We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience location with small but clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The great thing about this hotel starts from a direct service of the limousine bus direct from the Narita airport to the hotel lobby. Check-in was fast but they speaks & understand min. English. We booked a standard queue room, we can hardly walk around after putting in our 2 luggages. Bed & room are clean & comfortable. Around the hotel, there is quite a no. of eateries, some open for 24hrs. Mac was just a few doorsteps away. Takashimaya & Tokyo Hands was just linked to a bridge across the hotel. Barely a 5mins walk. Subways are just next to the hotel (depending on which line you are taking), if not the main Shinjuku station is also a 5mins walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thatsme5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 4,950 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Sunroute Plaza in Shinjuku is not at all fancy. It is perhaps equivalent to a Holiday Inn and slightly worn in places. However, the rooms are relatively large and very clean. Most importantly, it is a 5 minute walk from the Shinjuku Station and the front desk staff are helpful and speak reasonable English.

The hotel is on the quieter side of Shinjuku. There is a commercial district with restaurants and bars within 2 blocks but not the big lights and noise of the other side of the station. The more raucous side is a comfortable 10 minute walk day or night.

When you arrive from the airport, finding the correct exit can be a bit difficult. Aim for the New South Exit and from the station exit the hotel is one block parallel to the plaza. The greatest selling point is the proximity to the Sinjuku Station which means there is great proximity to all of Tokyo:

To Shibuya on JR Saikyo Line, 5 minutes
To Tokyo Central on JR Chuo Line, 15 minutes
To Akihabara on JR Chuo-Sobu Line, 15 minutes
To Ginza on Marunouchi Line, 15 minutes
To Airport direct on Narita Express

In summary, I would stay at this hotel again because it is so convenient to get out to anywhere in Tokyo. I used the hotel only for sleeping and the price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hivedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Europe from Australia. We had a ridiculous amount of luggage (as we're on a six-month adventure!) and we still managed to fit it all comfortably into our very compact room. You can't beat the location, and we had a straight shot to Narita on the first express train. We had no problem making our early morning flight (the trip took about 80 minutes, station to station). I'd suggest asking for a room with views - we were on an upper floor, but looked straight into an office building. Oh well!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank texan_down_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location (Shinjuku) people are polite and respectful (as everyone in Japan). Breakfast ok but could be better, the only cons is the small room, but for the price you are paying in fact you will use it to go to sleep, in Japan you need Stamina to walk and you are never at the hotel

Thank AzAr J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sunroute Shinjuku is located in a very convenient location and near JR station and shops. The room is clean and quiet and so we have had a very good sleep.
The buffet breakfast was very good and comfortable. There are airport limousines to both the Narita Airport and Haneda Airport which is convenient.
The service of the lobby staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loletta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this hotel.. The location is so convenient in the heart of shinjuku and plus they have the luggage delivery service, which is a plus for us to send our gigantic luggage after shopping. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast buffet is great.. We went crazy on our first couple of days for their breakfast.. Just wish they change the menu.. on our sixth day of eating the same thing, we were basically eating for survival reason only.. But overall.. it's a great place to stay in Tokyo

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Martony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed staying here - so close to everything in Shinjuku and even Yoyogi. At first I was a bit worried given the extreme negative reviews on here but after giving it a try, I have to say the staff were extremely helpful with any questions I had and also did a great job cleaning the rooms every day! The rooms were a wee bit small but what can you really expect from a Japanese hotel?

I highly recommend Sunroute Plaza and would be happy to book in again next time in Tokyo!

Room Tip: Always best to ask for a non smoking room - Japanese are notorious for smoking in hotel rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,138 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $132 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sunroute Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing