We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location couldn't be better and what a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Location couldn't be better and what a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this relatively last minute, after we had to change our itinerary a few days before we travelled. We were very happy with our room, which was comfortable and well maintained. As the hotel occupies only the upper floors of the building, the view from our room was beautiful, both day and night. As we booked room only, we didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel but found cheaper local options nearby. The location itself was superb, both for neighbouring Shinjuku station and the local area. I'd happily stay here again, should the rate be as good as it was on this occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    653
    93
    13
    9
See reviews for
497
671
194
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and this amount of time gave us a really good appreciation of its location and services.

It's located a couple of minutes walk from Shinjuku Station and although you may have to jostle through with your luggage in peak hour, you would have to do this anywhere in Tokyo in peak hour!

Hotel was extremely clean, hotel staff spoke good English, and there is a hotel lobby shop for incidentals. Hotel is literally surround by 7 elevens, so easy for extra supplies.

The views from the hotel are amazing and you look out onto a magical Tokyo skyline anyway you look.

Hotel lobby bar is a little on the expensive side, but if you are lucky you can watch a pianist play at scheduled times.

Rooms are a decent size, not too small as can be the case in Tokyo.

Shops a literally a minutes walk away, plus restaurants. Vending machines for drinks and snacks are on every floor of the hotel.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, although as the rooms start on the 20th floor, you are guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checked in on the 11 and will be out on the 15th of Feb, 2013. For 4 nights my cost is 62,600 Yen. Which is very decent for where it is located. You can walk to the train station from the hotel, well, you can pretty much see the train station at certain rooms. My room is 2454 which over looks Tokyo Hands and Takashimaya Department store. There is a connecting bridge for you to walk across so it is very convenient. I stayed a lone this time so I got a small room, but it's a decent size. At the 2nd floor is where you walk to Tokyo hands to train station. On the way, there are shops for you eat and Krispy Cream is there too. The lobby is located on the 20th floor. Service is very efficient and very well mannered. I would return to this hotel for sure if I'm staying in Shinjuku area.

Room Tip: Do ask for rooms with view towards Takashimaya department store or tokyo hands as the hotel have bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonwu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

First the positives:

Location is nice & central, but I preferred staying in the Ginza area as we did in the first leg of our trip.
China Grill Xenlon restaurant was quite impressive and tasty.
Service was polite and friendly as is the case for Japan.

Now the criticisms:

Compared to every other hotel we stayed in Japan, this was by far a total disappointment. When we first arrived in Tokyo, we stayed in the Imperial Hotel which was magnificent and perfect in every aspect. At this hotel, we had our room changed when we first checked in on account of the foul smell in the bathroom coming from the pipes - it smelled like a sewer. The whole hotel is in desperate need for renovation and looks incredibly outdated. Century Southern Tower feels like a bland business hotel that your company books to save accommodation costs. The bars have no atmosphere and we ended up having a far more enjoyable night out at the Park Hyatt Tokyo - NY bar.

No intention of ever staying at this hotel again. There are more nice hotels to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just returned from another 4-night stay at the Hotel Century Southern Tower. For me, everything about the hotel is absolutely perfect, i.e. the hotel size (375 guest rooms), location, price, room ambience, hotel amenities and, of course, the always helpful, courteous staff.

On my last trip to Tokyo, about 90 days ago, I stayed at a mega-hotel (1435 guest rooms) very close to the Hotel Century Southern Tower. I felt a much more welcoming, appreciative atmosphere at the Hotel Century Southern Tower. I always received a friendly, warm welcome every time I returned to the hotel.

I really can't add much more praise about the Hotel Century Southern Tower than what others' have said. On my next trip to Tokyo, I won't even give it a second thought on where to stay; it will be the Hotel Century Southern Tower. However, if you plan to stay over a weekend, I highly recommend making a reservation as soon as you can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryJaxBchFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Resoundingly yes! As we came into the Shinjuku Station on the Narita Express from Narita Airport, we happened to see the Krispy Kreme shop on the left side one the train. We knew from a previous review that the hotel was close to this store. We exited to the upper platform and made a left turn and there was the Southern Terrace Exit. We turned left then went up and down a few stairs then turned left to the direction the train came, walked perhaps a hundred yards and the hotel entrance was on the right in the last high rise building. There is also a short incline to the right of the Southern Terrace Exit, if baggage is an issue. A u-turn at the first opening will bring you to the same walkway to the hotel. If you take the South Exit of the station, you must cross a street to the walkway to the hotel. This is not well shown on the hotel website. Conveniently, the Yamanote JR train stop at Shinjuku Station is close and easy to find, board and debark back to the hotel. It will be intuitive.

We entered the hotel building, turned right to the elevators in the corner, then went to the 20th floor to check in. We were pleasantly surprised with the contemporary airy space of the lobby which has a bar on the right, reception desk ahead and a marvelous view to the left. Go the restroom near the lobby. There is ceiling to floor glass.

The personnel were all, in my opinion, exceptionally courteous given the language and cultural differences. All spoke some English. One young lady went to college in Mississippi, so she was quite fluent communicating with us. Of course by cultural differences, I must clearly state my belief that the people are exceptionally polite.

There is a little sundries shop by the elevator. The elevators are fast.

The rooms. They all have wonderful views and have a picture in each room that describes your vista. The size of the superior room is what we would typically expect in the United States. We did spend a night in the standard room on the way home, and it only seemed slightly smaller. However, the "feel" of the room is excellent---good, quiet air conditioning, clean, cool radiant sheets, beige hues---it felt good. The bath room was also modern and clean---Toto toilets (yes they are special), good water pressure, heated mirrors which don't fog-up over the sink and by far the best disposable razors (which you men will keep). there were also toothbrushes, tooth paste and several other amenities which only my wife could describe. It was quiet and dark. We slept well.

We did not eat in any of the hotel reaurants. One morning we had a "breakfast combo" at Krispy Kreme---a glazed doughnut and a cup of surprisingly good coffee. The other times we went to little noodle shops past the West Exit of Shinjuku Station. If you are adventurous, it is an experience you will savor. There is the basement of Takashimaya Department store right across a walkway which goes over the train tracks where you can buy almost any type of food items from gourmet foods and pastries to asian comfort foods to try and have a Japanese experience. Peruse and buy a meal, pastry, fruit or whatever and bring it back to your room to eat. There are also numerous restaurants on the upper floors. They are moderately priced. There are also many restaurants on the upper floors inside the West Exit of Shibuya Station. It is amazing that they are so inviting and the food so delicious. Sit at the tempura counter at Tenichi and have the $40 set menu. There are many, many restaurants in the area. Just ask the concierge. In the same building as the hotel there is a Italian, Mexican, Korean and Japanese restaurant. There is an Italian restaurant down the right side of the walkway back to the Southern Terrace Exit, oh an a Starbucks. If you are adventurous, try the little restaurant on the left side the the walkway. There is a ticket dispenser where you purchase ticket then go inside and give the waitress the ticket and have a seat. Your meal (inexpensive) will be delivered to you. Oh, but a beer was $8 (but the tasty Japanese beer--- Asahi, Kirin, Sapporo, Ebisu---always served very cold---is expensive everywhere.

We went to a 100 yen store where everything is about 100 yen. I bought my iPhone cover there. Again, ask the concierge. He gave us a map.

Walk the neighborhood. Go past the West Exit of the rail station, look around the little alleys, visit the vast electronics stores, see the neon signs and circle around to Isetan Department Store, a high-end shopping oasis.

Night life? Ask the concierge. There is a lot of it.

On a different track. If you can spring for an expensive eating experience, try Les Creations of Narisawa or Tofuya Ukai, both for lunch. The first has incredible culinary creations.The latter has waitresses who wear kimonos, rooms are private and incredible gardens views are seen from each one. Look around the grounds after eating. You will be delighted.

Google "Tokyo Free Guide." Yes, the guides are volunteers and free. I can vouch for them as I have had 3 different ones at different visits.

We happened to stay in a suite at the Conrad Hotel the previous time I was in Tokyo. Yes, the room is fabulous, but for my money I will go back to Century Southern Hotel the next time. I was amazed that almost no one had any bad reviews of this hotel. I now know why. So, referring back to the title of the review, a very definitely positive, YES.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed this hotel before and this was our second time at Centry Southern Tower Hotel. We love a location of this hotel. Few minutes away to Shinjuku station, close to shopping and restaurants.
Hotel amenities are basic but room is clean and comfortable.
View from our room was beautiful.

We made two nights trip to Onsen this time then came back to Centry Southern Tower again. During two nights we were away, they stored our luggages.

This is always our hotel in Tokyo and definitely come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing