We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value and a Very Convenient Location in Shinjuku” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Value and a Very Convenient Location in Shinjuku”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a family trip to Japan with my wife, two teenage boys, and parents in July 2013. The hotel is extremely conveniently located on the new southern terrace of Shinjuku station. For travelers coming from overseas, the Narita Express train from the international terminal arrives in the southern portion of the station. From there, it is a short walk to the hotel which we were able to accomplish in a few minutes with all of our luggage in tow. Right across a footbridge from the hotel is the giant Takashimaya Times Square with its “depachika” food court in the basement and three floors of restaurants at the top. There are also a Starbucks, convenience store, and even a Krispy Kreme donut right on the southern terrace. The staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful. For instance, we speak almost no Japanese but were able to arrange to leave several bags at the hotel, at no charge, while we traveled to Kyoto and Hiroshima. The hotel lobby is on the 20th floor and the rooms are above that, which affords the rooms great views and isolates them from the noise of Shinjuku, below. The rooms were extremely quiet. Each of our rooms had a comfortable king size bed. They were also surprisingly spacious for Japan and well appointed. We stayed in both the higher floor, renovated rooms and the lower floor, normal rooms. Both were fine. As with everything in Japan, the rooms were spotlessly clean. There was free wired and wireless internet. There is an electric hot water pot, instant coffee and tea, and a refrigerator, but no microwave. You get two free bottles of mineral water every day. We did not patronize the hotel’s restaurants. I don’t know if there is a fitness center or pool. The hotel also had a better exchange rate for US dollars than the currency exchange stores in Shinjuku station, so we exchanged some cash at our hotel. It couldn’t have been easier. Including additional fees (for a second adult or child > 12 years old in the room), the 15% service charge, and tax, we ended up paying $180-200 per night which we thought was a good deal considering we were in Tokyo, the convenient location, and quality of the room and amenities. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (I think 30 and above) have been renovated and are a little nicer, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    603
    87
    12
    7
See reviews for
452
624
181
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stay here for 4 nights. The location is very convenience. Staffs has very good English ability so no worries. They store lagguages for you that is a plus when we need to travel somewhere else. Yes, it does not have bellman and Everthing is selfs services. But the price is so good that I don't mind that, otherwise you can stay at Kieo Plaza. Rooms are small but you pay what you get and most of hotel rooms in Japan are small. We love the view up on 35th floors amazing. We stay at Keio plaza before I think from now I will stay here to save a bit of money and go shopping!

Room Tip: The higher and better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of four had connecting rooms with two beds each on the 25th floor facing east with amazing views of the Tokyo skyline and Takayshimaya Times Square. The rooms themselves were nothing special, but we chose this hotel for location (close to shopping and dining), not decor. Some of the rooms in the hotel have been remodeled (as in the website photos), but ours had not, but it was nice enough. The price for Tokyo was very good value for two rooms (perhaps the remodeled rooms cost more?) and the space was large enough not feel cramped. The department stores and lots of restaurants were within easy walking distance for our kids- we did not have to use the train system or cabs to do these things as we had earlier in our trip staying in another area of Tokyo. However, the hotel is far away from the traditional tourist sights in the eastern half of the city. It is convenient for taking the shinkansen from Shinagawa station and the airport bus to Narita. Free wifi in rooms was a bonus.

Room Tip: Families should request connecting rooms directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainySeattle206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived before 6.00am on a public holiday after a 12 hour flight and without having a guaranteed early access to a room. The reception staff bent over backwards to accommodate us for a 30% fee of the daily room rate which was extremely welcome. Our room had an expansive view of Tokyo as the hotel only starts at the 20th floor. Bed was very comfortable and all amenities available. Restaurant was good for both a Japanese dinner and hot breakfast.
Very close to at least two stations (Shinjuku and Yoyogi), within easy walking distance of Yoyogi Park and Takashimaya Department store. Airport buses from Haneda and to Narita airports operate from Shinjuku station. All very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location right next to train station for easy access to anywhere (once you get the hang of it). Plenty of eat streets nearby. Rappongi and Shibuya all just one or two stations away. Also headed out to Mount Fuji which is only 30 min on the bullet train from/to Tokyo station, then 20 on the subway to the hotel. Really nice hotel, business style so not too many extra frilly's that you would rarely use anyway. Staff were really nice and helpful. We got a corner room and views were great. I would recommend anyone coming to see the sights of Tokyo for a visit to stay here as it was really a great location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a 3 night stay in Tokyo. The service is great, the views are awesome, the rooms have plenty of space for Tokyo standards at a very fair price, and the location is amazing. Nearly directly adjacent to Shinjuku Station, it makes the hotel incredibly easy to get to from Narita Airport and easy to get most anywhere in Tokyo (or elsewhere) by subway and/or JapanRail. The concierge speaks good English and are beyond hospitable. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathant_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As they say in real estate, it's all about location, and this hotel has it in spades! Short walk to Shinjuku station(s)...of which there are many, access to a good number of breakfast and dinner options, and across the bridge to Takahimaya. The staff were pleasant and efficient and responded to requests quickly.

We had a corner room on the 25th floor with a fantastic 180 degree view of the Tokyo skyline. The room size was adequate, but had a column near the bathroom door which obstructed the view and bathroom access. The decor was tired, which was very disappointing, but I believe they are currently renovating. You may want to request a renovated room when booking. The bonus was wi-fi access, but connectivity was unreliable, particularly in the evening. Also, there were 3 English TV channels - not ideal when travelling with young kids! Housekeeping was OK, but additional towels etc we not provided as requested.

I would stay here again, if for no other reason but access to the subway, JR Lines and the Narita Bus, along with plenty of dining and shopping options.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winsome_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing