We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Good Location to get around Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Affordable & Good Location to get around Tokyo”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Sunroute Plaza Hotel Sinjuku puts you 2 blocks away from the Shinjuku Train Station that enables you to get anywhere in Tokyo (1 of the largest cities in the world). The area is safe & offer’s nightlife & shopping with in an 8 block walk. The hotel has good visible security. It offers affordable rooms ($125 US for a Vista Single w/breakfast booked on hotel website) with a nice size & comfortable bed. The room was very quiet. The size of the room is more relatable to European standards versus US. I liken it to a cruise ship veranda room (15.7 SQ M or 169 SQ FT). The bathroom was compact but functional with good water pressure & nice amenities. All areas of my guest room as well as common areas of the hotel were very clean. The breakfast buffet offered both western & Asian options & both were adequate. I would recommend this hotel for both business & tourists for its location, affordability & cleanliness. The front desk staff spoke English & they offered maps of tourist sites with public transportation instructions.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for the pre-printed tourist information as well as the subway maps. Buy the daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    2,220
    383
    64
    31
See reviews for
921
1,913
562
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent location within sight of the shinjuku station south exit, but very quiet, good food, with a few 24hr restaurants. Great for first timer to tokyo. Shinjuku station connects to everywhere and you will be against the rush hour crowds when you travel out in morning and back in evening. Practically across the large junction from station, 1block from takashimaya times square, Lumine, MyLord, Keio for shopping, huge electronics dept stores LABI, yodobasashi; 1 train station or 2-5blocks to flagship Isetan, odakyu, beautiful and serene parks in the city gyoen, yo yogi & Tokyo metropolitan.
Explore the back roads across the street west of the shinjuku station for electronics, outdoor retailers and lots of food choices.

Airport limo express bus stops at doorstep for selected hours, otherwise the bus main stop is about 300m across the street at the shinjuku station west exit. This bus costs Y1200 per adult 600 for kid, taxi from Haneda to hotel at 1120pm cost us Y12000.

Avoid the economy twin room unless you just need a place to sleep, or used to new york and hongkong city hotels. At 15sq m including the bath (which Has a bath), there's literally no room to open your luggage except on the bed. The wardrobe is a 1.5ft wide opening in the wall. Water pressure is strong, toilet equipped with typical Japanese style sensors, wash, etc.
all rooms have fast internet with Ethernet cable (so bring a cable to wifi adapter if using smartphones or iPads, or like I did, dash across to LABI or Yodobashi for one on the cheap), but wifi available free with password at main lobby area only.

But service is typical Japanese efficiency and impeccable courtesy. Rooms are clean, everything works, rooms provided with flat press which is great to make crease line on your dress pants but I couldn't get to use on anything else well. Has 3coin operated washing machine and dryers accessible 24hrs in the basement. Every floor has vending machine room with array of alcoholic, coffee, tea and other beverages and free ice dispenser, also ticket machine to buy your in room movies. Front desk speaks English, has a currency change machine (USD),

Though just across the south exit of one of the busiest stations in the world, the road is very serene, and I don't hear any noise from trains or road (which is quiet anyway), except for the occasional ambulance from the JR Hospital nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the economy twin room unless you just need a place to sleep, or used to new york and hongkong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in Japan for Fuji Rock Festival and stayed at the Sunroute Plaza for one night before and one night after the festival. This hotel is conveniently located close to Shinjuku station (at the southern terrace exit) and the heart of Shinjuku which was perfect for us given the short time we amount of time we had in Tokyo. From the station it's incredibly easy to get round the city quickly to catch some of the sights. Rooms size is OK and reasonably priced for Tokyo. Hotel is modern, clean and comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would probably book this Hotel again.

Room Tip: On our return from Fuji Rock we paid a little extra for an upgrade from the standard size room as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed on a Monday night in this hotel at the end of Sept. Disappointed to say that we made reservation for a ECONOMY twin room; but looking at the photo, you wouldn't be able to tell how tiny the walkway between the bed and the wall. You won't believe it, it's literally about 15 inch (approx. 38cm) wide!!!! My friend could hardly move her luggage through.

After we checked-into our room, we couldn't find a luggage rack! We went down stairs to ask the front desk, he simply showed me the bill & pointed out that " You booked an ECONOMY room." We have stayed in so many hotels in the past, even the 2 stars hotel would provide a luggage rack, but not for this one. The front desk couldn't even bothered to upgrade us or even offer if we would like to change to a standard twin?

The only plus for this hotel is that a Limousine bus from the entrance brings you to either Haneda or Narita airport. If you have huge luggages, this hotel is pretty convenient.

The breakfast is not too bad, both western and Japanese style, enough selection to start your day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

location 3 min from shinjuku station. buffet breakfast excellent (western option bacon and eggs avail).
the room was 4 star...with english speaking tv channels (2 or 3 only). most of the other hotels in japan have no english tv.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grkjben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in October for business. I will write what I think is the good and bad points of the hotel. The other reviews of the hotel is true in terms of location. It's the best. Near Shinjuku JR station and next door is the subway station. Across the road is the huge Takashimaya shopping centre.


The good points are
1) staff are very friendly and will help as much as possible. They all speak English.
2) Breakfast is good variety
3)Location of Hotel - plenty to eat/shop and do nearby. There is a 24 hours McDonalds next door
4) Huge room - I had a twin room even though it's only for me, so maybe this room is bigger than single bed room
5) Plenty of shower cream, shampoo and conditional
6) Free wired internet
7) Empty fridge in room

The bad points are
1) There's no iron in room. I had to pick up a small iron and a floor ironing board and then return back to Reception within 2 hours
2) DIY laundry in the basement of hotel
3) No wifi in room, only lobby and on first floor
4) No Tea/Coffee making facillity
5) Check in is after 2pm (not used to this as a SPG Platinum Member)
6) No Pool and Gym!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Situated in a SUPER convenient location, actually 3 minutes walk from the Shinjuku station, has a lot of eating & shopping places around that offer a great variety.
As i mentioned, small rooms and nothing in Tokyo is cheap so don't get shocked when you see the size of the room & compare it with how much money you've payed for it anywhere else in the world. We got an Economy Double room on the 3rd floor & it was all of 15.5 square meters.
What made up for the small room was SUPER EXCELLENT & HELPFUL English speaking staff & always happy to help :). Couldn't try the food there but the Italian joint looked always full of happy people so that's a good sign, the restaurant I think is called Vallaza.
Will surely consider staying there whenever I visit next but surely in a bigger room.

Room Tip: if you have the bucks, don't go for the cheapest/smallest room, they are really tiny, The bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshanDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,260 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing