We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price,rooms are quite small...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great price,rooms are quite small...”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for two weeks and found the rooms a little bit small but definitely clean.
It is a bit of a walk to Shinjuku station but still convenient for traveling around Tokyo. Staff were friendly enough but the room cleaning is quite prompt so you cant really sleep in without non stop calls on the phone asking you what time you can vacate to clean. Makes the DND sign a little bit irrelevant. Had a coin laundry in the basement which is handy but can be busy at night. Overall not a bad experience for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,991
    2,235
    385
    64
    32
See reviews for
932
1,924
564
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has a superb location. So easy to get to Shinjuku station(make sure you use the southern exit). Also highly recommend having breakfast at nearby Krispy Kreme donuts- only 1 minute walk away. Beds comfortable, and rooms clean. Terrible views of building sites. Atmosphere is very dull. The hotel spa was actually very good and reasonably priced. If you are looking for a clean place to stay in a great location, at a reasonable price then this might be the best place for you- I stayed previously at the Century Southern Tower- just around the corner and much prefered that although the price is higher...they are just totally different types of hotel.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible. Rooms with two beds have most floor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A couple of bad points for this hotel.

1) We were first greeted with a receptionist (C.Kojima) who showed us a black face throughout our whole checking in process. It was as if she wasn't happy with having to speak to us in English. If you're not happy with having to speak english, then you probably shouldn't be working in a hotel. This set the whole tone for our stay in the hotel. It was as if we owed her a living.

2) Our room's toilet stank of pee the moment we stepped in. Most likely the previous occupant pee-ed in the bathtub and the cleaner didn't clean the washroom properly. We didn't want to face the receptionist and so we just lived with it.

3) Breakfast food was bad and extremely crowded. I skipped breakfast for half of my stay there even though I paid extra for it. I advise people to skip the breakfast option prior to booking.

The only good point in this hotel was the location. It's about 5 minutes walk from Shinjuku station and extremely accessible. Other than that, everything else was bad.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying more for the breakfast. It's extremely crowded with people most of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cloud2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tepic
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel is in a very good location. Right in the center of Shinjuku, just one minute from Shinjuku Metro Station and like 5 minutes from Shinjuku JR Station. If you're used to the minimalistic rooms in Japan, then you'll be ok, but do not confuse with the pictures posted in the website: the room is really small. Bathroom is also small. If you hate the smoke of cigars, DO NOT book a smoking room. Even if you don't smoke at all during your stay, the room will smell as if you were in the middle of a smokers meeting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location is excellent, being just a few minutes walk from Shinjuku station.
The facilities and rooms are generally clean and should have everything you need for the average traveller.
The rooms are small, as to be expected from most hotels in tokyo. 2 medium sized suitcases was a squeeze. Any more than that and you won't be able to walk into the room without tripping over something.
Cigarette smoke can still be smelt in the non-smoking floor corridors but not in our rooms fortunately.
Didn't try the food there as there is so much choice outside of the hotel.
Overall, not too bad an experience. Acceptable value for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwc_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had booked Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel due to last minute planning to holiday in Tokyo for a 7D6Ns stay from 26 Aug - 1 Sep 2013.

Location of hotel: I had seen the reviews from people here, and some said used JR South Exit and some said JR Southern Terrace Exit from JR Shinjuku Station to this hotel. The accurate answer is Southern Terrace Exit of JR Shinjuku Station. Once you exit from Southern Terrace Exit, turn left and walked straight to a junction and turned left and walked straight. U will see McDonald at the opposite side while walking. As you continuously walks down, U will see "Family Mart". Then look to the opposite is Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel. It is about 7-8 minutes walk. Now U can also exit JR South Exit of JR Shinjuku station, but is slightly a bit far from Southern Terrace Exit. Once you exit from JR South exit, U have to cross the road to the JR Southern Terrace Exit and then follow the steps above.

Money Changer: Don't change your currency to Japanese Yen after you reached Japan. The rate is very low. For example, I exchanged at SG$1 = 76.16 Yen at Raffles arcade, and the Japanese currency shop there is SG$1 = 73 Yen. That's the difference. So changed at your own country and not changed at there. There is a money changer shop near Southern Terrace Exit of JR Shinjuku Station. The shop is orange colour and has many papers pasting around.

Family Mart: Very convenience, just opposite hotel. Inside sells quite some stuff. Mineral water huge size (2 litres) is about 89-90 Yen. There is maggie mees and ice-creams there. Don't be shock to see porn magazines selling at the rack near the entrance of Family Mart (for those going japan for the first time).

Restaurants/Food: Many outside the hotel. So no problem to that. Maybe have some japanese translation on-hands if you have diet requirements like no pork or no beef. There is McDonald near the hotel so you can always buy western food. By the way, there is no chilli sauce in Japan, only has tomato sauce. Many of the restaurants there served cold drinks or cold tea once you entered, so quite good (unlike Singapore restaurants nowadays, some asked for $0.30 for water). Also, have some 100Yen coins to play some vending machines there. I meant bottles drink. There are also cigarettes vending machine near the hotel - so smokers, you are lucky. OH yes, my reservation comes with free breakfast - Well, breakfast 2/5. The food is the same for my 1 week stay. But I just took it. The only good thing is at least got some food to fill ur stomach. Also, it is buffet styled. The best about the breakfast is they allowed you to pack your coffee/tea out of the restaurant. COOL! First time I experienced such free coffee to bring out of restaurant.

Room - I had reserved Twin room. Please remember that Double room is very small. To me, double room looks like for single who are big size to sleep. They do have Queen bed room, but i think is more expensive or hard to get. My twin bed room is very huge and very comfortable. There is space for us to place 2 huge luggages around and walkable area. There is also TV in the room but only 1 channel speaks English language which is the CNN channel. Toilet and room very clean. We are very satisfied with the room. The toilet do has comb, toothbrush, toothpaste, cottonbuds etc. Ok for the pillows, it is filled with those like beans type. To me, pillows are hard. Luckily I had already requested for more pillows despite knowing they will provide 2 pillows per bed. The extra pillows are much softer. Bed very comfortable! Twin bed is wide and very comfortable; is like super single mattress type. I seen people complaining about the housekeeping - but i have no problems to it. I do sleep late till 10am and forget to paste "Do not disturb", but nobody disturbs me. Overall, very good.

Hotel Receptionist Counter: Some are rude some are very friendly. So depends on your luck. Their English still can understandable; if they cannot understand, try to talk slower. I would like to thank this receptionist who helps me find a Ladies Clinic near to the hotel. She is very friendly and she google to help me find the nearest ladies clinic and print out the map. She also helped me called the clinic to check if the doctor there speaks English. Then She also helped me to call taxi and tell the taxi driver the location of the clinic. Very professional and friendly and into details.

Transportation : Transportation in japan is famous for expensive. From Narita Airport to city area like Shinjuku or Tokyo, U can get the Narita Express train (N'EX). U can purchase this package only for tourists (NEX round trip and a Suica card with 2000 Yen) for about 5500 Yen. Suica card is like a value card and u can take JR trains, Metros and subways. Quite worth it. U can purchase it from JR Office at the airport. However, if you have many luggages to carry along, U can take the Limo bus where it takes from airport to certain hotels. And Limo Bus do have it at Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku hotel. I think one way is 3000 Yen - have to check. I am not sure where to buy, so u can google and check first.

Transportation in Japan is never easy. Please take note not all stations are linked up. This means JR entrance and exit cannot be shared by different metros. Certain trains station had different entrance and exit. Also, if you are new, maybe don't stay at Shinjuku, because Shinjuku is very huge and you may be confused here. Too many lines and JR lines and etc. Really got to study hard for their transport.

Disneyland and Disneysea : Nice place. But many Japanese locals love to visit their own Disneyland and Disneysea. Even weekdays, roller coaster rides have to wait for 1-2 hour each. Although there is Fastpass, there is a limit as in every 2-3 hours, you can then take one fastpass.

Room Tip: Choose twin room - so much bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shin23_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you're looking for great centralized location (with ease of access to train station and food outlets or even shopping complexes), this is highly recommended. As for the service of the hotel, nothing much to shout. The staff there are helpful, attending your needs at their best. We booked a deluxe room and they gave free upgrade to tatami room which is awesome. The room is the "biggest" we had during our trip there (we stayed four different hotels on different places) - probably due to the upgrade we got. Tho the room is huge, one thing that bothers us is the smell in the room (some "odd" smell and later found that it could probably be "green tea" scent but didn't bother to check with the reception). I'll highly recommend this hotel to anyone who have this in their selections.

Room Tip: Request for rooms at the higher floor and ask for non-smoking room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,922 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing