We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value cost/performance wise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good value cost/performance wise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Other than the Century Southern tower which was unfortunately fully booked very early on - this hotel is "the other" nearest hotel to the Sinjuku station and to be precise - it is stated to be a 3 minute walk, but in reality, if you're not infirmed or on a wheelchair - it is only about a minute from the Southern entrance of the JR Shinjuku station.

Rooms are typical Tokyo sizing - small, but we paid extra for a double bed in a slightly bigger room. Unfortunately only the smoking rooms were left (We're non smokers) but didn't notice second hand smoke on checking in. The JR Tokyo General Hospital is right in front of the hotel and other than the occasional blare of ambulances, it is a relatively quiet hotel. Bedding is of the hard type that most East Asians are used to. Pillows are of the usual types standard to international hotels.

Getting around from this hotel is a joy, as the entrance to the Tokyo Subway station is just to the right of the hotel entrance on exiting) and there are cafes and eateries nearby for breakfast - especially handy is a Segafredo if you want decent espresso and operator made milk foam ! which are unfortunately rare beasts in Japan.

Staff speak very good English and if you've signed up to their Hotel club, you are eligible for a 1300 check-out time. Wifi is free but slow for some reason, even slower than their Higashi Shinjuku hotel. The airconditioning has a minimum of 19C which is adequate for the recent start to the really hot Autumn.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: Everything in this hotel has a price, including bigger room sizes to twin beds. Made sure you make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    2,118
    366
    60
    29
See reviews for
874
1,811
541
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very near Shinjuku station, and shops nearby. Room is small but cozy, good for just going back to sleep. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, and speak good English! Coin-operated laundry at basement

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiyuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in a standard twin on the 14th floor (iirc 1452). We got wifi in our room which we weren't expecting. VERY slow at times so we mainly relied on the 4G modem we rented. Aircon worked beautifully which was a relief in the hot September days/nights. We had enough room for us and 4 large suitcases and 2 carry-on suitcases, and there was even space for a sofa in the corner. Windows opened partially which was a nice change. Hotel is located close to the JR Station but a fair walk to the main entertainment/restaurant areas. There's a Family Mart we visited at least daily. In my opinion they have better, cheaper food then the department stores! Fridges in the room are quite small though. There was a vending machine room with a free ice machine on our floor.

Here are some tips from a recent guest. There is laundry machines and dryers on the basement/car park floor (300yen per cycle and per 30min dryer iirc). To access the basement you have to use the far left lifts only and press the disabled access down button. There is also a microwave in this room for guest use (there are no microwaves in guest rooms, or on my floor. Might be different for other/luxury rooms). If you would like an iron you have to ask for it from reception. The first night they didn't say anything so we kept it overnight and housekeeping returned it for us. The next time they said we have to return it in the morning, which we did. The last time we asked for the iron they said we could only have it for 1hour! So be aware of this, they don't like people hogging the iron :) The limo bus to the airport will only checkin 2 bags per person. We had to mail a parcel/box home because of this limit. If we had known beforehand we could have used takuhaibin service and had some luggage delivered to the airport the day before. The rubbish bins in our room were TINY. Half the size of a 'standard' desk bin. 1 bin is for rubbish and 1 for recycling. We were constantly filling both bins and we put another bag of rubbish next them. We found out the next day they will only take away rubbish that is IN the bin, not next to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Masunori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Located only a 5 minute walk from Shinjuku Station, this hotel is magnificently located. It is an easy walk to the metropolitan government building which has a great observation deck with 360 degree views of Tokyo and English speaking guides to point out various Tokyo landmarks. We stayed in a couple of twin rooms, which were plenty spacious. The hotel is clean, and staff are professional, without being overly warm. The hot buffet breakfast was a bonus, a mix of local and western cuisine, so something for everyone. I would recommend the Sunroute Plaza for anyone staying in Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerroGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is reasonably priced, in a good location with clean rooms and decent amenities. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a small by North American standards, but we were expecting that so didn't mind. We also travel light, so the lack of space wasn't an issue for us. Overall a good choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my second stay in Tokyo.
First off, the location is great. 5 minutes walk from Shinjuku station.
There's a convenience store across the road and a bank with ATMs that accept VISA, Mastercard etc. next door.
The room size was fine. No complaints. It is Tokyo and small rooms are normal.
We stayed in a non-smoking standard room.
I didn't feel claustrophobic. The bathroom was a decent size and the bed was comfortable which was wonderful after sleeping in horrible beds for the past month.
The staff were very friendly and spoke English well!
The cleaning staff did a great job. Our room was spotless.
Despite being in such a crazy busy town, the hotel was very quiet. No outside disturbances.
I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephiFord88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Price very reasonable and with a good location. It took about 5~10 minutes walk from the south exit of Shinjuku JR station. The hotel is not located at a very quiet street and we felt safe when walked back at night. A convenient store just at the opposite side of the street and we could buy snack and drink for the night. The hotel itself has vending machine at each floor and ice is provided for free. Room was clean and well maintained. Services of the receiptionists are good and they are all very polite. Will stay there when visit Tokyo next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallace188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Sunroute Co., Ltd. and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing