We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning of our 2 week trip in May.

Getting to the hotel from Narita was easy, the Narita Express stopped at Shinjuku which is a 5min walk from the hotel (take the Sthern Terrace Exit, head left and then first left. Hotel is on your right 2mins down the road)

The lobby is smart and the staff speak English

The room was tiny but we were expecting this. We booked an economy double. The only complaint was that the pillows were really uncomfortable. Like rocks.
The bathroom was a decent size and clean (compared with business hotels we stayed in later in the trip)

The location is the main attraction. 5mins walk to Shinjuku and the madness of the neon lights, bars, restaurants and malls. Shinjuku is one of the main train hubs. Direct lines to Roppongi, Harujuku, the Fish Markets, Narita Airport etc

We walked down to Harujuku through the park one day which was a pleasant stroll.

Would recommend this as a place to base yourself in Tokyo

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rachkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    2,220
    383
    64
    31
See reviews for
921
1,913
562
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We followed the Trip Advisor as usual and we find a great hotel in Tokyo, affordable rates, great toiletts, adequate room and excellent location very close to Shijuku Station. You can find around many restaurants, JR & subway stations and major stores as Takashimaya & Yodobashi.

You can access to this hotel from Narita Airport using The Friendly Limosine Bus for 3,000 Yen that is very convenient.

Front Desk staff is vey friendly and Hotel is very new.

  • Liked — Location and Cleaness of room and bathroom
  • Disliked — room size (is pretty small)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GONZALEZLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Great location and great value......seems new because of its maintenance program...friendly, courteous staff....
room, albeit small but nice.....like other Japanese hotels, the bathroom was very clean and nice.
I would recommend that you book a standard twin or standard double....the room I booked was an economy double and it was too small. Tried to upgrade but the hotel was fully booked.
The hotel is close to everything....train station is a 5 minute walk, huge shopping mall is across the street....many restaurants close by.
This hotel is not for those who require all the bells and whistle of a 5 star hotel. It is a good value hotel that is very nice.
Will book again when I return to Tokyo.

Rating would have been excellent if I had selected the larger room. My error.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bugs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This hotel was an absolute gem in the heart of Tokyo. It's location simply can't be beat. Five minutes away from JR Shinjuku and countless Tokyo metro lines, it provides great accesibility to all other parts of the city. 10 minutes away is the neon-lined streets of Tokyo that you see in movies. The staff spoke English and was very friendly and accomodating. I would expect to pay much more for this hotel than what we did. I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a gorgeous hotel with a prime location in Shinjuku.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yeahyeahmelmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Got a great deal on hotels.com for 3 nights in May. This hotel is one of the stops for the Narita airport limo bus service which makes it very convenient when arriving into Tokyo. The location at Shinjuku is excellent as its near the massive train station that will take you anywhere in the city. The hotel is new which was one of the reasons I chose to stay here. Room is tiny and crammed especially when sitting at the desk working on my laptop, with free internet access! However the room size didn't matter to me as I was busy exploring Tokyo most of the day. Theres plenty of eateries and shopping in the area so you'll never be bored or go hungry. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Tokyo and will definitely go back again.

  • Liked — location, new property
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greggs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I've just returned from a weeks stay at the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku and I couldn't fault it. As the other reviews have stated, yes the rooms are small but you have to put it into perspective. Most rooms in Tokyo (unless you want to pay mega dollars at the Park Hyatt) are not much more than shoeboxes! The Sunroute is centrally located, is within 5 minutes walk of Shinjuku station and has a good selection of Western and Japanese food options in the area.

If you're after all the bells n' whistles...a huge room service menu, day spa, multiple channel TV, gym, concierge...then this isn't for you. On the other hand if you're after a clean, contemporary and well priced hotel with friendly English speaking staff then this is the go. Make sure you check out the guest lounge area on the second floor. A great free coffee/tea machine and internet access along with comfortable lounges. The bar on the second floor is also cool.

The other advantage of the Sunroute Plaza (and this may also apply to other hotels) is that the Limousine Bus to Narita Aiport stops right out the front. It costs about Y3000 and was for me, the easiest way out to the airport.

A two minute walk across the road (behind the Hotel Century) there are new Starbucks and Krispy Kreme. Personally I'm not a fan but others reading this may want to know. There's also a McDonalds on the way to Shinjuku station. My advice is to avoid these and try some of the street fare nearby...the noodles and the yakitori are excellent. Or you could grab some Japanese rice crackers and some cold Asahi from the AM/PM across the road and watch hilarious Japanese game show TV.

I had a great experience at this hotel and will stay here again next time I'm in Tokyo. Have a great time.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerouac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Location - 5 minute walk from the south or south terrace exit of shinjuku station. Approx. 20 min walk to Yoyogi Park. Decent restaurants in close proximity. 20 minute walk to studio alta.
Does not get much better than that in Tokyo.

Hotel - A wonderful modern hotel with facilities to cater for all basic needs. The hotel is well furnished and while the rooms are small - its still very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and had perfect english. Its more than an average business hotel - its quite stylish.

Price - Semi-Double room €90 a night. Found that price to be very resonable considering the location and standard

Overall - I initially had planned 4 nights in this hotel - I ended up staying 9. Upon my 2nd checkin I was given a loyalty card which entitled me to have and extra 2 hours prior to required check out.

Very pleasing stay

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Storage facilities in the Room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happy52Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,260 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing