We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel close to underground/train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the rather spacy, clean and quiet room in the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku. The underground station was just a few hundred metres away and there were also a lot of nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. The Shinjuku district is one of the busiest ones in Japan, which you could easily notice judging from the incredibly crowds of people during the morning rush hours. But that didn't disturb us a bit, we just melted into the crowd.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatJon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,128 - 3,134 of 5,019 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel was decent, they were sticklers about not letting you check in before check in time. They did watch our bags while we went out for the day before check in. The hotel is clean and in good condition. The rooms were also clean but very very small, we barely had room to open our suitcases on the floor. They have a restaurant on the lobby floor and a bar on the second floor which was nice. They do not have wifi in the rooms but a code to use in the lobby and second floor. I dont know what the issue was but we couldnt get access even with the password, luckily they do have some computers that guests can use on the second floor. The location was really good, it was only about a 5 minute walk to Shinjuku station and a 10 minute walk or so to tons of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

DEspite being just a short 5 min walk to the bustling Shinjuku station, hotel is in a quiet street with restaurants and convenient stores Family Mart and Lawsons nearby. Rooms was clean and came with basic ammenties. Room size is small like all hotels in Japan but adequate for couple. There is a restaurant and bar on the ground floor. Staff was helpful and efficient.
JR shuttle bus runs to and from Narita to SunRoute which is a great plus. Great place to stay as a base to explore Tokyo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudirmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed just for 2 nights as part of a longer holiday and i was extremely impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Our room, which we were expecting to be rather small and cramped for the price we paid was very spacious and provided everything we needed and was exceptional value for money. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to requests with the location of the hotel being excellent.

The bar was a good place to have a few relaxing drinks at the end of the evening although the midnight closing time was may be a little early. We didnt sample the food as preferred the japanese street food available at the nearby restaurants of which there were plenty. Lots to see in and around the hotel, if i went back to Shinjuku i would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Sunroute is a five-star hotel with three-star prices. This hotel is FANTASTIC. Clean, modern, new, and super close to shopping, restaurants, and the Shinjuku metro line (it's literally right next door to one of the entrances).

I got a great deal with the Internet and breakfast included and it was perfect. Yes, the WIFI only works in the lobby, but my room had a LAN cable that connected to my laptop and was easy to setup.

Sunroute also has outstanding service. Each time I would go to the front desk for something (iron, etc) they would have a minimum of five people to help me. I never had to wait to talk to someone - ever. During my stay, and since this was for work, my laptop's network settings had changed and I could not use their internet. I called the front desk from my room and they were able to diagnose and fix my computer - over the phone, in perfect english - very quickly and easily. Amazing!!

And the breakfast - SO GOOD. Great selection of western and japanese-style breakfast food with, quite possibly, the world's best hotel coffee.

For work and pleasure I've had the opportunity to stay at some really nice hotels (waldorf/intercontinental/etc.) I would consider the Sunroute to be just as nice as any of those hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonmiller180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku hotel for two nights in the middle of July 2012. Both the location and the price were just perfect for us. We got right to the hotel entrance from Narita airport by a limousine bus, not the fastest but a very convenient way for us, the first time visitors to Japan.

We heard that the rooms in Japanese hotels are usually small but our room was of an appropriate size. I have to admit though that we travel with minimum luggage. The room was also very quiet -- we had a good sleep after the long flight. And we needed it because the next day we had a very intensive private guided tour with Junko Matsuda that allowed us to see so much in one day that we could hardly do without her help.

We enjoyed a clean, well equipped bathroom, of a good size as well.

We choose a continental breakfast option. The buffet had a rich assortment, including Japanese and European dishes, and everything we tried was fresh and tasty.

Front desk personnel was responsive and supportive: they quickly provided us with some medical and cleaning supply we asked for. They also assisted us very nicely with directions and booking a bus to Kawaguchiko, our next trip point.

The hotel has left very good impression on us and we would definitely suggest it to our friends. Feel free to contact us for more details.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was a great value in Tokyo. Very clean and very near to the JR train station and Shinjuku Station. The economy rooms are small, for couples I would recommend spending a little bit extra and upgrading to the deluxe queen so you don't have to be on top of each other. Housekeeping was efficient and non-intrusive and our room looked great everyday. There was a little fridge in the room that came in handy as well. Only drawback was that there was no wifi in rooms only in the lobby so there were 3 members of our group that were very annoyed by this. There was a wired connection if you have a laptop but no good for Ipad users. Just take note if you are one of those people that can't live without wifi. I would stay there again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jpinedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $135 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Priceline, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing