We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business district, good views, nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good for business district, good views, nice modern hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great view from the lobby on floor twenty, and the rooms that are above 

French Chinese And Japanese restaurants at floor 19& 20

Room was small but well designed and adequate - bed very comfy 

Dined at Chinese restaurant - had the visitors banquet - okay, not too exciting a bit too much seafood / fish 

Breakfast had a European feel, with croissants toast eggs and bacon - very good

No wifi, pc on tv with keyboard and LAN plug in

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    707
    99
    14
    9
See reviews for
539
716
201
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's all been said before, but sometimes it's still nice to know that the reality and the reviews really do match. Super-close to a major rail station, and that is key to getting around Tokyo without hassle.

The staff if so, so helpful. 1 week before we arrived, I contacted the hotel via their Facebook page and asked if they could make a dinner reservation for us at a certain restaurant where no English is spoken. They quickly made the reservation for us, and reminded us of it when we checked in. Hard to imagine a hotel in the US offering to help someone who hasn't even arrived yet. The concierge and front desk staff happily did so much for us -- printing maps, arranging early morning taxi for our trip to Tsukiji fish market.

Lots of food and shopping right outside the hotel. I would love to return to Tokyo, and I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner & I arrived on an early morning flight from Australia extremely tired and in need of a decent sleep. Unfortunately to check in early, you had to pay for an extra nights stay - but sometimes that is to be expected! The room was kept really clean and had amazing views of the city. It's only a couple of minutes away from Shinjuku station and walking distance to other shops and restaurants within the area. We dined at the restaurant in the hotel and although the food was pricey - the quality and taste was well worth it, especially at night with a panoramic view of the city. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating to our needs. We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chenoalee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this relatively last minute, after we had to change our itinerary a few days before we travelled. We were very happy with our room, which was comfortable and well maintained. As the hotel occupies only the upper floors of the building, the view from our room was beautiful, both day and night. As we booked room only, we didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel but found cheaper local options nearby. The location itself was superb, both for neighbouring Shinjuku station and the local area. I'd happily stay here again, should the rate be as good as it was on this occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and this amount of time gave us a really good appreciation of its location and services.

It's located a couple of minutes walk from Shinjuku Station and although you may have to jostle through with your luggage in peak hour, you would have to do this anywhere in Tokyo in peak hour!

Hotel was extremely clean, hotel staff spoke good English, and there is a hotel lobby shop for incidentals. Hotel is literally surround by 7 elevens, so easy for extra supplies.

The views from the hotel are amazing and you look out onto a magical Tokyo skyline anyway you look.

Hotel lobby bar is a little on the expensive side, but if you are lucky you can watch a pianist play at scheduled times.

Rooms are a decent size, not too small as can be the case in Tokyo.

Shops a literally a minutes walk away, plus restaurants. Vending machines for drinks and snacks are on every floor of the hotel.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, although as the rooms start on the 20th floor, you are guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checked in on the 11 and will be out on the 15th of Feb, 2013. For 4 nights my cost is 62,600 Yen. Which is very decent for where it is located. You can walk to the train station from the hotel, well, you can pretty much see the train station at certain rooms. My room is 2454 which over looks Tokyo Hands and Takashimaya Department store. There is a connecting bridge for you to walk across so it is very convenient. I stayed a lone this time so I got a small room, but it's a decent size. At the 2nd floor is where you walk to Tokyo hands to train station. On the way, there are shops for you eat and Krispy Cream is there too. The lobby is located on the 20th floor. Service is very efficient and very well mannered. I would return to this hotel for sure if I'm staying in Shinjuku area.

Room Tip: Do ask for rooms with view towards Takashimaya department store or tokyo hands as the hotel have bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonwu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

First the positives:

Location is nice & central, but I preferred staying in the Ginza area as we did in the first leg of our trip.
China Grill Xenlon restaurant was quite impressive and tasty.
Service was polite and friendly as is the case for Japan.

Now the criticisms:

Compared to every other hotel we stayed in Japan, this was by far a total disappointment. When we first arrived in Tokyo, we stayed in the Imperial Hotel which was magnificent and perfect in every aspect. At this hotel, we had our room changed when we first checked in on account of the foul smell in the bathroom coming from the pipes - it smelled like a sewer. The whole hotel is in desperate need for renovation and looks incredibly outdated. Century Southern Tower feels like a bland business hotel that your company books to save accommodation costs. The bars have no atmosphere and we ended up having a far more enjoyable night out at the Park Hyatt Tokyo - NY bar.

No intention of ever staying at this hotel again. There are more nice hotels to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing