easy walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast the hotel serves is good and the hotel staff are very helpful. The rooms are quite small by western standards, but reasonable for a Japanese business hotel. If you like to unpack your clothes, like I do, you may find the lack of much in the way of storage space to be annoying. The rooms are clean and relatively quiet, and the bedding is decent. The English television options are very limited.

When reserving, choose the "bright room" option. Those rooms have a window between the bathroom and the main room which make the room feel larger. Also I believe they are better located for allowing in natural light.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IggyZuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,448 - 2,454 of 4,990 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great Location, easy access to Shinjuku JR and 2 of the Metro Station (one of the entrance is literally beside the hotel.) Post office just across the hotel (ATM available or if post service required etc) Not to mention hotel within walking distance to Shinjuku west for food etc.

Helpful staffs, easy communications (most of the staffs speak fluent english, at least during my stay). Will return back to this hotel again for sure. We were in a standard Twin room, the size is very decent even for two of us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a very good value located right in Shinjuku, not far from the South exit of Shinjuku train station, and on the street behind the Southern terrace. I paid about $150 per night for a very nice clean comfortable room, and for this area, I think that this a very good value. Breakfast is decent, and it a lot better than other more expensive places in the area. Service is good, and WIFI is solid throughout the hotel. I wish they had more international TV channels, but other than that, I thought it was very good.

Room Tip: Get the room rate that includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_M_D8663XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is my third time staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku. The concierge has been very helpful with questions and directions during our stay. We stayed in a double room with queen size bed. The room is relatively small which is standard in Japan. The hotel room is a bit dated comparing to my first stay there about 5 years ago. This is still a good quality and value hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My first time ever visiting Tokyo so I wanted to find somewhere that was easy to find, well priced and a room with a bit of comfort. Sunroute plaza ticked all the boxes! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a short stay. Very easy to find! Take the South exit from Shinjunku station, turn right and on the same road as KFC / McDonalds turn left and it's a less than 2 minute walk.
Check in was easy, my room wasn't ready when I arrived (10am) but I left my bag off and went sightseeing. Staff were very helpful. I was on the 4th floor, I expected sleepless nights but I never once heard traffic outside or other guests. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was good. Bathroom supplies are provided such as shampoo, body soap, toothbrush, toothpaste etc which was good.
One of the first hotels that I've stayed in a long time that didn't have a safe in the room which might be off putting to some but I found everyone within the hotel trustworthy.
Travelling from the UK, 1 thing I would recommend is don't rely on those world travel adaptors that basically say you can use anywhere in the world. They don't fit the plugs properly here, the device is too big and I found myself having to prop a bag under the plug so it wouldn't fall out.
WIFI was extremely handy, although it did time out occasionally. I think that might've been because I was trying to use my phone and laptop.
Reading the policy about extra guests, I thought it was a big no no but 1 of my friends was able to stay a few nights which was handy. All I had to do was let the reception know in advance. Extra person charge is 4200 Yen.
If you're booking any trips through websites like viator, they won't lift you from this hotel but there are a few very nearby!

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple I would recommend paying extra for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelifeofdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Easy to get to from the airport thanks to the NEX direct train from Narita to Shinjuku Station. Actually, the station (one of Tokyo's largest stations) and location is what makes this hotel the perfect place to stay. You can get anywhere around the city very easily via trains or metro. Also, Shinjuku has everything you need in the neighbourhood, great shopping malls and restaurants etc. The Sunroute Plaza rooms are small, but have everything you could need. I guess in a city like Tokyo, most hotel rooms are going to be on the small size. One point about the room may be tricky if you are not expecting it - the bathroom has a large clear glass window directly behind the bed and also a door with clear glass in it - absolutely no privacy! Wasn't an issue for me travelling alone, but may be for others. The hotel has a nice lobby area and bar / restaurant. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choices. Was surprised how reasonably-priced the restaurant was for lunch and drinks - excellent considering this central-city location.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor (this is a 14 storey hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

When we got to the hotel, it was late, and it took a bit of finding, but that was our fault for not really working out how to walk there from the station!
The atrium was really impressive and I was looking forward to a good sized room --- boy was I in for a shock! The room was tiny ... yes tiny. It was so small, I reminded me of my university room - yes that small! Having said that, the Japanese have a knack of managing to fit pretty much everything you need into such a small space. The only real thing I noticed was that there was sign of some real wear and tear in the room --- with some of the fittings looking quite worn out.
Nevertheless, the real reason we chose this hotel was because of the location. It is a short walk to Shinjuku station and that can pretty much take you anywhere you need within Tokyo as well as to the airport and beyond into the rest of Japan.
The great location outweighs the room issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gl0beTrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $123 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing