We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view and convenient”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on August 6th. On the 30th floor, we really had a nice view overlooking the Takashimaya Department Store and further we can see the Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. Restaurants are just nearby and shopping is just opposite in Takashimaya. We will certainly stay there again next time we go to Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    683
    98
    14
    9
See reviews for
519
698
199
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Conveniently located at Shinjuku JR train station. easy access to Takashimaya and Tokyu Hands and everywhere at Shinjuku station.. best located international hotel.. No room service but you dont need it.. 100% clean modern with fantastic views.. Great for American tourist. Stayed there many times as well as others in Shinjuku area and this is my favorite.

Room Tip: every room is a good room at this hotel.. the hotel is built atop the Microsoft building so the ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashlightguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with my hubby for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip. We had an enjoyable stay here.

We arrived slightly early and wasn't allowed to check in until the actual check in time which is 3PM - they are quite strict with that. You can leave your luggage there and go for a wander.

The location is very close to Shinjuku station. 3 mins walk from the South exit (or JR southern terrace exit).There is a Starbucks and a crispy creme outside so if you see these, you are almost there. The entrance looks like any other office building so hard to find as it doesn't look like a hotel. You have to take the lift up to the lobby from the office level.
There are many department stores within walking distance and Takashimaya has some of really yummy food. I'd recommend the soba restaurant.

The room size is quite big compared to the average hotel rooms in Tokyo. We had ample space for our luggage & shopping. The beds were comfortable so we had a good nights rest after each hectic day. There is free wifi in the rooms.

The bathrooms are clean and the mirror has a heated section so you can see yourself straight after a shower.

We found a local coin laundry place around 10mins walk from the hotel. Very useful as we had another stop after Tokyo so needed to do quite a bit of laundry before leaving and we know how expensive hotel laundry service can be.

There is also a small convenient store on the lobby level of the hotel where you can buy snacks and drinks if you don't want to get use the minibar.

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and good value for money considering location and size of room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xlilsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here during the last leg of our honeymoon in Japan. The location was excellent as it was close to Shinjuku station, several department stores, and a very quick ride to Shibuya and other central areas of Tokyo. The location was relatively quiet by a not horribly crowded walkway strip (even at peak Metro hours) with a Krispy Kreme nearby. It was pretty much close to all the restaurants and shops and districts of Tokyo that we wanted to see.

The hotel itself was clean, modern, and well designed. The rooms were a good size for fitting in luggage and had ample room to move around in, a rarity in some Tokyo hotels. There was free wifi, which was a definite plus in being able to contact our family and friends back at home. A portion of the bathroom mirror was heated so that you could see yourself while getting ready, right after a shower. The toilet, like many in Tokyo, and the rest of Japan, have a surprising number of different ways to clean yourself. There was a nice view of the city from our room.

The staff was polite, friendly, and professional in our interactions with them. They didn't mind us mailing back our rental phone sim card through their mail. They arranged for our transportation back to the airport successfully, and all in all, were great.

Overall, we had a very nice and convenient stay during our time at Century Southern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's a nice clean modern hotel with nice Bathroom. Free wifi available in room. Close to Shinjuku station (not shibuya) and walking distance to all main department stores in the area (Takashimaya, Tokyo Hands, Isetan, Odakyu, bic camera and yodabashi camera, plus lots of smaller interesting shops and restaurants in the area. really enjoyed my stay there, with family. Despite next to the the trains, the rooms are quite (good sound insulation with the windows) and has a nice view (since the hotel is from the 20th floor to the 36 floor, lower floors are offices).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Tokyo is so big that when considering a hotel, location is very key. Especially a location close to the train station because you'll be using it a lot.

LOCATION:
- Great. Not exactly Shibuya though. The main areas of Shibuya are a few JR stops down. This one is about a 5 minute walk outside of the SOUTH EXIT of the Shinjuku Station. If you take the WEST EXIT of the station then you'll just be forced to walk along the main road instead of taking the back way.

PROPERTY:
- It's not bad. Right above a shopping mall. I could see this being more of a business hotel. Rooms are decent. Nothing WOW but spacious enough.

PRICING:
- Good value for what is offered and the location.

STAFF:
- Front desk speaks enough English to get by and help you out.

FOOD:
- Like every hotel, avoid eating in the hotel because they charge an arm and a leg to dine there. There are plenty of places to eat just down the street. Explore the area when you first get in. There is a Family Mart a few doors down on the main road to purchase snacks, water and etc. There's also a McDonalds close by for those looking to escape Japanese food.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is just the ideal location to use as a base for sightseeing. The hotel is a 2 min walk from Shinjuku station which connects you to the airport, along with many subway lines, metro lines, train lines, etc. Couldnt be better! We are a family of 4 and all shared one room. Our room had 2 small doubles, so it was very cosy, but perfectly acceptable. A good selection of toiletries, etc. We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning as it works out quite expensive for 4 of us, but it was very good...western and Japanese choices. The other mornings we popped along to a French cafe which is just a couple of doors away. Not cheap but fabulous choice of pastries, and good coffee! In the same building as the hotel is a Korean restaurant...wild highly recommend this for a fun lunch!. Overall I'd highly recommend it here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NewMaldenMum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Rakuten, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing