We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Shibuya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Shibuya”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is located a 100 m away from the subway.
It is located right opposite the giant Takashimaya shopping center.

The hotel is nice, clean, chic with a great view.
It is located near the business district so in the evening, the location is a bit quiet and cozy.

The best compliment is, the hotel makes you forget how hectic Tokyo is.
Service is great and people are friendly here.

We borrowed a couple's umbrellas (yes, they have a couple's with different sizes) during a windy and rainy day and the were always attentive to our needs + answered our questions spot on (their english is good!).

We also got a nice room with a great view, also a great bathtub (you need it in cold and windy days!)

Can't wait to come back and stay at this hotel again.
Very nice and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank les_canadiens_jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    697
    98
    14
    9
See reviews for
529
711
200
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here for two night before leaving Japan. Great location on the southern terrace of Shinjuku Station, with hundred of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Lots of coffee shops and croissant shops as well for breakfast!

Very quiet at night to sleep, great comfy room with a lovely view and a decent size too! The reception desk posted our parcel and rang to let us know that we could have our room cleaned outside of cleaning hours if needed. Very attentive!

Slightly more pricey than other local hotels but if you want the extra room or a bit of luxury, then please splurge!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela-Loretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and we really loved our stay.

The location is perfect - a couple of minutes away from Shinjuku station and lots of shopping centers. The staff really went out of their way to help you. It rained the whole time we were there but the hotel supplies you with umbrellas.

Our room had an amazing view but I think they all do.

Would recommend this hotel to our friends and would definitely stay here again.

Room was a little on the small size once we unpacked all our things but we were only really there for sleeping anyway so it didn't bother us too much. Pillows were also too soft and there is no iron in the room. However we called for one on the first day and we were able to keep it with us throughout our stay.

Buffet breakfast was good. It costs approx. $25 USD per person but there are other options. There is an amazing French bakery a few minutes walk away with delicious pastries.

Lots and lots of options for lunch and dinners in the shopping centers or in the streets of Shinjuku.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotell that have reception on high floors, and the lower floors are office spaces. Fantastic view. We had a corner room, and was really happy with the choice. We did not try the breakfast or restaurant in the building. But are really happy with the quality of the room and service. Good area to live in, not too far from public transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloppyCopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in May 2014 while sightseeing in Tokyo and could not have been happier with our choice. We paid a bit extra for a corner room and it was worth every yen - the 2-sided outer wall of the room was one large picture window facing DoCoMo Tower, Takayshimaya Times Square, and Shinjuku Gyoen Garden on one side and Yoyogi Park and Shibuya on the other, with the Tokyo Skytree and Mori Tower both blinking in the distance. The location is great - the hotel entrance is about a 10-minute walk from the JR platform in Shinjuku Station where the express train from the airport stops, and the metro portion of Shinjuku Station is only a couple of minutes beyond that. After taking the elevator to the 20th floor, you exit into the landing and then the lobby, a cool oasis of wood, marble and glass, bathed by warm sunlight during the day and soft lighting at night. I was amazed at how quiet the lobby always was, even when relatively crowded at lunchtime. The front desk staff were friendly and professional and responded promptly to our every inquiry and request. Our room was on the 25th floor. The hall to the room was quiet, with thick carpeting, discrete lighting, and soft ambient music in the background. The room itself was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed, plenty of desk space, and a relatively large bathroom. Warning - you need a PhD to operate the toilet (but it's like that all over Tokyo). The room was always promptly and discretely cleaned. We skipped breakfast at the hotel restaurant because it was a bit pricey, and because there were plenty of options right outside the hotel on Southern Terrace, including a Krispy Kreme, a Starbucks, and a wonderful French bakery. It's easy to catch the metro, and just as easy to just wander into Shinjuku or through Yoyogi Park down to Shibuya Crossing. There may be nicer or better-located hotels in Tokyo, but for first-time visitors, I don't think you can do better than Century Southern Tower.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for one week in a large room with a panoramic view at the 33rd floor, I even had one dinner in the room just for the view. Perfect room with perfect cleaning and a super view over south-west Tokyo. No disturbing sounds whatsoever. This is a business style hotel but with a reasonable price. Several underground and train lines nearby, (within a few hundred meters), including Narita Express with a line to/from Narita Airport without changes. Good working internet connection during my whole stay which is important to me. I always slept too late for breakfast at the hotel so I bought something in one of the nearby stores. One minor minus; the staff's English could improve.

Room Tip: Think about what view you like and try to book that. East, south-east for the city. West, south-west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The address may suggest that it is in Shibuya but it is actually at the Southern Exit of JR Shinjuku station. It has a strategic location of being only about 100m from the JR station and 50m from Takashimaya departmental store. The lobby is on the 20th floor and the rooms are from the 22nd to 35th floor. As such, the lobby and rooms command a breathtaking view of Tokyo.

The staff are very helpful and efficient. Most of them can speak English so communication is not a problem.

The room is very spacious for Tokyo standards. The toilet is typical of any other Tokyo hotels, small but well equipped. Wifi is free in the lobby and room.

The lobby bar and other restaurants are very popular so be sure to make reservations. The lobby itself itself is very swanky and live jazz is being played every night.

There is a small gym with just a few threadmills. No weights machines available.

There is airport limousines from the hotel (1st floor) to the Haneda airport so it makes it very easy to get to and from the airport. However, the buses are not very regular so be sure to check with staff one day before to make reservations. Even if the timings are not suitable, it is an easy walk (about 200m) to the West Gate of JR Shinjuku where the airport limousine terminal is. Here, the bus leaves very regularly for the airport.

The Century Southern Hotel is a definitely gem as it has an excellent location with excellent views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotspot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing