We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expected more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After all the great reviews on this site I expected more. My complaints are only the room, everything else was great. The room carpet was noticeably hammered. The walls were also discolored. I got the larger room but it was the smallest of all the rooms I stayed at in Japan. It felt cramped and we were never really comfortable in the room. There was also no wifi in the room which is hard because we had no cell service while in Japan. The bathroom was also not well layed out with only one small towel rack.

The location was great. The staff was great, the lobby, great....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    1,953
    321
    52
    22
See reviews for
776
1,664
509
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room we stayed in was small but comfortable and clean. The location was fantastic, walking distance to the subway station, takashimaya, tokyu hands, bookstore, big department stores, starbucks, McDonalds. there are small restaurants around the area too. There's a family mart right across the street. subway entrance for the Keio line is next door. The post office is also across the street. We stayed for 7 nights and got the promo with breakfast. There were lots of food in the breakfast buffet but if you were to eat the same food for 7 days straight, we got tired of it. The bus going to the narita airport stops right infront of the hotel so it makes it convenient especially of you have more than one luggage. The staff was helpful. I would stay there again. No free coffee in the room only tea.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 6th floor and the view was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and a good size with both a bath and shower. There was a great range of food to choose from at the breakfast buffet and the hotel restaurant offered a varied menu at a reasonable price if you didn't want to eat out. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The hotel is located within a couple of minutes walk of Shinjuku station which has excellent transport links. Great value for money and I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on 5th and 6th March. Location is fantastic. Near to Shinjuku station and Times Square. It has got my favourite shops in Japan nearby: Montbell (next door), Tokyu Hands, Takashimaya, Uniqlo, Kinokuniya (Times Square). It also has a Limousine bus service directly to the hotel from Narita and Haneda. Rooms are clean and hotel staff are efficient. Although the rooms are small, they are Tokyo standard sizes.

What I would like for it to be Excellent:
- Free WIFI in the room or even Internet access

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisekofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Traveled here by myself for a two night stay in Tokyo for the first time.

Conveniently located -
Shinjuku is a great location to stay with the JR line, Oeda & Shinjuku subway line, and Narita Express all in the area. The neighborhood is known for its great nightlife and busy streets. The hotel is actually located on the south end, away from the noise, but easily within a 5 min walk to the main attractions in the area. The hotel is located literally right outside of the A1 exit from the Oeda line station. Additionally the hotel has its own Narita Airport Limo stop - you can buy tickets at the concierge.

Concierge staff was super helpful - great English help available. Wifi available in the first floor lobby and guest lounge on the second floor. I asked them about visiting the Tsujiki Fish Market and they offered to call a cab for me at 3:45AM and even gave me a wake up call. Checkout is at 11AM, but they happily hold your bags for you in the lobby for the day. There's drink vending on every floor.

The room is a bit small, even by my NYC standards, but super clean with a working thermostat. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on my trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Big departmental stores were all within close walking distance. Many cafes and restaurants nearby. Very business-like hotel. No problems at all with the wi-fi coverage and other facilities. One little downside is the lack of view and our non-smoking room somehow still has a tinge of smoke smell...also along the hallway. There is also no wardrobe cabinet in the room, only a small rack.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very convenient location, good and friendly service, clean room. Department Stores and many eateries are within a short walking distance. I shall not hesitate to recomment the Hotel to any of my friends. It will definitely be my first choice to stay for my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#10 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing