We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights when in Japan. handy for train station and seeing this part of town.
Clean hotel and had everything that we needed. Brilliant views from the room and spacious bedrooms. Shower was great and had a good night sleep.

Would certainly recommend as a base for visitors, no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    622
    88
    12
    9
See reviews for
467
645
186
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here at the Hotel Century Plaza. The staff are amazing, very helpful and in an added bonus most of the reception and wait staff seem to speak at least some English as well. The room, as a single is small but clean and certainly all that I needed and then some in it (who needs two coffee mugs or two towels if you are in the room by yourself?)! The hotel and even my room has great views over the city.
I've eaten at two of the three restaurants here and while more expensive than I would normally spend on a meal I can not fault the food or the service. I particularly liked Tribeks if you are thinking of eating in.
The hotel is amazingly easy to get to from the train station just as advertised literally walking out of Shinjuku South Terrace Exit its about a 5 minute slow walk away.
If you are after cheap meals there are heap of good food options within walking distance. The supermarket / food outlets on the basement of the Takashimaya Times Square (right across the bridge opposite the hotel) has some really tasty, cheap option if you want a quick bite and don't want to sit down.
The staff even helped me arrange my next hotel. Over all I've had a great stay and recommend the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkerstrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading the reviews I was disappointed with this hotel. It is very new and exceptionally convenient given its location on top of the train station. However, it was not built with high quality finishes and while clean, everything has a relatively cheap feel to it. It is fine now, but I do not think it will hold up well over time. The hotel seems to try to save every nickel and dime. I was staying by myself and my room had one washcloth, one hand towel and one bath towel. It was sufficient but it would have been nice to have extra towels. There was also one mug for the kettle and one drinking glass. The toiletries and slippers provided are also of rather low quality and there is no bathrobe. (I should note that I did not book or pay for the room myself so I may have been given an exceptionally low-priced room.)

The gym is small with two treadmills and no weights. I was concerned about having a wait for a machine but there was no one else there on either morning. It is located on the 21st floor and there is also an outdoor patio attached to the gym. The views are beautiful. However, the is not water available at the gym, something which I found particularly annoying. There isn’t even a water fountain by the restrooms.

The staff is great; they are knowledgeable about the area and do everything they can to please. I never had to wait whenever I approached the front desk—there were always several available employees to answer a question or to check me in / out. Unfortunately, my overall impression of the hotel is that it is a shame that they didn’t aim higher in terms of quality when building the hotel. It could have been something special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank runkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and will considering booking it again for our next visit. We stayed on the 30th floor and had a wonderful view. The room was quite large and clean, and we looked forward to the comforts of our hotel room after a day of sightseeing or shopping. We also appreciated the clean and classy lobby. The location is ideal as Shinjuku is a major subway station, and there is ample shopping and places to eat available; Takashimaya Times Square is right around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yippeewifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. We have stayed here twice. There is a very nice lobby with great views. The staff is very helpful and can speak English. Our room was located on the 27th floor. We had views of the Tokyo Skytree, The Tokyo Tower and The park. The beds were very comfortable and you can control the heatin the room. It was a great experience. The public transportation is very close to the hotel which makes it easy to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We had never been to Tokyo before and picked this hotel based on reviews and price. When we arrived as tired travelers from the US, we were so happy to be greeted by a wonderful and friendly staff. The hotel lobby is quite nice, clean and a great place to unwind after touring all day. The rooms were excellent and comfortable with great views of the city.

In addition, the hotel is situated in an excellent part of Tokyo, within walking distance to Shinjuku station.




  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

3 night stay at this hotel in Shinjuku. Very convenient location to station(although make sure you take the Southern Terrace exit of station). Fabulous views from room & main lobby. Note that lobby is on 20th floor of building. Large rooms by Tokyo standards, huge beds & very clean. Did not have breakfast as very expensive, Starbucks 1 min from hotel. Takashimaya directly opposite, check out the food halls on basement especially at end of day...great bargains. Drinks pricey in hotel bar, even advertised happy hour is a bit of a con. Vending machines available on all floors. Staff attentive & polite, most spoke English. Would recommend & would stay again if returning to Japan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrag-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing