We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Shinjuku Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Close to Shinjuku Station”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel is a good base for sightseeing as a short walk to Shinjuku station where you can catch a train to just about anywhere. We had a queen room which was small, but big enough for the two of us, and stayed for 7 nights. Room was on the 6th floor at the front of the building but very quiet and could hear no street noise. Laundry in the basement of the hotel was a plus and cost 300Y for a 4.5kg load. Dryers were 100Y for 30 minutes and it took 1 hour to dry the whole load. My top tip for lunch or dinner is to go to the 32nd floor of the north tower of the Metropolitan Government Office Building. There is a cafeteria for the workers there but the public is allowed in. Meals are very reasonable (all around 550Y) and the servings are large. Also provide free cold water. We ate here nearly every night as it was much better value that the restaurants around Shinjuku. The food was hot and fresh. When you get out of the lift on the 32nd floor, turn right and walk down the hallway about 150 metres. Food displays will be on the left. Note there are two lots of food displays so look at both before making your decision. Then put your money into the vending machine and choose the corresponding number to the meal you want. Take the ticket to the counter and the staff will get your meal. Then sit at a table near the window for a great view over Shinjuku (remember you are on the 32nd floor). Return your tray to the mobile food racks (you can't miss them). Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie01Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    2,163
    373
    63
    29
See reviews for
892
1,850
552
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormesby St. Margaret, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ideal base while staying in Tokyo. Only a few minutes from Shinjuku station. In quite a quiet street but only a short walk to many many shops, restaurants and of course the world famous Japanese convenience stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

At the end of June we stayed at the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku for a few nights, with a trip out to Nikko in the middle. The hotel kindly held out bags for the night in between for no charge. But the real gem was the service we got when asking one of the staff to help me find a place that could quickly replace my lost prescription glasses (left somewhere enroute between Auckland and Narita airports). After printing a fax from my optometrist, the receptionist kindly drew us a map of how to get to a particular shopping mall complex, and within it to a glasses shop. We found it without a hitch and were then delighted to discover that they could make up a replacement prescription in 20 minutes! Amazing! Thank you so much to the wonderful lady at the Sunroute for her generous help! Arigato gozaimasu!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clear window (rather than an opaque one) if you want a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Classy hotel with great service. The location is about an 8 minute walk from JR Shinjuku station, which is extremely useful. There are restaurants and convenient stores nearby as well. There is a shuttle bus from Narita Airport that takes you right to the front door for about 3000 yen.

We got an economy, twin room. It is ridiculously small. I know this is Tokyo, but I would have spent the extra $30/night for a larger room. Don't skimp on this.

Room Tip: The economy rooms are VERY small. I suggest spending a bit more here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was my first time travelling to Japan and needed a base to explore central Japan in. This hotel was a minute walk from JR Shinjuku station and had so many restaurants nearby. There was also a convenience store and a post office across the road, and if you needed a pharmacy, there's one across the train station.
Personally, I found the room space adequate and was always kept at neat and clean. I stayed in the bright single room where the view was nice, bed was comfortable to sleep in, and I even liked the window feature from the bathroom.
The staff were just lovely; helpful and always greeted with a smile.
Breakfast buffet food was good and the restaurant had a calm atmosphere (a gentle way to start each morning with no harsh bright lights).
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay while exploring Tokyo or central Japan in general!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbez9528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great service provided by hotel staff. Good English and knowledgeable of local area and tourist hot spots. Wifi is only in lobby and guest lounge. Rooms are comfortable. My luggage was lost by Singapore air and I found the hotel very Godwin relaying messages from the airline, who were difficult at the best of times. My only complaint is. Hotel s heavily booked so I coudnt get in before the 2pm check in which was annoying after 18hrs of travel

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and was impressed with the location first and foremost.

I returned to Japan twice this year (and most recently 4 weeks ago) and stayed here with my family again. There were 4 of us on the last trip and we had 2 rooms (deluxe twin and queen) for the first 3 nights and then spent 2 nights in Kyoto and returned again to Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku for another 2 nights. The hotel was happy to accommodate our luggages whilst we were away in Kyoto(we did have to prepay in advance for the last 2 nights before departing for Kyoto though).

The location of this hotel is the reason I keep coming back to this hotel. We arrived on the NEX Express with large suitcases and found it not a problem to get to the Southern exit( do not be deceived by the stairs, there are escalators behind them a few hundred feet away) and the moment you leave the station, you cross at the lights( You will see Yoshinoya, a Japanese fast food chain right across, then turn right and immediate left, and you will see Mcdonalds and keep going past the outdoor sports shop and Sunroute Plaza is on your left). One note to make is that if you are catching the Airport Limousine shuttle bus for an evening/night flight, you will need to lug your suitcases across the street , right in front of Keio Department Store as the one from the hotel doesn't run past 3pm. Also, try to buy tickets the morning before departure to ensure they have seats available.

The room size is pretty decent if you go with the deluxe but the budget rooms might be a problem for claustrophobics. We had breakfast with our rooms but it does get a tad boring after the 2nd or 3rd day as the buffet never changes! The danishes and croissants are pretty good for japanese standards though.

Like many others have said, there's no wifi in the rooms but the business lounge is GREAT! free printing and internet access (requires room key access) and they have washing machines in the basement(never used it though) which is pretty handy. The shampoo and conditioner provided in the bathroom are pretty decent (I'm not sure if it was Pola brand or Kose or Shiseido, it's one of those Japanese brands), and I'm normally very very picky!

I also had some packages sent to the hotel and they were very good with letting me know when they arrived . And there is also a baggage scale right in front of reception in case you need to weigh your bags. Currency exchange is only from a vending machine and only takes USD and the rates arent the best so I suggest you change it at the airport or at a department store or a bank.

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip back to Japan!

Room Tip: If you are over 5ft9 or 5ft10 and not on a very tight budget, it's worth the splurge for the del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimaruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,154 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing