We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Great value”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of Shibuya; from Narita Airport you have a direct bus or train connection hence very easy accessible. The hotel offered free Wifi, our room rate included a sumptuous breakfast being served on the 25th floor which offers an awesome view across greater Tokyo. Rooms are very functional and clean like everything in Tokyo. Simply a place to stay without regret.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    543
    136
    25
    18
See reviews for
293
247
138
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Shibuya Excel Hotel is an excellent location that places you amongst it all. Shopping, Restaurants, Bars and Transport. The Hotel is connected to an excellent shopping mall and a walkway straight through to Shibuya Station. The views from the hotel are amazing, you can even see Mt Fuji from the top floor dining room. The rooms are quite small, but have everything you need. I will stay here again the next time I come to Tokyo.
Copy this: Tokyo Ten Glenn Wingrove ,into "You Tube" and see the views from The Excel Shibuya Hotel and why we love Japan

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on a high floor facing Shinjuku.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Situated right on top of Shibuya crossing makes this a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast buffé on the top floor has a magnificent view over Tokyo. The kids loved he glassed elevator going up there. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrinHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Shibuya, next to the train station you need to stay here. Always something to do and so easy to get around.

Hotel was one of the best I have stayed in. Japanese know how to do hotels well. Room clean and comfortable. Staff amazingly helpful.

Worth the little bit extra to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Tourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Located in the middle of Shibuya. The hotel is connected to a mall and the train station. The location is just perfect! It also has tons of shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel. Very lively even late in the evening especially during the weekend.

The rooms, bathroom and beds are big and comfortable with free wifi. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this hotel based on personal recommendation and also reviewing various hotels on tripadvisor and other travel websites. I had my own room and my parents had their own double room.

Pros:-
Location:
Superb location to get to from Haneda airport and about 60-85mins by limousine bus from Narita Airport (note: this timing was early in the morning with moderate traffic). You can order a limousine bus from any airport and also from the hotel reception. It stops right outside the hotel and is a great, easy, good priced way of transport. Alternatively, the hotel is superbly stuck onto Shibuya station/Shibuya crossing and you can get the Tokyo express line to and from the airport this way. We only used the taxi from Haneda as it was close. But wouldnt recommend to Narita (too far and too expensive! - even the front desk will tell you that!).

Customer Service:
Impeccable customer service as you would expect. Humility, decency and extremely good natured staff everywhere in the hotel - from the lobby and front desk to the restaurant staff for breakfast in the morning to the cleaners. Just amazingly perfect. Notably the honesty and assistance they show you in helping you plan your stay is just excellent. The front desk guided me on some of the things to see and which order as well as providing me with maps, bookings for dinner and otherwise - with no complaint and no quirks. I cannot recommend this enough.

Rooms:
Really good size double room. Larger than normal expectation in Tokyo. Parents room was an upgraded double which was even bigger. Please ask at desk for upgrade options. Impeccably clean and cleaned regularly.

Breakfast:
We didnt use the restaurant for anything other than breakfast (which was included in our price). There are too many restaurants and cafes (starbucks etc) in the station (about 5mins within the same complex) OR outside that warrants you taking a stroll. No need to eat here. The breakfast however was perfect. A good selection of western (fruit, cereals, eggs, toast, bacon/sausages etc) as well as local cuisine - which was also nice aswell. If you can, id definitely try and get this within the price. Itll set you up for the day.

I cant thank the staff enough for our stay. Both my parents and I loved the rooms and the service we were given. Id recommend this hotel to both families for the above as well as convenience of location as well as others who want to start their journey/tour who want to be in the heart of Tokyo at a good price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors. I was on the 16th floor first time and then 22nd the second t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLaMEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our fourth time at this hotel. It's a great location and good value for money - especially if you're part of their comfort members club. Only gripe - it'd be great to have a few English speaking channels on the tv....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing