We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed with a friend, and we made sure to get a two bed room (look for "twin" not "double"), and the room was great--easily spacious enough for two people and we lucked out, having our room on the 23rd floor (of 24); the view was tremendous! Shibuya is well located, with plenty of bars, restaurants, and shopping nearby; plus it is a major public transportation hub with several subway and bus lines passing through. The hotel was clean and professional, and the bathroom was quite nice with heated/fogless mirrors and Japanese toilets/bidets. It was a great choice and I'll have to stay here again!

Room Tip: For two people -- "Twin" is the keyword, not "Double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    537
    135
    25
    18
See reviews for
288
245
137
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Location is the best! Airport limousine drops you right at the hotel entrance. Could not have been more convenient! Many restaurants below hotel at Mark City.
Rooms are very small but also very efficient. We enjoyed an awesome view from our window. Be sure to ask for non smoking room.
Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here 18 months ago and resolved to come back. it is a great location for being in the beating heart and to get your bearings. I think though, that once you have done that you might want to stay in other places. For variety.

But for what it is, it is a great location and very conveneient for the new visitor to Tokyo. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for high and facing the crossing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticmallorcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights on the 22nd floor. The view was incredible and the location was perfect! The rooms were clean and made up each day, staff were friendly and there was so much to do and see in such a close proximity of the hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Shibuya Excel Hotel Last Ma25-April 1 and our stay was just delightful! The hotel itself is located in the middle of everything! name it! from train stations, to shopping malls to restaurants and night life! it was a very busy street and very fast faced but very enjoyable! We had daily buffet breakfast included and in some days we tried their Japanese Breakfast which was both excellent. Although there were lines for the western breakfast, it was ok since they had a nice view from the 25th floor! Room was ok, eveything you needed was there, free wifi in the rooms, vendo machine at the 5th floor, staff were courteous and friendly. We would be back soon!

Room Tip: Higher Rooms for great view of Tokyo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelightedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are happy with our choice to stay here. The location is fabulous right in the heart of Shibuya, our favourite suburb, and adjoining to the JR station which is very convenient. The room was great, we requested a non smoking floor and were put on the 18th floor with views over Tokyo, stunning at night!!! The room was clean and had great amenities, e.g pants press, hairbrushes, cotton buds, hair dryer etc. bed was comfy and the curtains blocked out all the neon lights outside so we had a great sleep. The glass lifts are fun, like riding the tower of terror each time haha. (you can pick non glass lifts if heights isn't your thing). We enjoyed a bath in our room daily after long days exploring Tokyo. I would stay here again if we came back

Room Tip: Request a room up high, we were on the 18th floor and it was amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's quite hard to review the Shibuya Excel. Nothing went wrong, but I wouldn't say we had a pleasant stay as well. Everything was kind of just alright but there were hardly any nice touches, and the staff were helpful and well-informed to the extent we had any queries. That said, it is really easy to underrate this hotel and I think it represents great value for money given its great (Shibuya isn't really "central") location and links to the Subway, private subway lines and the main JR station.

Rooms: Hairdryer in the room. Trouser press. Air conditioning controls thankfully in English (we read Japanese, but really really slowly...). Bit cramped overall and bed sizes on the small side. Clean and comfortable. Best bit of the room was THE VIEW. As some other reviewers have indicated - getting a view over Shibuya's famous crossing was quite a show in itself and the kids spent quite a bit of time looking at "the bees" and "the mushrooms (when it was raining)" colliding into each other every 2 minutes or so. Tiny tiny thing - could do with a room safe.

Food: didn't try the inhouse restaurants but Mark City (right below the hotel) provides as much Japanese food as you need. Tokyu's foodhall (also underneath the hotel) gives you the authentic Japanese supermarket foodhall experience with all the usual shouting thrown in. Candy store within the foodhall was quite fascinating.

Staff: friendly, helpful and well informed - up to a point. Not really great with off piste requests, but that's Japan for you and not really a reflection of poor customer service at this place. When things went slightly awry (room card key didn't work on day 4), problem got fixed rally quickly. English levels were adequate and we had to resort to a bit of broken Japanese from time to time.

*** MAKE USE OF THE LUGGAGE SERVICE!
If you're travelling into other parts of Japan, make use of Japan's luggage service which delivers your medium/large suitcase to any part of Japan within a 2 hour slot on the next day for about 1500 yen (approx £11). We pre-packed 2 suitcases, sent them on their way and they were waiting for us at check-in when we arrived in Kyoto. Forms are all in Japanese (helps if you print out your next destination's address in Japanese text) but hotel front desk will help you fill this out.

Room Tip: Not sure what rooms on the other side are like but get one with a view of Shibuya crossing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingToothbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing