We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This place deserves the high scores. Comfortable room with terrific views, airy lobby, good breakfast with same terrific view, very short walk to a huge range of entertainments and food.
Good value and helpful staff. Nothing at all to fault this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect with Shinjuku JR station just a few minutes away and shopping malls right opposite! We had a triple room on the 26th floor on the east side of the hotel which offered great views during the day and night! (The views were much better than the government building we thought!) The size of the room was reasonable and big enough for three adults. They had free wifi in the rooms which was very fast! They topped up toothbrushes, towels, hairbrushes everyday! The staff were extremely polite and very helpful whenever we asked a question. They all spoke fantastic english too. This was my first time visiting Tokyo, and the hotel definitely made the holiday a very enjoyable stay. I would 100% recommend this hotel, it's amazing! I wouldn't fault it in any way!

Room Tip: East side views are beautiful with Skytree and Tokyo tower in site - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Hotel Century Southern Tower is a good Hotel situated next to the Shinjuku Train / JR Subway Station that is one of the most important train station in Tokyo (i guess the most crowded) and very well connected with Narita Airport (by NEXT Train). If you want travel by train across Japan it could be the best choice 'cause it's a very important hub. The Hotel is located 1-2 minute walking from one of the south exit of the station (South Exit/JR Southern Terrace Exit). Even if is very close to a such big train station is in a very quite place cause the lobby is located at the 20th floor and up. Receptionists were very friendly. On that floor there is a mini-market, a nice bar and 2 restaurants where to spend a dinner (a bit expensive). WiFi is free, just ask to a receptionist. Rooms are large, very modern and comfortable. Details in room are great especially for the big window on the city (if you have a room on the west side you can see Mt Fuji in clear day with good weather). Suggested.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank im-not-a-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great views.. clean comfortable rooms.. even by US standards.. I was three adults travelling, and the room was made to accommodate three adults.. not just a roll away. Three robes, three slippers, three toothbrushes.. Such a great place to stay.. Free wifi, and a great convenient store in the lobby that sold wine for around $ 7.00 us per bottle. Breakfast in Asian countries is difficult, so we ended up at Mc Donalds right across the street.. Yes... even a health nut like me ends up with a coffee and and egg mc muffin.. The location is great, so convenient to everything. I woulod definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just to reiterate the title, this is a long review. However, if you want a detailed description of my pleasant stay, which may help you decide on your lodgings in Tokyo, the long read is worth it. That, or if you’re just trying to kill time while you’re bored at work.

For my first time in Tokyo, I couldn’t have found a better hotel for the price. I wasn’t on a tight budget, but I wasn’t looking to break the bank either. On the flipside, I did not want to stay in a hostel-type place with barely any space for luggage or room to stretch my tired, travel legs. And, I am not the type to share a communal bathroom. Century Southern Tower was exactly what I was looking for.

The hotel is centrally located next to the super-busy Shinjuku train station. The hotel is about a 5min walk from the South Exit of the station. Just look for the signs pointing to the South Exit, and you’re almost there. Cross the intersection, walk down the promenade, pass a Starbucks and a Krispy Kreme and the Tower’s entrance should be on your right-hand side (it’s the tall white building, just like in the pictures, heyo!).

Enter the building and go to your immediate right to find the elevators that lead to the hotel’s elegant lobby area, which is on the building’s 20th floor. Don’t be a lost tourist like me and wander into the nearby Fedex store asking where the hotel is. The staff at the front desk speak English and are quite helpful. Just a heads up, this is a business hotel that prides itself on giving you peace and privacy. That means there is no room service or bellhop, but that didn’t bother me at all. And besides, no need for room service when so many fine eateries were within walking distance from the hotel.

To my surprise, the room was quite spacious. It was practically the same size as an American hotel. Queen bed, table and chair, desk/bureau combo with a desk chair, radio alarm clock with room lighting control panel, decent-sized closet and a flat panel TV. The view I had was amazing, and I believe most rooms share a similar view since the hotel is located on the upper floors, above the building’s office space. The hotel is relatively quiet and the other guests I ran into were quite courteous (mix of people touring or on business).

The bathroom features a shower/tub combo, sink with granite counter top and complimentary bathroom amenities like swabs, toothbrushes and combs. The bathroom was very clean, with relatively little signs of mildew build-up, something I always manage to find, no matter where I stay. But the real focal point of the bathroom is the snazzy, hi-tech toilet, with push button seat warmer, deodorizer and bidet features. Why can’t Western toilets be this awesome?
Other niceties of the hotel room are the free wifi, bath robes and 2 sets of sleepers (for walking around your room and for walking around the hotel – too bad the sizes were too small for me), hot-water maker and mini-fridge.

I recommend stocking the mini-fridge in the room with snacks and drinks from the hotel lobby store, which, to my surprise, was fairly affordable after hearing how expensive Japan was supposed to be. To give you some perspective (all these prices are in USD), a bottle of soda was about $1.50, can of beer @ $1.75, and a 1500mL bottle of water was @ $2.50. I stocked up on some delicious onigiri (rice balls), which were @ $1-2, and cold sandwiches at @ $3. Not bad for a hotel store, if you ask me. Tip: If you purchase rice balls and sandwiches later in the evening, you can get them half-off since the store is just trying to get rid of them at that point. Just wait for them to post the 50% off sign next to the products.
There is also an ice-maker and vending machine area on every floor. Housekeeping is very polite and helpful (if you’re lucky to run into one who speaks English, or if you speak Japanese). I had my do not disturb sign up during a midday nap, and received a call from housekeeping asking if they could clean the room. I actually like this better than the usual knock on the door.

In your room is a map of the hotel, and on the other side is a handy map of the surrounding buildings, most of which can be seen outside your window. Head to the front desk and they’ll also provide you with a map of the area. If you wander the streets, you’ll find various eateries and shopping establishments. Two major department stores are also a 5min walk from the hotel entrance. Tip: There are several restaurants in the hotel building. They are all overpriced, so I did not eat at any of them, but I’ll assume they serve good food.

And last, but not least, the cost of my stay came out to an average of $130 a night (that includes all taxes and misc. fees). Like virtually all hotels, the weekends were at a higher rate than the weekdays. I can imagine my room being large enough for a couple, or a family with one small child. I thought the rate was a great deal, considering the location and quality of the hotel. A hotel of this quality in the middle of the city could easily run up to $300-400 per night in places like San Francisco or New York.

Hope this review helps.

BTW, the long review post below mine is really good, with useful information and a pic of the promenade leading to the hotel. That's super helpful in case you aren't sure if you're walking in the right direction. Cheers!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Akain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is our second time visiting Tokyo, and we're soooo glad that we choose this hotel. Location is crucial if you're travelling and this hotel is only 3 mins walk from Shinjuku JR station, as you all know it is one of the most busiest train station in the world, hence Shinjuku very strategic for almost everything. All the major Department Stores, and also eatery is within walking distance. What other thing that we love about its hotel is the Room. Spacious for Tokyo Standard. A very fast Wifi in the room, Plus, the TV in the room is Wifi ready and has web browser too! They provided a keyboard, so you can go online !!! Love it!!!!! Also looove their attention to details, such as: speaker in the toilet so you wont miss anything on TV.( remote in Japanese though :( ) Face soap, body soap, Shampoo n conditioner All by Shisheido!, plus the amenities so complete. hair brush, head band, tooth brush you name it, they provided in the room!! Also Pajamas! so you dont have to bring/use your own.They also has ice maker in every floor and vending machine for drinks so you dont have to walk far if you need drinks. The downside of this hotel: no bell boy/porter.. you have to bring your luggage to your room yourself, and there is no room service. but who cares? you're in Shinjuku! you can go down for a great feast.
I love Century Southern Tower, and didnt want to leave :( The staff was friendly and greeted us whenever we pass the reception. I would definitely stay here again if I'm going to Tokyo again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ummnabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this marvellous hotel. Booked a Superior twin with extra bed for 3 adult & 2 children (Children can stay for free when sharing existing bedding). Comfortably sleep 5 with extra space for luggage.

Hotel in excellent, incredibly location, just a three minute walk from the south exit of Shinjuku station & 5 to 8 minute walk to Yoyogi station from the back door. Spectacular views of the city for miles from level 30. East facing rooms are recommended and have a good view of the park, rising sun, Skytree tower, Tokyo tower, Takashimaya & Shinjuku station below the hotel.

Free Wifi in room is really helpful. Staff speaks good English, helpful & friendly. The room was spotless and was cleaned to an excellent standard every day. The bathroom provided lots of amenities.

Buses to Tokyo Disney is just 5 minute away from Takashimaya. Try the Krispy Kreme doughnuts just located outside the hotel for breakfast.

Highly recommend & would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor, East facing rooms have a good view of the park, rising sun, Skytree tower, Tokyo tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angeline5606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,663 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,184 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $199 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing