We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super room with a super view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for one week in a large room with a panoramic view at the 33rd floor, I even had one dinner in the room just for the view. Perfect room with perfect cleaning and a super view over south-west Tokyo. No disturbing sounds whatsoever. This is a business style hotel but with a reasonable price. Several underground and train lines nearby, (within a few hundred meters), including Narita Express with a line to/from Narita Airport without changes. Good working internet connection during my whole stay which is important to me. I always slept too late for breakfast at the hotel so I bought something in one of the nearby stores. One minor minus; the staff's English could improve.

Room Tip: Think about what view you like and try to book that. East, south-east for the city. West, south-west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

The address may suggest that it is in Shibuya but it is actually at the Southern Exit of JR Shinjuku station. It has a strategic location of being only about 100m from the JR station and 50m from Takashimaya departmental store. The lobby is on the 20th floor and the rooms are from the 22nd to 35th floor. As such, the lobby and rooms command a breathtaking view of Tokyo.

The staff are very helpful and efficient. Most of them can speak English so communication is not a problem.

The room is very spacious for Tokyo standards. The toilet is typical of any other Tokyo hotels, small but well equipped. Wifi is free in the lobby and room.

The lobby bar and other restaurants are very popular so be sure to make reservations. The lobby itself itself is very swanky and live jazz is being played every night.

There is a small gym with just a few threadmills. No weights machines available.

There is airport limousines from the hotel (1st floor) to the Haneda airport so it makes it very easy to get to and from the airport. However, the buses are not very regular so be sure to check with staff one day before to make reservations. Even if the timings are not suitable, it is an easy walk (about 200m) to the West Gate of JR Shinjuku where the airport limousine terminal is. Here, the bus leaves very regularly for the airport.

The Century Southern Hotel is a definitely gem as it has an excellent location with excellent views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotspot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Swanky. Nice rooms. Fantastic location. Helpful staff. They had a jazz band playing in the foyer when we arrived. Wish they were there every day!

Only problem was there is only have one option for the sheets and they are quite warm, possibly synthetic. It was fine for me but it was no good for my girlfriend's sensitive skin.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014, booked a King View Room, had a very nice view of Mt. Fuji. The best part about the hotel is the staff, the service, the cleanliness, the beds and a great choice of restaurants right in the hotel. We ate at the Tribeks restaurant as well as the Chinese cuisine Xenlon restaurant - both were excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms with a view of Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Like other posters, we chose Century Southern Tower because of the favorable reviews it had received on Trip Advisor. Much better than we had anticipated! Its location is ideal: right next to Shinjjuku station – the busiest subway station in the world – where most subway lines and many JR lines (including the Narita Express) stop. The neighborhood, Shinjuku, teems with restaurants, bars, and hundreds of thousands of young people both day and night. The hotel lobby is on the 20th floor and guest rooms are on the floors above, meaning fabulous views over the city wherever your room may be. If you don't take breakfast at the hotel, you can easily find coffee and rolls at one of the cafes (including Starbucks and Krispy Kreme) at the Tower's base. Rooms are good sized, bright (big windows to gaze upon the city), impeccably clean, well-appointed and comfortable. The staff is faultlessly accommodating and polite. We’ve stayed here twice - can’t imagine why we’d go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJN30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotel was perfect in that the airport limousine stopped there and there is a major subway stop down the block, also department stores and restaurants across the street. Rooms were larger than expected, and comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. I would recommend the Century Southern Tower, especially for a first trip to Tokyo. Easy to get to and helpful staff if you're an English speaker.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creatrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in 5 hotels in Japan and this was by far the best. Modern and decent sized room, great facilities in room and an ideal location next to Shinjuku station, making getting around Tokyo easy.
Not only this, but with it being from the 20th floor upwards, you also get fantastic views over Tokyo :)

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Fuji side and if you get a (very) clear day then you will see the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaderag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,141 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,591 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $204 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing