We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Expedia.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Priceline
$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
travelup.com$113
Hotels.com$90
Traveluro$86
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,533)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveler rating
585
711
173
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
585
711
173
35
29
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Shibuya Excel for 5 nights. It was our first time in Tokyo and I must say, this hotel is great! The location is awesome and is right across the street from the shibuya station, which has basically every train line you could need. The hotel overlooks the main square, so we had a great view, but it was still really quiet at night.

The rooms are small, but not unbearable. They are very clean and the bathroom was nice. There was free wifi in the room and it worked great. The hotel staff was friendly, but didnt speak english that well, so we didn't use them a ton for recommendations. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it to my friends. The overall experience and price were very good!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffanynyc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is geared more for the young and hip party goer or Business Traveler as the area is filled in drinking (Izakaya's) places and its proximity to Harajuku. Nevertheless the location of the hotel is great:

The Pros:
1.) Direct drop-off to the hotel by the Airport Limousine Bus from Narita. (prepare for a really windy and cold arrival upon exit from the bus as the parking lot is open).
2.) Access to the 4th Floor Food hall of the Mark City Mall next door is a plus (access to Mark City is better on the 3rd floor than the Lobby because of the tight lift provided by the mall from lobby to 4th floor).
3.) Proximity to the Tokyu Supermarket and Shibuya train station across the street. The Tokyu supermarket is the best place to grab some Sushi or Sashimi for Dinner. They offer 20% discount after 6PM and rivals the quality in some of the best restaurants. Remember, the supermarket not the food hall right outside it. Just buy some soy sauce in the supermarket as they don't offer it for free.
4.) There are also a lot of reasonable eating outlets to the left of the Hotel (upon exit from the G/F lobby). Soba, Ramen, Yakiniku, Donburi, everything you want in such a small area!
5.) There are a lot of vending machines in the hotel lobby even a washing machine in the vending area per floor of the hotel.
6.) Access to Starbucks (3rd Floor) and Excelsior Cafe (4th floor) in Mark City. Great sandwiched in Excelsior as well.

The Cons:
1.) The Shibuya area is filled with young people, this is the only reason I can attribute to the area being generally dirtier than the rest of Tokyo. Small trash can be seen everywhere. Compare this to the Ginza area and other nearby areas and you will know what I mean.
2.) We left used cups and teaspoon from the tea service in the room and came back to find then un-washed when we returned. I really don't know if its customary in Japan not to have this cleaned by the maid service.
3.)The cleaning service was generally not that good. We only found the room really clean (1) night out of the (4) nights we stayed. We constantly found our used Starbucks coffee cups still lying on the floor next to the trash bin due to it being filled already.
4.) You will constantly hear the train all night (stayed in the 8th floor). So this will be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Just drink a 500ml can of beer from the vending machine and you will be all set for the night. :-)

Some tips for Families with Strollers or Baby Prams:
1.) When taking the train.Take the South Entrance of the Shibuya Station (to the right when you cross the street). This is where the lift is located, took me 10 min. just to find it.
2.) Most of the restaurants in the 4th floor Food Hall of Mark City next door is very child friendly.
3.) Remember to take the 3rd floor access to Mark City from the hotel and just go (1) flight up the escalator.
4.) Most if not all convenience stores do not sell fruit so if you want or need some for your baby or what not get it from the Supermarket (the Tokyu supermarket is small so go off-peak hours) or the fruit stand right outside to the right of the Hotel G/F exit.
5.) ask the hotel for extra towels for your babies as they wont give you extras unless requested.
6.) The Hotel doesnt offer baggage assistance so expect to log your own luggage to and from the lobby and/or bus.

You will see that the Pro's out-way the Con's but given my experience here and in Shinjuku, I think we will try Ginza next. I think it is much more laid-back and definitely cleaner.

Room tip: You have to pay more to get the upper floors.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank eejster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the second time I am posting this review. TA told me initially that it did not contain enough "information" to make it relevant. As a senior reviewer I find this very surprising and disappointing. I feel the information I have supplied genuine and helpful for people in a similar situation. I have travelled the world and am trying my best to not lose my faith in the site I have had so much faith in. So, TA, will you publish my honest account of my family's stay? Here it is.

As stated by previous reviewers this hotel is fantastically situated. Couldn't fault location. Upon attempted check in after an overnight flight with 2 very tired children they flatly refused any sort of leeway with check in. I would have happily paid extra for this but it was not offered. As such my kids pretty much cried in the foyer for 4 hours while we valiantly tried to settle them. Very disappointing. Hotel facilities were fine. No other complaints.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

location is the best! It is in the middle of everything. Restaurants,shops and underground train is just in front of hotel. There is airport shuttle bus which is convenience and help me save a lot of money(taxi is very expensive).
Room is small but clean in contemporary design.I also got massage chair in room!
lovely business hotel

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is located in an excellent location of Shibuya with lotsa shopping, restaurants and fast food chains around. The train service is just right below the hotel! How great is that! The room was clean and a little small but it's fine given the excellent view of the Shibuya from the top. During my 6 days stay in Tokyo, the staffs from the Housekeeping Dept never fails to tidy up my room and topping up the water in the boiler everyday! Thanks for going through the extra mile! Not to forget to mention, the wi-fi service in the room was excellent! No disruption and connection are really consistent and strong. The breakfast buffet at A Bientot on the 25th floor was tasty and great because you get to see Mount Fuji while dining. Excellent! I really enjoyed my stay with Shibuya Excel and I will definitely choose to stay in the same hotel again on my next trip.

Room tip: If possible, choose high floors so you can have a view of the busy streets of Shibuya or have a view of Mount Fuji on the other side.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matchalattecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews