We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, every single bit of it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Loved it, every single bit of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I used this as our base in Tokyo for 13 nights. We've stayed in Shinbashi and Shinagawa before but this is by far the most convenient location out of the three. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Shinjuku station which makes it convenient for the Narita Express and various subway lines but if you are using the Oedo Line or Yamanote Line (which we did the most) then Yoyogi Station is actually closer (and a lot easier to navigate) just exit using floor 1 and walk left down the hill. It's also a 5 minute walk from Yoyogi park which is a perfect haven if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Shinjuku for a little while.

I've stayed in nicer hotels, but for value for money this hotel is unbelievable, I cannot rate it highly enough or stress just how perfect it is for a stay in Tokyo. We stayed on the 29th floor in one of the renovated rooms (floors 26-35). Our room was large by Tokyo standards, spotless, free bottled water was provided daily, bed was firm (as with all hotels in Japan), but it's really the view that makes it so special, we could see Mt Fuji most days and there is a handy little guide in the window to show you what you're looking at. If I had to criticise I'd say that there wasn't really enough storage space for all of our clothes and belongings but realistically I'm not sure how many other travellers are with them for as long as we were?

Tip: The bar at the hotel does a 500 yen per drink happy hour between 5pm and 8pm which we used once and included a good selection of drinks to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ileftmyheartinTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    669
    95
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
687
197
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in a king room on level 33 - from the moment we arrived I was so impressed by how clean and immaculately presented everything was. English speaking staff made check in a breeze, and our room was beautiful (I'd heard tokyo hotel rooms were tiny but definitely not in this case!). I was very pleasantly surprised - for the price (around 18000yen/night) it was much more luxurious than I expected. Bed was super comfy, and great views.

Location was excellent, 2mins walk from shinjuku station (take the south exit from the station). Proved to be a great place to situate ourselves and staff were wonderful, even with small things like lending power adaptors. There's even a happy hour in the bar 5:30-7:30pm weekdays with 500yen drinks (including cocktails). Highly recommend a martini sitting there after a day's exploration. And definitely see why this is currently rated number one hotel in shinjuku!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Okay, so the Century Southern Hotel isn't going to win any awards for charm and character but the views more than make up for this. Where else in Tokyo can you stay so centrally for this price with breathtaking panoramic views? Rooms are large, clean and the staff very lovely. I was 5 months pregnant at the time so being able to catch trains so easily with Shibuya station mere moments away was great. Stay here, enjoy the view and spend the money you save on getting out and about soaking up Tokyo culture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Desert_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked 3 rooms for 2 days. Upon check in, the staff gave us an upgrade room. We really happy to know that our rooms are very big. This is really a great hotel with the well trained, polite and accommodated staff. The location was likewise convenient for walking, If I was not mistaken just in front of takashimaya building and also just 20 minute walk to the shinjuku shopping area. Subway just 10 minute walk from the hotel. Good hotel. I will stay again in the next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahmadimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been my only favorite room for Tokyo. It has a larger room than the usual Japanese 3/4 stars hotels yet with a decent price. It is located right above the shinjuku JR station so there is no problem moving around Tokyo. The most attractive about this hotel is that there is no tour bookings, so you won't see a bunch of crowd talking loudly in the lobby.

The downside about this that the airport limousine bus schedule is a bit scarce.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 411edwardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed my stay.

If you look on the hotels website you will see that some rooms are renovated (26-35 floor i think) and others are not (22-25 floor i think). I paid a little more to have a renovated room and i am so glad that i did! i would definitely recommend doing this as i know people have been disappointed with the un-renovated rooms.

Our room was on the 33 floor and had a fantastic view over Tokyo. Being so high up you get fantastic views so you don't need to visit the sky tree whilst you are there! our room was spacious, beautifully appointed, very nice and very clean (the whole hotel is very clean though). the breakfast was one of the best western breakfasts we had in Japan and consisted of: Japanese style breakfast (soup, rice etc), western breakfast (toast, different types of breads, cakes, cereal, fruit) and also bacon, sausages, curry and other hot foods. breakfast was served in the tribeks restaurant which also has fantastic views over Tokyo and on clear days you can see mount Fuji whilst eating breakfast!!

I also ate in the Tribeks restaurant in the evening and this was nice.

All staff extremely friendly and helpful.

The hotel is extremely close to Shinjuku station/subway (approx 2 mins walk) and so you can really easily get around anywhere you want in Tokyo.

Overall an excellent hotel and one which i would recommend and visit again if i return to Tokyo.

Room Tip: book a renovated room on the highest floor you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latestfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is located near the Shinjuku train station, so it's extremely convenient. The rooms are decent though bathroom is average. View from hotel room is great. Depending on which side your room faces, you'll either have a view of Mount Fuji or Shinjuku, Shibuya, and the nearby area (even Tokyo Tower). The room is clean and relatively small as expected (hey, you're in Tokyo!). Hotel Lobby is already on a high floor. Lots of shopping nearby, but some restaurants in the shopping mall where Takashimaya is located is not as good. So choose carefully!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing