We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and conveniently located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and conveniently located hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was very pleased with the Sunroute Plaza hotel. The room was clean and well presented, though small, which is common in Tokyo. I stayed for 5 days and had breakfast included in my rate. The breakfast buffet was large but did not vary from day to day so I basically had the same food for 5 days.

A few minor problems, I did have a little bit of a problem locating the hotel at night. It i actually easier if use use the southern terrace exit or new south exit from the Shinjuku Station as you are on the same side of the street rather than the South Exit which forces you to cross a busy street. This also places you in the middle of a pleasant promenade area where there is some shopping and eateries etc. When I came out of the south exit, I didn't see the hotel and had a difficult time locating it despite the hotel provded map.

Also, there are few extra amenities at the hotel. If you are looking for a gym etc there isn't one. But if you are just looking for a nice base to rest and explore Tokyo its great and centrally located and convenient. The staff speaks English well and is helpful. Takashimaya and a lot of shopping and retaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    2,196
    380
    64
    30
See reviews for
906
1,887
558
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

When in Tokyo, you wanna consider two things. One, being close to a train station, and second, to have everything you need nearby. There are two zones in the city with these, Shinjuku and the Tokyo Station area. We stayed at this hotel because the high reviews, and its location. We were not disappointed. Train station is 5-10 minutes walking, and everything from a convenience store to a post office, and plenty of coffee shops and restaurants around. We stayed two sets of four nights. Rooms are extra clean, and everything works perfect, small? Yes, but its Tokyo and you just need your room to sleep and shower anyway. Wifi is very good in the lobby. Didn't consume any food in the hotel though. Check-in and out was very fast and English wasn't a problem at all. If you decide to stay in this area, I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX_TrueReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is by far the most convenient, cleanest, and nicest hotel I have stayed in in awhile. The staff is very helpful and the location connects to everywhere in the city. I would really recommend this hotel! The only thing negative is that the rooms are slightly on the smaller side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cklett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunroute last week for seven days. The hotel is very clean, staff are helpful and speak English. The room, although quite small, was sufficient and well presented. Toiletries were of a high standard and quality. They offer both an Asian and Western buffet breakfast for approx AUS$17, however, don't expect bacon and eggs or the usual Aussie buffet breakfast items. There was a selection of salad and cold meats, vegetable omelett, pastries, and the usual juice/tea/coffee/toast. Not very inspiring and we only ate at the hotel once as my husband didn't regard it as a 'proper' breakfast.

The hotel is located an easy 3min walking distance from the Shunjuku train station, however, we caught the Limousine Bus from Narita airport which dropped us off at the hotel door. The bus takes the same amount of time as a taxi (approx 2hrs) from the airport to the city and only cost $40 ea one way. A taxi is approx $230 and the train approx $60 ea one way. The train also takes about 2hrs. If you want hassle free airport transfers on arrival, check out the Limousine Bus details on Narita Airport website. They give a list of the hotels where they drop off. Make sure you book your return trip at the hotel reception a couple of days before departure as the bus fills up quick.

I agree with other reviews that Shinjuku is a great area, however, I did not find it cheap for shopping. If you are used to shopping at David Jones, then the department stores around Shinjuku are perfect for you. I love bargains and I'm afraid that I didn't find any around Shinjuku (saw plastic Croc sandals for $40pr, and unless you're very skinny, don't bother looking at clothes). The best area for shopping I found was Asakusa. It was fantastic. Also, It was almost impossible to find souviners in Shinjuku whereas Asakusa has lots.

Food was relatively cheap, depending on where you bought it. For anyone with children, McDonalds is about a 2min walk from the hotel.

If we return to Tokyo, we would stay in the Asakusa area as it is a more convenient location for both accommodation, shopping and is closer by train to other sightseeing areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

we had originally booked at another hotel in Narita for a late evening flight then husband realises we were actually going to Haenda. Panic at 10pm...luckily they had one room and it was the best Y19,000 we'd ever paid. Nice size room and everything's clean. The vending machine had all sorts of drinks at reasonable prices. Staff spoke really good English. Would stay if we come back to Tokyo next time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I cant recommend this hotel enough - great location, friendly english speaking staff, free Internet. The room was a good size for a single (though with a queen size bed) and very clean. I didn't try the buffet breakfast as there are plenty of local options at a better price but the staff were very helpful in locating nearby restaurants and sightseeing trips.

The location of the hotel is excellent - about 5 minutes walk from Shinjuku station. It's important to note that the Narita airport limousine service doesn't call at the hotel until the afternoon, but stops at Shinjuku station in the mornings so that isn't much of a problem.

Only negative - some noise from outside made getting to sleep a problem on some nights (thud thud thud of bass for other buildings)

Would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify a non smoking room if desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to Shinjuku station, shops and restaurants. We stayed in a 'standard' room and found it was a good size, not the shoebox we thought we'd get. The buffet breakfast is quite good.

Service was generally good, except when our keys were partially deactivated our last evening - worked in the room and lift, but couldn't get into the room. The problem was never properly fixed, and could have been better handled by staff. The' business centre' near the Guest Lounge was also a surprise, much lower standard than I'd expect in what's considered a business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhappy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing